HELLO everyone lately I have been bad at blogging , Don’t have much to write about these days and am trying my best to get back into the groove. Trying to catch up with all the old blogger friends and hoping against hope that they remember me too :). So Hello to all you out there who still remember me and those who have forgotten well Good job, you are not missing anything πŸ™‚

I have no idea how many times over the last few years I have tried to get back or said HELLO again and again but then the reason for that is, I don’t like to say good-bye , I hate it , prefer saying See you, because who know where when one gets to meet again.

I love saying HELLOπŸ™‚ .

Why the word HELLO was invented, all those years back who thought or made the word HELLO, Why is HELLO the word that signifies a HELLO.

I have a theory, yes I know those who know me will say here we go again, I always have something to say πŸ™‚ I think that the word hello was invented for this one only moment..

to start a conversation.. It was invented because when Mr. Bell invented the phone there was a need for everyone to pick the phone when it rang and say something..

What would be that FIRST word that one will say, there was nothing else to say .. so HELLO was invented, so people knew what to say instead of AHOY πŸ™‚ OR YO.. or something else.

Here is something that I have noticed, maybe others have noticed too people have this habit, especially old people, they will say HELLO and then repeat the number ..

you ring

They say “Hello — 0203546363”..

You are thinking “YES I KNOW” .. I dialled that number .. You don’t open your door and say HELLO and repeat the house address.. it’s the same principle ..

or Sometimes they will ask “What number have you dialled “.. Well here is a theory if your phone is ringing and you have picked the phone, it is not ROCKET SCIENCE as to what number the other person has DIALLED. is there .. it is YOURS .. the same number of the phone that you have just picked and said “HELLO”

SO then all you lovely people what do you say when the phone rings and you pick it up..

tringg tringgg .. pick up your phone …

********************************************************************

On a complete tangent here is something to think off.. WHICH person thought or gave the idea of having the Emergency number as 999.. Imagine in the good old days when they had the phone where you had to pull the numbers all the way. To dial 999 it would have taken the Longest time.. πŸ™‚ instead of 111…

********************************************************************
Here is another thought , I was in Scotland a few months back and found this myself

Did you know Scotland has its own money.. I mean they have same currency Pounds but they have the their own money, They have same notes but designed differently, Maybe They don’t want to deal in with English money

BUT here is a thought if you are listening the Business news .. imagine the funny part where they are telling the exchange rate πŸ™‚ Today the 1st September 2015 the exchange rate is…

one Pound to the POUND πŸ™‚

ok ok BAD JOKE I know .. but as I said getting there slowly πŸ™‚ I am sure you can bear with this one …

How are you ALL DOING ….

Comments
  1. alkagurha says:

    Hello reminds me a of a current Bollywood song. Anyway, hello, how have you been?

    Like

  2. Hello πŸ™‚ I didn’t know Scotland has their own-designed money! Why doesn’t UK just switch over to Euro?

    Destination Infinity

    Like

  3. menons129 says:

    Hello,hello,hello no one has forgotten such a prolific writer!

    Like

  4. Anita says:

    Hello Biks!
    Love the Hello words here.
    Thanks for dropping in & sharing your nice words as usual.
    You can share this post with ABC Wednesday tonight as this week’s alphabet is H & H for HELLO!
    I love Hellos more than Goodbyes πŸ™‚

    Like

  5. SG says:

    Hello Bikram. Hope you are doing well.

    Like

  6. Helloooooo

    scotland have their own money but they still prefer to be under the Queen’s rule. Whyyyyyyy ?

    Like

  7. Hello! Hope to see more of your blog!

    Like

  8. Melody says:

    πŸ˜‰ I do not remember you….. one simple reason, i did not know you …. this is (as i remember correctly) my first visit to you…

    I love your blogpost… Hello and see you, are much better words than goodbye.. although translated to my native language ‘tot ziens” ..means till we see eachother next time

    Thank you for participating in this weeks letter in de 17th round. Nice to see you come around every week!
    Have a nice day
    Melody (abc-w-team)

    Like

    • Bikramjit says:

      hmmmm yeah now that is a good enough reason BUT now you know me πŸ™‚ so Thank you so much for visiting and please pleaseeeeeeeeeeeee do keep visiting …

      I will make it a point to make sure I come over during the week .. Thank you

      Like

  9. photowannabe says:

    Well, Hello to you too.
    This is a great comeback and I to would rather say hello than goodbye.

    Like

  10. AdiC says:

    Hi! Look who’s back! For the umpteenth time this year πŸ˜‰ How have you been? And how was the wedding in India a few months ago? Correct me if I am mixing your event schedule with someone else’s!

    Like

  11. Shilpa Garg says:

    Hello Bikram! Good to see you back! How have you been?

    Like

  12. Found In Folsom says:

    Hehehe…we haven’t forgotten you πŸ™‚ One story I heard is Mr. Bell’s GF’s last name was Hello and that’s how he came up with that…the other is, it was his assistant in the next room and he called out that name….etc…etc.. πŸ˜€

    Like

  13. Roger Green says:

    Hello, and welcome back. I think your guesstimation about the derivation of the word Hello.

    Like

  14. ewok1993 says:

    Hello, is it me you’re looking for?

    My ABC WEDNESDAY

    Like

  15. Rinks says:

    Good to see you back. There are some things one cannot leave. Im sure its writing for you…Hope you enjoyed your break too!

