As I woke up today I felt something different Not sure what but the day felt different, I sent a txt to a friend of mine here in uk to remind him about the 11am meet at the local club where a lot of fellow Indians who love their country were going to meet, as it is the Martyrdom day of three martyrs Bhagat Singh, Sukhdev and Rajguru, We have this get together once every month, usually it is on a weekend but today was a special day. After all the three great men had given the ultimate sacrifice without a second thought, just for the love of the nation. How many can we count who have done that or COULD do it.

It brought a thought that imagine if it was 1931 what atmosphere it would have been that day, the frenzy of the people when they got to know that the three hero’s had been hanged and that they took to the gallows smiling. Been wondering sometimes, what it would be, to actually be alive during the times of Sardar Bhagat Singh. It’s one thing to watch the movies describing him, his ideas what he did, how it all happened, but to be actually there is different.

Thousands of people who stood outside the jail, waiting to hear a word about their heroes, Imagine the FEAR the rulers had , How afraid they were of the Three young men, IMAGINE if it was 30 Young men or 300 Young men, If that can be made true today, imagine what 300 Young men can do for the love of their Country.

I sometimes think if I was at that age, am I cut up for such sacrifices, would I be able to do what the heroes at that time did. Would I have had the courage to defy the Government at that time? Or would I be a coward running scared? or worst be an obedient citizen going about my daily chores of life without batting an eyelid, cause that’s what most were doing otherwise how could a handful of British rule so many.

It makes me angry when I see a tom dick and harry, a two-bit politician taking all the glory BUT my blood boils in anger when I think of the people in our nation , WE are a BILLION PLUS and yet we let the idiots rule us, brought a memory when BJP won the elections a few months back so much was being said about this will happen that will happen.. but WHAT HAS HAPPENED. We are still there , Look what happened a week back in Kolkata, to an OLD NUN 72 years old. That sums up everything on what we have become and WHAT great citizens we are of the great nation.

I am sure many of you will be saying OH this is isolated incident IS IT, every other week a gruesome atrocity is being done.. NOW just try to compare that with the days or the time in 1930-31, Imagine the JOSH, The vigour in the hearts of the YOUNG of that era, The love for the nation the love was so much they were ready to give their Life, Not RAPE the nation.

Yet people say we are advancing I am sorry it does not feel like that..

The youth of 1931 said Let us see how steadfast I am. One of my friends asked me to pray. When informed of my atheism, he said, “When your last days come, you will begin to believe.” I said, “No, dear sir, Never shall it happen. I consider it to be an act of degradation and demoralization. For such petty selfish motives, I shall never pray.” Reader and friends, is it vanity? If it is, I stand for it… (Bhagat Singh said that)

It was today so many years back that the youth of the nation showed the rulers that they were no longer afraid to walk the talk , to walk up to that platform where they would KISS death and smilingly happily die for the nation, Hoping to be reborn YET AGAIN so they could try once again to free our great nation from the chains it was bound by, yes THEY believed in that , pity today they will probably die of SHAME if re-born, to see the state of our nation. Where WE the people have brought it to.

Here we are in the year 2015 yet again on the same fateful day, how many of us remember the Brave three , who gave their life in a hope for a better future for us , the US who don’t deserve this freedom, the US who have never ever done anything for our nation and probably will never do, the US who are hand in glove with the corrupt , the bad the traitors .. YES i call myself and others a traitor for we are seeing all this happen in our nation yet we go about as if nothing has happened, we don’t bat an eyelid over what is going on …

Jo bhara nahin hai bhavon se 

behti jisme rasdhaar nahin

woh hridya nahin Pathar hai

jisme swadesh ka pyar nahin

(That heart that does not have emotions, that does not have BLOOD running, That is not a  heart  it is  Stone,  that does not have the love of Country in it)

 

jisme na nijh gaurav

na nijh desh ka abhiman hai

woh nar nahin hai

Passu hai nira Mritak ke samaan hai

(The one who has no self-respect, or is proud of his country, that is not a MAN but a Dead person an ANIMAL they are)

When will the time come when we will all stand up together and do something , or have we gotten so shameless that we are not dreading the day when we will also reach where these martyrs are now looking down upon us, what will we say to them when they ask us “IS this why they gave their lives”..  HOW – WHAT will we say to them ..

When will the time come when indians will start to think that Time has come to re-sow the guns in our fields.. as the little Bhagat singh did ..

The only thing that has changed since independence is the color of the skin of the looters , it was white then Now its brown.

