K – for Kudi. and this is FOR YOU

Posted: July 18, 2016 in India, Mera Punjab, Music
Tags: , , , , ,

I am not a big fan of Bollywood movies because I feel that many of the films made are a rip off from Hollywood or other movies.

But I just happened to watch UDTA Punjab , I could not understand what the whole controversy was , why it was being asked to be banned, maybe it is true when people say TRUTH hurts.. Punjab is in such dire straits , god knows how the most prosperous state at one time in the country will regain the lost glory.

One of the songs in that movie is a beautiful song, written by the famous punjabi poet , Shiv kumar batalvi. As is with many writers they become well-known only when they are no more, Shiv kumar also was one, he had  lots of ups and downs, Wikipedia has all the information about the poet.

I don’t like when the new era musician and composers try to give their own mark to old classicals. BUT THIS one is a must listen .. what beautiful lyrics by the maestro. Wish the Full song was Sung, rather than a few lines..

Ik kuddi jida naa Mohabbat,
Gum hai Gum hai Gum haiIk kuddi jida naa Mohabbat,
Gum hai Gum hai Gum hai
A girl named love
Is lost, is lost, is lost
Soorat usdi  pariyaan vargi

Seerat di o Mariam lagdi

An angel by face like

MARY by virtue

 Hasdi hai taan phul jhaddade ne

Turdi hai taa gazal hai lagdi.

Flowers blossom when she laughs

Seems a poem when she walks

Lamm-salammi, saru de kad di

Umar aje hai marke agg di,

Par naina di gal samajhdi

 Tall like cypress

Age barely alight

Yet she understands the language of a glance

Saad muraadi, Sohni phabbat
Gum hai Gum hai Gum Hai
Simple,  Beautiful
she is Lost

 

 

 

After a long long time there has been a punjabi song that has actually touched my heart because otherwise the punjabi singers today in punjab have actually brought only disrepute to the beautiful language .. But that is for another post ..

This Song is also a dedication to Someone Out there in the wide open world, to the one Whom I loved and Lost, she was and IS Saad Muraadi, Sohni but is definitely LOST.. .. For you

 

 

 

Comments
  1. Jimmy says:

    Hi Bikram, I am a fan of Bollywood, also I want to help my Indian Brothers and Sisters Improve their prospects, you included Bikram. Today I have released a Press Release that can help people understand Google more, and greatly benefit from learning more.
    I can let you share this content with your blogging community, also other Press Release that will seriously be life changing for people with a passion to work for themselves at home online, the fool proof smart way.

    Bikram email me if you would like to change lives.
    God Bless

    Jimmy

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Bikramjit, this is a very beautiful song ( I saw the movie). The post is a heartfelt one.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Obsessivemom says:

    It’s a beautiful song. Thank you for the translation. Even though people feel Punjabi is easy to understand if you know Hindi, one tends to miss the sweeter nuances.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Nice song, thanks for your translation of the lyrics. Udta Punjab is one movie I want to watch sometime.

    Destination Infinity

    Liked by 1 person

  5. BTW, K is also for Rajni’s Kabali 😛

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Mann says:

    Beautiful song and its beauty magnified after knowing its connection with someone special…Sorry for loss…But as they say, “it’s better to have loved and lost than to have never loved at all.”

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Tarang Sinha says:

    I think Punjab elections were the reason for this meaningless controversy. Haven’t seen this movie but I like this song, and Alia Bhatt. She is so natural! This reminds me of Sultan’s Jag Ghumeya female version. Anushka looks so fake, no? And, thanks for this translation 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. SG says:

    Beautiful song. Loved it.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Saritha says:

    Lovely song. It’s her bad luck that she lost you.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I’ve watched the movie as well and nothing I could find that Pehlaj Nihalani was so eager to cut from it. It has portrayed the truth, well, in a bit filmy manner maybe, but there’s truth in it.

    I just loved the song…didn’t get the whole meaning, just guessed, so thanks for the English translation. 🙂 …

    Liked by 1 person

  11. dNambiar says:

    After reading your last few lines, I re-read the lyrics. 🙂 Awww

    Thank you for the translation.
    I hope you are doing well. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Balram says:

    Hahahaha,,, bhaji you know that its all about bloody politics nothing else.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Anita says:

    Hope your Sohni reads this & all is well soon
    Can’t understand some Punjabi lyrics. Thanks for the translation.
    Yet to watch the movie. Udta Punjab is on my list!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. S says:

    I saw movie in theatre. It is a movie worthy of watching in theatre. The thing is that if this movie cannot make the people understand what is going on, then nothing can.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bikramjit says:

      Oh yes .. worth a visit to the theater.. and you are right .. if this doesnot nothing will although I am sure it did not have any effect ..