    Like

  16. jesh stg says:

    A hello back! If I would do my posts like you do, I probably couldn’t keep up with my blog. I do it once a week, about 5 pics and a little text – that’s it:) a happy week to you!

    Like

  17. dNambiar says:

    Hello there (I just picked up your call :D)
    Hello is a good way to start a conversation. Welcome back and let the conversation begin again.

    btw, I seem to remember you, Bik. πŸ˜€
    Happy September!!!

    Like

    • Bikramjit says:

      yayyyyyyyyyyyyyy i guess it was the right number then πŸ™‚ he he he he he

      oh yes let the conversation begin.. so how are you doing .. πŸ™‚ a very happy September to you tooooooo

      Like

  18. padmaja says:

    Hello Bikram, one can not forget your past posts even if you are not blogging regularly now, look forward to you posting once on a while at least πŸ™‚

    Like

  19. Hildred says:

    A cheery hello sets the tone of the conversation – usually….

    Like

  20. I do say Hello and Hi. It reminds me of a pal in college who’d ask how I am doing, I say fine. He would joke and say, Everybody says I’m fine. Nice post:)

    Like

  21. Anita Menon says:

    So lovely to see your post. It’s chirpy and vibrant as always!

    Like

  22. Jyoti Mishra says:

    Hey, Bikram
    Hope you are doing well.
    I am too failing at blogging. 1 post in a month or two. Just keeping it alive :p

    Hope to get my groove as well :l
    Till then we’ll repeat Hellos πŸ™‚

    Like

  23. Here’s a hello from a new friend…
    And on the Scot currency, I think its just their way of trying to show their individual identity! Been in the UK for many years and totally used to love the gags on Mock The Week πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Bikramjit says:

      Hello right back to you .. Thank you so much for visiting me .. please please do keep visiting … yeah you are right on that , that is what it is. and you watch mock the week excellent , that is Brilliant.. I love the SHOW.

      Like

  24. indrani says:

    Hi! What a way to bounce back! Wonderful post!

    Like

  25. wordcoiner says:

    Hello from me too! Simba πŸ˜€

    Like

  26. Greenboochi says:

    Hello Bik πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Always good to see you come back! Now come up with more posts πŸ™‚

    Like

  27. Beat About The Book says:

    I guess that bit about repeating the number after the Hello comes from years of handling wrong-numbers. I used to have an uncle who would pick up the phone and say ‘bolo’ – kind of threw us off balance each time. Good to have you back Bikram.

    Like

  28. Hello, hello! Yes – you were missed and I am glad you are now back! πŸ™‚

    Like

  29. Ashwini says:

    Hello Hello πŸ™‚

    How have you been? It’s been some time since we saw you here.

    Yes, I remember repeating the number to ensure that we have actually dialed the right number. Old practices πŸ™‚

    Take care and do keep writing more. Waiting to read more theories of yours πŸ™‚

    Like

  30. lesliebc says:

    Hello back to you! So happy you have come back. I actually laughed out loud when I read your joke about the pound!

    Leslie
    abcw team

    Like

  31. I have not met you before, but I like what I read. I am not going to say it…I’ll just say Hi and See you another day. Fun post today, I really enjoyed reading it…

    Like

  32. sm says:

    Hello Hello
    nice joke about pound

    Like

  33. Hello, helloooooooooo…are you there??

    (again) hello, hello…:-P

    Anyway, it’s really a good news that you are back in action …I was missing your posts… πŸ™‚

    Like

  34. Rachna says:

    I like Hello too. Well, more like hi I guess. πŸ™‚

    Like

  35. HELLO ! Bikram’s blog ?

    So glad to see you blogging again πŸ™‚

    Like

  36. gc1963 says:

    Interesting observations….I really wonder whether this word “Hello” existed before the invention of telephone or did Mr. Graham himself coin the word? That’s a point to do R&D over….thanks Bikram for this amusing as well as thought provoking post

    Like

  37. Trish says:

    Helloooo πŸ™‚

    Like

  38. dilipnaidu says:

    Hello Bikram after so long. Enjoyed this one. Best wishes always.

    Like

  39. shwetadave09 says:

    Bikramji Kivve ho tussi….Hello reminds of Adele πŸ™‚ am sure you heard it! Hello brings in positivity, I see this is an old post, when would you start blogging again Veerji πŸ™‚

    Like

    • Bikramjit says:

      Helooooo I have .. There are new posts that have its just on indiblogger i am trying.. to come in sync ..

      Main bilkul wadhiya. . Waheguru di full kirpa ☺☺..
      Tusin sunao sab wadhiya…

      Thank you so much for the comment…☺☺☺

      Like

  40. Archana Kapoor says:

    Hello Hello Hello…

    Howdy Bikram πŸ™‚

    Like

  41. Amit Agarwal says:

    Hello sir ji πŸ™‚ Mazaa aa gayaa aapki post parh kar! Thank you ji πŸ™‚

    Like

  42. Beloo Mehra says:

    Hello ji πŸ™‚ That’s the punjabi way of using this expression, no?

    Like

  43. Meera says:

    Hello Bikram, this is an interesting piece. Write more. πŸ™‚

    Like

Please do give your views good or bad whatever it is .. do let me know your views..

