Shopping experiences

Posted: June 9, 2014 in Bikramism, Blogging, Experiences, Feeling Funny, Humor
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Disclaimer: This is a repost, as in the previous one this part got lost I think.. So sorry if you are reading it again .. You can see how I am trying my best to write something and not coming up with anything.

Shopping.. I had a funny experience when I was going to buy my shoes , Never go for shopping with your partner-gf-wife-mother or even a female friend, I have my reasons oh BOY what a mistakeeeeeeee… They stand there , looking at you.. and make you wear the Shoe and Ask you “TO WALK UP AND DOWN”..

imagesshoes

Now THIS WALK is That walk, that No man will ever walk once he gets out of the shop,  you know the one I mean where we walk bending the toes or the shoe forwards to check if it bends properly, (which man ever walks like that generally, bending their foot).. Then we might be asked to even sit down and Feel the Toe’s inside , Wiggle your Toe.. pinch the top of the shoe to see if there is enough space between the tip and the big toe.. When you do that YOU have this EXCITED look on your face

“Oh yes I can feel the Toe.. ” .. it is right there where it should be , well all normal humans have them

         On your foot  .. Inside your SHOE.

because that’s where THEY ARE SUPPOSED TO BEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE…

and then you stand in front of the mirror to check how they look, We always look from the SIDE, Now tell me do you ever see other people in their shoes walking towards you and YOU WATCHING THEIR SHOE FROM THE SIDE..

Your friend is approaching you, and as he comes you are stepping sideways to get an angle of the SIDE OF THE SHOE.. have you every done that , how do you do that.. you always see the front .. and the sides that you WILL never ever see for as long as you have those shoes .. I mean why Oh why do we do that ..

The Funniest part is that , the shop people always give you ONE shoe, you have one old shoe (which you obviously now hate as you are getting new ones) and New Shoe, (the beauty and the beast scenario).. and you are walking up down the shop.. This is still OK.. but sometimes you Take both your old shoes off, Have just ONE new shoe walking , that is a funny walk indeed from far it looks as if you have a LIMP. This was my experience But what about the Ladies who have Hundred inches tall Heels, imagine them trying that walk in just one sandal 🙂

The same also happens when we buy new trousers .. you wear them and then you try to squat and what not .. I mean how many times have men bought trousers and squatted while wearing them, In the Shop we do different movements just to make sure the trousers fit us properly, Why can’t we just go and try them on as we would wear them normally, isn’t that more important 🙂

.. FUNNY things we do……..

The Shop people are also Very intelligent, They always design their Shop in a way to attract people to Buy things which they have not come to buy, Like for example have you ever noticed that this is especially for men, that the Beer or Alcohol corner always comes first , right before household stuff or WORSE its right before the Children Nappies etc section .. The mentality being that if a man comes to buy lets say Nappies or Milk then he will also see the ALCOHOL and just might buy some for the lovely weekend that has been predicted 🙂

The good stuff or the Fresh stuff like the Bread or cereals will always be on the last counter.. you have to walk all through the shop to get there .. All the Junk food will be right there in the front , staring at you .

Also as you are checking out they will always have a rack of sweets,chocolates,crisps Everything that is NOT GOOD FOR HEALTH right there , just in case you have forgotten to buy , you can buy more junk on the way out, or if you have kids they can scream their head off to buy those sweets .. Why cant the shop guys put healthy food there , some fruits etc.

and then another thing is Why do supermarkets make the sick, walk all the way to the back of the store to get their prescriptions while healthy people can buy cigarettes at the front. I mean you enter a super market the Counter for Tobacco or cigarettes are mostly in the front at least much more ahead of the pharmacy.. .. Oh I guess they want people to buy it and then have a nice little stroll to the pharmacy while have that Smoke .. ahh Bliss .

So what have your experiences been..

ps:- Photos courtesy Google.

Comments
  1. Buying shoe is a task for girls. Actually the shoe size doesn’t remain constant. It changes with the style of shoe. And that thing about supermarket is so true, why such a contrast!

    Like

  2. Bindu says:

    You have done quite a research on the supermarkets and their tactics. Loved that part about the shoe/trousers trial 🙂

    Like

  3. sridevidatta says:

    Yaayy me first ! Loved reading this post and the various funny insights. I guess all those counters are so placed because the shoppers are so tired while roaming through all the children’s clothes that their brain refuses to function logically and they dump whatever catches their eye. Been there done that 🙂 Not beer and stuff , but junk food, I just hoard my trolly with them 😀

    Like

    • Bikramjit says:

      yesssssssss it is there to attract the shoppers ..