Here is something that I would love everyone to hear ,  Put the volume at normal and close your eyes Just listen..   a little tribute to the martyrs .. Hope we do something for them for our country which will make them proud of their fellow citizens , I know you all are very busy, but do spend some time listening , maybe it will wake us all up to do something someday.. just maybe


Scottish Celtic                                                                           English

Lay me doon in the caul caul groon                                     Lay me down in the cold cold ground
whaur afore monie mair huv gaun                                       where before many more have gone

when they come a wull staun ma groon                              When they come I will stand my ground..
staun ma groon                                                                        stand my ground
al nae be afraid                                                                        I will not be afraid

thought awe hame take awa ma fear                                   Thoughts of home  take away my fear
sweat an bluid hide ma veil awe tears                                 sweat and blood –  hide my veil of tears

ains a year say a prayer faur me                                Once a year  say a prayer for me
close yir een an remember me                                   CLOSE YOUR EYES AND REMEMBER ME 

nair main shall a see the sun                                                 Never more shall I see the SUN
for a fell tae a germans gun                                                   for I fell to a German’s gun

Lay me doon in the caul caul groon                                     Lay me down in the cold cold ground
whaur afore monie mair huv gaun                                       where before many more have gone

Comments
  1. Oh my god Bikram! I knew you would have written something, so I came here. The title is eerily similar to my post. I shall read your post now.

    Like

  2. Zephyr says:

    Loved this passionate post, Bikram. The problem of this vast country is that power corrupts. And politics is used to further one’s fortunes, nothing more. Some are old looters, some slightly new and some brand new. You are right. The colour has changed, nothing more.

    Like

  3. srividhya says:

    Great. Loved that poem. Completely agree with your points. You know, I always think how would I have been in the pre – independence era.. That’s past. Coming to the present I know I am not doing much. I dunno what to comment even… 😦

    Like

  4. AdiC says:

    You should read the poem khooni hastakshar. It’s not based on Bhagat Singh but josh usme bhi aapke post jitna unda hai!

    Like

  5. Rinks says:

    Wonderful thoughts and emotions Bikram. The irony is, being in politics is a dirty job and no educated person would like to do it. Esp in India, I think, we have gone far too back than we were in the 20th century. Honestly speaking, I don’t have any hope but if I had a chance , I would have done much better than these goons at the control tower. It gives me hope that my daughter is going to do her Masters in Political Science this year and wants to earn a doctorate in it. I can only pray that she would lead by example as to how should a country run for progress. I come from a Fauji background and have seen people not returning from sorties… and kids waiting for their dads in the evening.Totally appreciate your instinctive feelings…Salute to you for stirring those emotions through your blog and all those who made the supreme sacrifice. Let me know if together we can start a movement of any kind to change things back at home!! Have a great week 🙂 !

    Like

    • Bikramjit says:

      My best wishes to your daughter and I am sure she will do the right things and will set up a example, the country is dependant on the new generation now .. sadly our generation has not been able to do anything .

      I will surly let you know of the things we are doing together and hopefully you can join in too.. if we all did little things or ONE thing each imagine thats how many small things ..

      Liked by 1 person

  6. sm says:

    Great Post nice questions

    Like

  7. A very moving article. I really think that we’ve failed to honour those who’ve given their lives for the independence of our country. Some statues, some awards and mentioning their names in the history books….that’s all we’ve done. Enough? What have we done for our country as individuals? Almost nothing… 😦 We’ve done nothing to make their dreams come true.

    Thanks for coming up with some relevant, thought-provoking points. And, loved the poem…it’s beautiful…

    Like

  8. That was extremely passionately written. At the cost of playing Devil’s advocate – I would have to disagree with you that the youth of that age did not rape. I am quite sure they did – times have not changed so much. And who knows how many cases of marital rape used to occur in those days, especially considering that divorce was not really an option.

    But, I don’t mean to take away from the object of your post – these young men were and still are truly an inspiration. Makes me wonder how much I would be willing to do for my country. I look forward to reading more such passionate posts from you 🙂

    Like

    • Bikramjit says:

      Thank you so much. I know what you are saying about people of those times.. yes bad elements were there but then the good were in bigger number I beleive especially those who wanted to give their life for the country and would do anything. . When we compare i doubt if there are hero’s like those in today day and age..

      The youth is more worried about a lot of other things and nowadays the enemy is within..earlier the enemy was white..now its our own we have to fight..just the color of the skin has changed.