      Liked by 2 people

      • S says:

        Movie had no effect……People say that movie made big issue of a little problem. They believe that things are not as bad as they are depicted in movie. That is just plain stupid. Druggist literally beg or steal money and things for drugs. They even beat or murder their mothers of they need money, that is how crazy the problem is.

        Liked by 1 person

        • Bikramjit says:

          Well i feel that even if there is JUST one person who is taking drugs and can buy it freely it is a BIG ISSUE.. it is a sad affair of state.. wish things changed …

          Liked by 1 person

          • S says:

            The problem is the fact that laws are not at all strict. Whether it is rape culture, honor killings, drugs, murder or any crime…criminals often get scot free and if not the case goes on and on for such a long period of time that there is no point left. Even, Nirbhaya case rapists are still alive. I am not saying that they need to be hanged (thought they should be). The point is that they need to b made example of. Even corrupt politicians and officers should be made example of….otherwise there will be the so called “gunda-raj” prevailing all over the country. Criminals need to be made example of and laws need to be made more severe. Then only we can hope for some positive change.

            Liked by 1 person

  15. sm says:

    K for Kudi nice
    K for Kargil
    K for Kashmir
    K for Kaka, Rajesh Khanna

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Uma says:

    Although I’m not a fan of most songs that are dished out these days, some songs do touch the heart this one. I loved it’s soulful tune. I hope your dedication reaches the one intended.

    Liked by 1 person

  17. KP says:

    I haven’t seen the movie but heard the beautiful song now.Thanks to the meaning given by you,I could relish it more.

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Rachna says:

    I loved this song though I have not yet seen the movie. Let’s hope that your kudi somewhere reads it and remembers you.

    Liked by 1 person

  19. ANooP says:

    Yet to watch that movie. But I’ll check out the song for sure.

    Liked by 1 person

  20. Its a beautiful song and even though I could not understand it at first, it touched my heart….the songs is so soothing ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  21. surindernath says:

    Some Indians are very hard to understand. Pahlaj N. is one such man. He reminds me of a story we all heard in our childhood- about that man who opted out to eat onions and in the process had lashes…. etc. Now every one is wondering whether he really wanted to harm the movie or promote it actually. I and many others watched because we wanted to know how Mr. P.N. made a —- of himself !!

    Yes Shiv K.Batalvi Sabwrote great poetry:

    “Yauvan ruteh ashiq marde yaa koi kismet waka” !!

    ( the real lovers die young or some one who is very lucky !! )

    “Sikhar dopehar sirh te, mera dhal chalya parchawan
    Kabran menu udik dian jeeon putra nu maanwan” !!

    ( I am in the prime of my life like full noon and yet my shadows are lengthening like evening,
    My grave is waiting for me like a devoted, loving mother, waits for her… loving sons !! )

    Like

  22. Shilpa Garg says:

    This is such a beautiful song. Hope the kudi of your life reads it and remembers you too! I quite liked this movie. It effectively showcases the social message of drug menace in Punjab.

    Like

  23. The moment Shahid Kapoor starts crooning this song in the film, I fell in love with it too😃

    Like

  24. the little princess says:

    yeah! that’s an awesome song! you are right, there are so few meaningful songs these days.

    Like

  25. gc1963 says:

    Am sure she is listening

    Like

  26. B k chowla says:

    If you actually analyse,for a movie to help become a hit,at least one song is based on Punjabi beats and Pujnabi lyrics.

    Like

  27. jaishvats says:

    Have not watched the movie yet…Must watch it some time

    Like

  28. inquisitivegeet says:

    Yes. Ik kudi is a beautiful song and one can listen it again and again!

    Cheers
    Geets

    Like

  29. Rajlakshmi says:

    This is the first time I am hearing it… it sounds so beautiful and lyrical!!
    Thank you for visiting my blog and leaving comments 😀 Made my day!!

    Like

  30. chattywren says:

    It’s a beautiful song, and thanks for the translation…helps understand it better.