      I need to follow you next time then when you come out of shopping with all that junk food .. maybe I can take some off you he he he he he

      Like

  4. Supermarkets here keep all shiny candies and tasty items right next to the billing counter. That’s why, every visit to the supermarket becomes a tough internal conflict!!

    Destination Infinity

    Like

  5. the little princess says:

    LOL!! quite a lot of funny observation’s that is!! and that is precisely why we end up buying all that stuff we don’t need at all….and the one plus one free ones whether we need the extra one or not, we buy the biscuits free with the 5 kg sugar, irrespective of whether we need the biscuits and sugar in so much quantity….they have us all trapped man!!

    Like

    • Bikramjit says:

      he he he he i know.. I also fall into that trap sometimes.. and then end up wasting stuff .. as you need only one and you end up buying two thinking its a bargain .. clever shop people ..

      Like

  6. padmaja says:

    you omited the latest that is happening in supewrmarkets here in Bangalore. My cousin is running one and he is tired of keeping tab on kids stealing chacolates on every visit!Sad part is that the parents dont accept that their kids are doing it! He is planning to install a camera now 🙂

    Like

    • Bikramjit says:

      oh no .. well thankfully everything is on cctv here and stores have their security people at the gates .. so that probably lessens this impact..

      but that is wrong if kids are stealing .. what will they do when they grow up

      Like

  7. Bhagyashree says:

    How I wish my hubby read this post. When we go shopping for him, I do the same. If it is shoes, he has to walk all over the aisle. If it is trousers then walk, bend, squat 🙂 Don’t blame me, it is the only time he listens to me 😛
    On second thoughts it is better that he doesnt read your post 😀 😛 Good for me haan

    Like

  8. nimmy5 says:

    Funny…it’s true that gals r sometimes very choosy and can irritate you a lot but shopping with gals has its own benefit too. Only they can get you the best offers. So if you are smart enough then you wouldn’t lose that. 🙂

    Like

  9. Shopping experiences could be nightmare at times with so many offers, options and other combinations thrown in…Observation on pharmacy and tobacco is a keen one. Wherever you put pharmacy, people will go and tobacco uses instinctive buy decisions sometimes..A good post.

    Like

  10. Mi says:

    that is such a detailed post. I have noticed people do stuff, but I never thought of compiling it into a post! 🙂
    Also, you have a great blog here.. 🙂 I love it!

    Like

  11. Khushboo says:

    That is really thought provoking. Medicines and affordable products are always hidden and the most expensive ones are always on display. I for one always cannot resist buy chocolates that are kept the near the cashier because they are so tempting. I am sure they deliberately do it because very few people walk into the store just to buy a chocolate.

    Like

    • Bikramjit says:

      you know i use to be like that but thankfully i have reduced a lot .. yes thats the whole idea.. you go for fruits and then end up buying sugary sweets too 🙂

      Like

  12. Pheno Menon says:

    Buying a shoe for me is a 10 mins experience ….max.. I do walk to feel the comfort otherwise its PACK UP and leave.. DOnt have the patience to try the rest of the “walk” and poses 🙂
    PhenoMenon

    Like

    • Bikramjit says:

      it would be a ONE minute experience for me , had i gone alone.. I am size 9 and thats it .. go – see – get size – pay job done ..

      but this time i had gone with my cousin who was getting married and she had to make sure EVERYTHING was checked 🙂

      Like

  13. shivani says:

    Once again u’ve touched that soft soft which makes me say U feel like i know u Bikram. Meaning no pretense…you r so real. Loved it… every sentence. And u got the ball rolling. Yeah i too make my husband and my son wear the shoe and walk. Tell u what they will blindly ask for the size come home and later repent…and these days shoes especially the branded ones cost a fortune. And a shoe that pinches and hurts 24/7 is not practical… not at all…
    Same with trousers…u must sometimes squat too…for different brands might be different in their fittings…u know. Agreed we women make u men do a lot but c’mon it’s for ur own gooood.
    Yeah…about the Supermarkets yeah they sure do all these displays in order to make the customers buy what they never had on their to do list.
    But wonder why this issue is not raised ever for medicines and life saving drugs…what if someone has gone grocery shopping and has some kind of a seizure…imagine having a drug store right there but not being in easy proximity. i guess a First Aid box should not be halving say a medicine for Epileptic seizure…or something like a severe Asthma attack and the inhaler that the customer had maybe had just malfunctioned or something… i guess just like Fire or Robbery Alarm this should be something that needs to be addressed. Wonder why we never ever thought about that.
    Thank you for being prompt on my post…loved ur comment too. Hey even i was a Raquel Welch fan…still am…and she still looks beautiful. 🙂

    Like

    • Bikramjit says:

      he he he well that is what we men do.. see the shoe, chek the size and job done 🙂 oh please dont remind me of the price, When I had to go to india two months ago a couple of cousins wanted branded shoes and I know OUCH.. the wallet said..