      Even if the things were so bad in those days yet we got the heroes ..

      Thank you reading and replying looking forward to hearing from you and welcome to this blog …

      Liked by 1 person

  9. padmaja says:

    Thanks for this thoughtful post. Hope you are following the untimely death of the IAS officer D.K.Ravi here in Karnataka.

    Like

    • Bikramjit says:

      Yes mam ..well I won’t call it untimely. .It was a planned murder for sure. . And the people involved are probably not bothered as we have already scene what all is going on.. Some saying suicide ..The cid officer being removed and then reinstated.. The cm now going to cbi. .
      It is such a disgrace that these dirty politicians and mafia have no regards for human life and honest people..

      And yet we the people are in billions ..voting the same corrupt and letting handful of bad elements rule us..

      One person stood up and look what happened … While the thousands sit and watch..

      Sad very sad indeed

      Like

  10. We conveniently forget those who have done so much for us. Our country is in a bad shape, we need some positive changes.

    The song is beautiful.

    Like

  11. Deboshree says:

    I am not sure what to say…Reading this made me feel heavy-hearted.
    A very heartfelt and passionately written post, Biks.

    Like

  12. Interesting poem that. But the things you mentioned are a universal phenomenon, not restricted to one country.

    Destination Infinity

    Like

    • Bikramjit says:

      DI I am not interested in other countries to me my country is foremost so i would like to change my own country make it a better place and then start to worry about other countries

      Like

  13. Anita says:

    Touching words, Bikram.
    Very true.
    23rd March is Shaheedi Diwas. We Salute the brave young men.
    Hope we all love our country like them, and work for our India.
    Enough people have laid down their lives so that we can live…

    Like

  14. Great post Bikram…yeah I am closing my eyes and thanking first then proceeding with my prayer. Thank you for making me…
    That part where you talk about looters I agree to that and some what I am reminded of what Sir Winston Churchill had said maybe 64 years ago…”…power will go to rascals, rogues, freebooters; all Indian leaders will be men of straw. They will have sweet tongues and silly hearts. They will fight amongst themselves for power and India will be lost in political squabbles. …”
    I am an indian and am not praising the one who oppressed and ruled over us. All I am trying to say is that the words proved prophetic.
    But even then I am hopeful. Hopeful that things will change Bikram…they should and must.

    Like

    • Bikramjit says:

      THank you so much Shivani mam , good to see you here after a long time 🙂 it is true what churchill said our leaders have proven it correct for sure.

      I am not ashamed to say that people were better off under the british rule, look at all the roads , trains , places that the british built they are still standing tall and look at the hundreds of things that our people made or built which fall every now and then ..

      fingers crossed hopefully things will change but I also beleive that a INQULAB needs to come which will blow away every leader we have now and then maybe when the new leadership comes we will be better off .. TILL we have the leaders we have now there will NEVER BE a change…

      Like

  15. Kindly omit the error…it was not intentional…the I pad thingy…read Indian and not indian. I caps pls.

    Like

  16. B k chowla says:

    I am of the firm opinion that in the recent past,govt deliberately insulted our heroes and destroyed our social,fabric.
    At least we….common man…mustn’t forget the sacrifices made by the freedom fighters or else even today we would have been slaves

    Like

  17. sindhoooo says:

    Very touching article, Bikram. I get angry when I think that some of the high level politicians of that time, could save the brave threesome, if they really willed! For them, their leadership in freedom fight was important that the nation…

    Some of my thoughts resonate with that of yours…

    …I sometimes think if I was at that age, am I cut up for such sacrifices, would I be able to do what the heroes at that time did. Would I have had the courage to defy the Government at that time? Or would I be a coward running scared? or worst be an obedient citizen going about my daily chores of life without batting an eyelid, cause that’s what most were doing otherwise how could a handful of British rule so many….

    …It makes me angry when I see a tom dick and harry, a two-bit politician taking all the glory BUT my blood boils in anger when I think of the people in our nation , WE are a BILLION PLUS and yet we let the idiots rule us…
    (I think, current government is doing something for nation and the poor.)

    …Yet people say we are advancing I am sorry it does not feel like that…

    ‘….woh hridya nahin Pathar hai

    jisme swadesh ka pyar nahin’ – such a patriotic thought! Got goosebumps while reading it…

    There is a patriot in every common Indian, we need a channel to make it flow in the right direction… But, big question is, who will do that??