    Like

  31. Dee says:

    Its such a beautiful song and I she reads this post. Also she is not lost, she is in your heart forever. (One of my Favs is Ranjha Mera Ranjha from the movie Queen, not sure if you have heard this one)

    Like

    • Bikramjit says:

      I hope so Tooo that she reads this .. who knows what is in store ..

      yes and thats for sure where she will reside … I have seen the movie Queen but that was a long time back.. I will check it out again.

      Like

  32. First of all, thanks for the translation. It would have been lost on me, otherwise.☺ Secondly, I didn’t hear much about tg movie, but this song was sung beautifully. ☺ Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  33. IndiaBlog says:

    Nice blog, i agree to your say. Piracy is overwhelming in bollywood and other entertainment industries. This do not justify the talents. Also…Udta punjab controversy was just a melodrama from Nihalini. The creativity and imaginations anywhere in the world should not be allowed to be killed. Followed u…check mine if u wish to read/follow.

    Like

  34. After reading your translation, I can say its a beautiful song. Havent seen the movie though. But I agree, I love Arijit singh’s Mein Tenu Samjhawan ki and then heard the original – liked the original for the lyrics… though Arijit Singh is awesome… 😀

    Like

  35. I love this song. I don’t watch Bollywood movies for the same reason.

    Like

  36. dazzlerdiary says:

    I love the movie and this song! heartfelt truly. Thank you for sharing the meaning of the lyrics. Adds to the beauty of the song.

    Like

  37. Love this track. Yet to see the movie. And what you said about truth hurts is true. I have never understood the outrage against this and many other movies which actually showcase the reality.

    Like

  38. Onkar kedia says:

    Beautiful lines indeed

    Like

  39. I haven’t seen the movie nor intend to. There’s something about a too oft pre-release discussed one that makes me blanch at its actual release. Not to mention the depressing topic …But the song , as you pointed out, as has nice lyrics.

    Like

  40. Loved the song! I love Punjabi language sound! She is the one who lost you….bad luck for her. Take care, Bikram!

    Like

    • Bikramjit says:

      Thank you so much..

      I think its more my bad luck, I made the mistake.. She probably has good luck got saved from a person like me 🙂 ..

      And punjabi is a lovely language its a pity the modern day singers have brought so much disrespect and disrepute to the language …

      Like

  41. sorry to hear that…but that is a lovely song

    Like

  42. Bubblegum says:

    Beautiful Song.I landed up here through Shilpi’s blog and realized I have read a few of your posts after reading Sayesha’s blog as well. Small world! Anyway, back to the song – thanks for translating it! Makes it surreal!

    Like

  43. Rinks says:

    Hey Bikram…having loved and lost is a tremendous, constant painful feeling but you know what, the love that you have for your kudi will always be intact in your heart so have you not made your love immortal then! Loved the movie…real time issues really.

    Like

  44. 1endofanera says:

    Share your feelings, love that song

    Like

  45. sujathasathya says:

    what a beautiful dedication. to your saad muraadi.
    i watched the movie and loved the song. but didnt understand beyond the first 2-3 lines. thaks to your translation,understood the meaning of the full song now.
    i agree with you…the usual fare of punjabi songs…this is a refreshing change

    Like

  46. This song 😍😗😘

    Like

  47. […] ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh.…………….. […]

    Like

  48. You know, i always have this question somewhere in my heart if it is really possible for someone to be loved by someone so much. Maybe, people like you do exist. Maybe, like me, the girl also thinks that it is her loss.
    But no matter how sad it is, it feels great and blessed to be loved like that by someone. And in my heart, i know i made the right choice by moving away as i know i am not the right person for him.
    The only problem is that I realised it a little too late that I had so much love for him within me that would have made all wrongs right and now I will never be able to tell that to him.

    Liked by 1 person

    • 🙂 I didn’t mean to like my own comment, it was an accident(if you would believe that!) 🙂 I was just lurking around with no intention to comment and you made me comment with this post.
      I have seen the movie but didn’t really understand any of the lyrics to love the song. But thanks to you, now i know and the song is lovely. Thanks Bikram.
      Maybe, you should keep on doing this. Giving us out good songs like this with lyrics explained.

      Like

    • Bikramjit says:

      I am sure it is possible to be loved or love someone that much, and yes true it is a blessing. Like works in mysterious ways and there is a plan somewhere

      Like

Please do give your views good or bad whatever it is .. do let me know your views..