      I am not much fussed over brand names, I buy what i like it can be a shoe from a roadside person or a branded doesnot make any difference to me ..

      YES mam.. agreed women do it for our best yesssssss 🙂

      it is addressed but then stores have their own marketing ideas..

      you do.. yayyyyyyyy yeah she is beautiful for sureeeeeee…

      Thank you So much for this lovely comment .. looking forward to more now …

      Like

  14. Agree with you how the capitalist-cum-consumerist society make things attractive and not necessarily user friendly. An insightful article.

    Like

  15. sm says:

    shopping for a shoe is a task as shoes sizes changes as per the brand so one needs to be aware of that all the time

    Like

  16. Rachna says:

    Writer’s block?

    Like

    • Bikramjit says:

      no idea.. dont feel so enthusiastic as i used to about blogging. maybe the more than a year off has had its toll.. and also now seeing the familiar faces probably.

      earlier we use to have a good banter and pulled each others legs.. so it made it more fun 🙂 if you know what I mean.. and then the likes of me doing the silly things of sending posts to two people .. you remember he he he he

      Like

      • Rachna says:

        hahaha Oh yes I remember completely. Have missed you around here, Bikram. Good to see you writing and being the warm presence around the blog world as you were before. Don’t worry about it. Write only when imagination strikes. Banter — arre indulge in it. All your friends totally love that :D.

        Like

  17. ahaaa… You observed everything so minutely and exactly 😀
    I noticed all of them but never taken into an account to thought over. It was fun to read how much silliness we do while trying out new footwear at the shop. All true 😀

    Like

  18. Seeta says:

    Oh I have always wondered about the shoe thing// felt odd serenading around wearing an old pair and a new one 😛 The super market I havent observed.. need to keep an eye out for that next time 🙂

    Like

    • Bikramjit says:

      he he he he.. especially if old has high heel then the new one or vice versa .. it will look as the person has a limp..

      🙂 🙂

      yessssss keep an eye 🙂 Thank you so muchhhhhhhhhhhhhh

      Like

  19. swathishenoy says:

    This super market thing, why didn’t I think of it before! I always used to go in a hurry and grab whatever I want, never complainig or even giving much thought about the location! But now that you have pointed it out, I am sure, next time I am going to grumble about going till the end 😀
    And the shoe shopping, ultimate 😀 Thank god I am dont do such things else I would have to hear complaints 😀 This was a hilarious post 🙂 Enjoyed it 🙂

    Like

    • Bikramjit says:

      right.. hello.. why did you not think of it before .. tell tell 🙂

      yesss do have a look around and you will see what I mean 🙂

      Thank you so much mam.. glad you liked it.

      Like

  20. You seem to notice a lot of things. Cigarettes in the front and madicines and bread at the back. No fruits near the junk food. Alcohol near the nappies!
    Footwear…it feels good while wearing them there but after coming home and while using the next day, it looks odd on our foot!
    Nice post, Bikram!

    Like

  21. My experiences? You are asking about my experiences when I am that woman … no not really. 😀

    Like

  22. Interesting perception, Bikram esp about the shoes cause never thought on those terms. But then it does boil down to our looks and how a particular product appeals to us…whether it be a pair of jeans or shoes.

    With regards to shopping in a grocery store…I agree they make the sick walk all the way while the condiments are stacked in the front. All in the name of marketing and strategies of the human mind huh!

    Like

    • Bikramjit says:

      yeah you are right.. but my point was why do all that nautanki 🙂 when we will never do it once we have paid the money for the shoe 🙂

      clever are those marketing people they know how to grab attention for sure 🙂

      Like

  23. Roshni says:

    ahahhaha!! The shoe shopping part is hilarious! I can imagine myself walking with a limp with one shoe!!

    Like

  24. purbaray says:

    That’s a good point you’ve raised – making the sick walk all the way to the back of the store to get their prescriptions while healthy people can buy cigarettes at the front. In Australia, cigarettes are insanely expensive, precisely why, whoever is addicted enough to buy them is treated like king/queen.

    Like

  25. B K chowla says:

    Trust me,I can walk in to the store and walk away within five minutes after buying a pair of shoes

    Like

  26. Shilpa Garg says:

    Interesting observations! Laughing out loud at the shoe shopping experiences!
    The idea of keeping the useful and much needed items at the back and junk in the front is actually a smart move. A person will definitely buy the daily-needs item wherever it is placed but junk has to be kept at a high visibility place. And billing counters are the best place to entice the kids… a long queue, impatient and bored kids harassing you, they ask for the ‘goodie’ and you oblige instantly… Sigh!

