Day 7 and Wordless Wednesday (49) :- Death/Birth Registration

Posted: January 7, 2015 in Angry, Blogathon, Experiences, My Thoughts.
Tags: , , ,

We now have to book an appointment with the Register office to register a Death or Birth.. Although there are THREE numbers that one can call to book an appointment but it seems the last week has been very very busy for the Birmingham office as I have not been able to get hold of them ..

I thought this could go well for wordless Wednesday theme ..

calls1

calls2

If I have so much trouble getting hold of them , I wonder how others are getting along , How many times does one need to call to get an Appointment especially in sad times, One is already depressed with what is going on at home to top it all the added stress of trying to organise everything, Because here in UK we can’t get a funeral organised without registering.

I do hope and wish someone sees this and they can get more phone lines or STAFF to handle because at least 3 or 4 times the phone rang and rang and rang.. no one picked up.

If you count I had to make 104 calls and I still could not GET THROUGH, in the end I gave up , I am personally going to go to the register office myself today and make an appointment..

Comments
  1. greenboochi says:

    I cant imagine how painful it must be to register the death of your loved one. Sigh. Sigh, I diverted from what you intended to say.

    Like

  2. Deboshree says:

    My God! Glad you wrote about this here. Lets hope the right people are listening and get this resolved as soon as can be…

    Like

  3. dnambiar11 says:

    Oh my gosh!! That’s a lot of calls.
    Frustrating, I’m sure.

    My well-wishes to you. Hope the rest of the year will be simply great. 🙂

    Like

  4. KP says:

    It is depressing when Utility services or service departments cease to be an utility or service.But this experience is generally universal though 104 calls is too much.May be others give up earlier.

    Like

    • Bikramjit says:

      probably .. but i did not have a choice, to get the funeral organised we have to register and get a certificate that will set the ball rolling.. SO this was not the case that I can o next week or week after ..

      Like

  5. Seema says:

    Oh my God, that’s a pathetic service. Why do they even have those numbers active?!

    Like

    • Bikramjit says:

      I know.. but as i mentioned above to get the funeral organised we have to register and get a certificate that will set the ball rolling..

      a few more lines or maybe a dedicated couple of lines just for this would be goood

      Like

  6. Double Inverted Commas says:

    So its like india only in that sense, right? We have unresponsive babus, you unresponsive numbers…

    Like

  7. anisnest says:

    this is too bad.. hope they are listening..

    Like

  8. Saru Singhal says:

    That’s sad. They should hire more staff if they don’t have people to manage the work load.

    Like

  9. renu says:

    offices are same everywhere..difficult to get..

    Like

  10. ruchira says:

    Such numbers/offices are always understaffed 😦

    I hope and pray all gets well for you B.
    Hang in there!
    Good times are not far since sad times don’t last for long!
    hugs!

    Like

    • Bikramjit says:

      Thank you so much mam, I hope so too.. you know it is probably my luck or what but for some reason the last few years , the first week in jan has always been like this …

      Like

  11. YAM says:

    Hari OM
    …not even an ansafone??? Tsk… not the way to start the year, loss then frustration +++… Hope this is now resolved. YAM xx

    Like

    • Bikramjit says:

      No, not even that. I know not a way to start the year but then its ME, things work like this with me it seems …

      Yes it is now resolved and I now have the certificates and starting the funeral arrangements

      Like

  12. B k chowla says:

    So it is same the world over

    Like

  13. Archana K B says:

    Oh. And I thought it happens only in India…
    Sun rises always after night. May happiness bounce back at your door step in few days…

    Like

  14. indrani says:

    That can actually hit you on a emotional level.
    Good one for WW!

    Like

  15. D says:

    Hey, not sure what actually happened. Hope the rest of the year is great for you!

    Like

  16. the little princess says:

    oh my god!! seriously!! you had the patience to keep trying…i would have given up much earlier!

    Like

  17. sindhoooo says:

    Goodness! 104 times!!!!!

    Like

  18. Smitha says:

    I don’t know why I’m not getting your posts in my reader. Going to try unsubscribing and subscribing again.

    This is such a sad state of affairs. So tough , especially in sad circumstances..

    Like

    • Bikramjit says:

      oh no … dont say that .. you were one of the regular visitor i had .. yes please check and VISITtttttttttttttttttttt 🙂

      this was in birmingham I could not believe it myself

      Like

  19. poojamahimkar says:

    I am sure the situation would be far worse in India.
    I can never muster up so much patience.

    Like

  20. mridula says:

    So sorry to hear this!

    Like

  21. Anita says:

    That’s sad to learn.
    Appointments, especially for such cases, should be easy to make. Already the people are going through a hard time & we don’t want things to be worse.
    Appointments should be available at the touch of a button or via a website with immediate response…

    Like

    • Bikramjit says:

      I know , I hope things change. it was a horrible day for me , being alone in uk could not ask any one else to do it so it was a long day trying to get a appointment and getting other things sorted

      Like

Please do give your views good or bad whatever it is .. do let me know your views..