    Like

    • Bikramjit says:

      true.. there is a patriot for sure and I ma sure when the time comes people will stand tall but its the question whan is that time gonna come, there are good people too who are making an effort but sadly they are doing it on their own and not many are standing with them .. hopefully one good day many will stand up and god willing things will change.

      Like

  18. nimmy5 says:

    Each question you have raised above is a question to our innerself. Forget about giving up life, what have we done till now for our country till now? When we read such atrocities in newspaper, we think like it will never happen with us and a few days later we become the victim. How can in a country like India where womenhood is worshipped the most and we are so sensitive about the women in our house, girls are raped everyday? Indeed it has become a rape country. Heads up to you for showing tge bravery in your post. Keep it up.:)

    Like

    • Bikramjit says:

      FIrst of all welcome here to this blog that you so much for coming over and I am sorry for a very late reply.

      Thank you for the lovely words .. Please do keep visiting

      Like

  19. onkar kedia says:

    Everyone needs to do this introspection. Written from the heart.

    Like

  20. Ashwini says:

    One. I dont have the guts to give up my life for anyone for that matter, let alone country. Two, these days it is totally not worth it. As people here said, when corruption comes in and random people take credit for someone;s selfless deed, people would be sick if they watched it from heaven!

    Like

  21. harman singh says:

    ..its sad.. people who got us freedom ..today we dont value that ,, remember one thing .. bribe is cultivated to the roots. if today somebody gives a heavy price many wud be ready to sell the country itself ..its so deep rooted ..
    Rapes makes us even worst seems like every other male in india is dESPO .. wht an image!!
    the less we talk .. better it is..
    india had made its name as loving peaceful country .. recent rapes has flagged up safety of every other women visiting india!

    Like

  22. iComment says:

    The Church of England is represented in the UK Parliament by 26 bishops & British monarch:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Religion_in_the_United_Kingdom#Religion_and_politics

    And they preach secularism to us?

    Like

    • Bikramjit says:

      Errr. How does that matter .. and how does it relate to the post , if we concentrate more on our own country rather than thinking of what is happening elsewhere I am sure we will be better of.

      Like

  23. very thoughtful post.. straight from the heart ! Its not just Rape, theres a lot more that we need to deal with.. and to start with its us and our thought process that needs to change first !

    Like

  24. Novroz says:

    Great post Bik, I honestly don’t know what to say. Full of emotion.

    Like

  25. sm says:

    thoughtful nice post yes just color has changed

    Like

  26. MM says:

    I have come here after a long, long time and your writing, as usual has filled me passion and moved me to tears. Thank you, for we need someone to call us out on our complacence and our apathy, only then will the winds of change blow.

    Like

    • Bikramjit says:

      YEs I can see about that being LONG 🙂 so now do keep coming back .. you are need we need bhagat singh’s to be born again so we can have a country that we all had pride in once more ..

      Like

  27. Nirvana says:

    So good to be here after so long Bikram …. And ofcourse I was rewarded with yet another thoughtful and passionate post.

    Like

  28. Bikramjit says:

    I fully agree with everything said by you. Even my blood boils to see our country being looted by our own people.All these people must be thrown into the prisons and the keys thrown away in the ocean.
    I am always reminded of the heroes whenever,I hear the song sung so beautifully by Lata Mangeshkar: Hey merat watan ke logon, zara aankh mey bar lo panni…
    It always moves me to tears.
    I am sure even we would have sacrificed our lives for the freedom of our country, if we had been there in that era. I still know people like my grand father getting whipped by the Firangi, my mother in law, who as a young girl had burnt all the nylon sarees and wowed to wear only Khadhi and so on

    Rama

    Like

    • Bikramjit says:

      Thank you so much Rama MAM, I am sorry to have put this comment so late, I was out of the country hence did not see the emails…

      It is a great honour to know people like them who were not afraid in those days..

      Like

  29. I too wonder what was it that was so different in 1931 that motivated people to this extent.

    Like

  30. A thought-provoking article. Yes,we Indians have complained and complained and complained – about corruption, about government apathy, about injustice, about lack of proper governance. But have we ever acted. No, we are just a bundle of reactions. Sad reality. More posts like these might inspire the dull-minded people.

    Like

  31. The thin line between the real martyrs and so called martyrs ……but then the post was direct from heart and touched many chords. Bravo

    Like

    • Bikramjit says:

      SO true the thin line .. so many have reaped so much for doing nothing for the nation and yet those who gave all they could we are forgetting ..

      Thank you so much for that .. ..

      Like

Please do give your views good or bad whatever it is .. do let me know your views..