    Like

    • Bikramjit says:

      Thank you SG.
      it is a smart move , very clever of them to manipulate our minds.. yeah .. I have seen some of those screaming kids for sure .. and the poor mums not sure what is going on and in the end they agree to get them anything just to shut
      them up 🙂

      Sigh indeed …

      Like

  27. And the funny part is they keep changing the position of the counters time and again. If you found the groceries at a particular part of the supermarket…the next time you go there, you will find something else. It is like rearranging furniture and banging your own foot.

    Like

  28. Found In Folsom says:

    heheehe….why oh why? When my son was little, we did not take shopping cart. Or else he would pile up the cart and make a fuss. We would let him grab everything he wanted. Then after his hands are full and gets something new, I would say put these down and hold the new thing. That way by the end of shopping, I would buy him a $1 thing 😛 hehe…see how cunning I am 🙂

    Like

  29. When I go shopping, I always buy in bulk. So if I go to buy sandals, I ‘ll not buy one but 2-3 pairs. When shopping for kurtas or t-shirts, I think ‘ yaar baar baar kaun aanewala hai yaha…’ and ask the shopkeeper to show others similar to the one I have shortlisted. I would have gone to buy 1 kurta and come back with 10 kurtas! Needless to say, this habit takes a big toll on ‘his’ pocket 😛

    Like

    • Bikramjit says:

      you do .. hmmmm yeha i can understand the toll on the POCKET .. because you are buying too much 🙂 he he he he

      but this kurta thing I do tooo.. especially if i am in india might as well buy more 🙂

      Like

  30. Anita says:

    Such true observations! Even I share similar feelings- “the beauty and the beast scenario” – we hate our old shoe suddenly, even if we have purchased it last week! 🙂
    Walk up & down while trying the shoes while everyone tries to convince you to go for it!!!

    Like

  31. Anita Menon says:

    My husband is a lucky man. I finish all shopping – his , mine, my dau:ghter’s within minutes. I do not take any time to decide what I want for them or my own self. But the time taken to shopping is inversely proportional to the amount spent on shopping. 🙂
    That is where all the problems and disagreements with the hubby start.
    Lovely observational post Bikramji.

    Like

    • Bikramjit says:

      he he hehe you are great.. doing so much shopping for everyone yayyyyyyyyyyyy 🙂 he he he and yeah I think I should have observed that tooo , Two people arguing at the check out over the billl he he he he

      Like

  32. privytrifles says:

    This was hilarious…. and I for one love shopping alone. Better. No confusion, nothing. Jo pasand aaya utha liya. Khatam. Am done in 15-20 mins flat 😀

    Like

  33. Hahaha, yeah, similar shoe stories everywhere and how true, shopping experiences have gone on to a different level completely. These marketing people seem to catch our shopping pulse on what we actually want and what we might be wanting so that they place things accordingly! Great observations. 🙂

    Like

  34. Gray Dawster says:

    You’re right never shop with the girls 😦 lol
    Okay so we can have lots of fun with them
    at other times, nooooo not being naughty it
    is simply a fact, we love our ladies 🙂 BUT
    SHOPPING AND OUR LADIES DO NOT
    MIX AT ALL phew I had to shout that out
    of my system 🙂 lmao

    I know what you mean about the pharmacies
    and the tobacco scenario, I guess it is to let all
    the poor sick folks breathe in the stale cigarette
    breath of the smokers before they can reach an
    inhaler, then run the gauntlet on the way back 😦

    Well not run exactly but those pharmacies need
    to be closer, not so far into the supermarkets that
    it takes a scouting trip to find them again 😦 lol

    Okay time to go, so have a wicked Monday and
    don’t try the male / female shopping experience
    again unless you are on mind warping inhalers
    or buying those hideous jelly bean sandals 😦 lol

    Have fun now Bikram 🙂

    Andro

    Like

    • Bikramjit says:

      he he he he he 🙂 I am not sure i should say what i want ot say here 🙂 glad you got out of the system Andro..

      you are right Important stuff needs to be in front rather than junk .. but then i can understand their view too as no one will buy the junk then 🙂 hope you are having a good time and the week is going on great for you

      Like

  35. elixired says:

    Ahhh! That is a nice observation! Seriously my brother hates it when I ask him to try clothes again and again and make best choice considering designs, comfort and their visual appeal all at the same time. Still he or anyone in my family prefer to take me along for shopping. We women have a tendency to ensure that we get best deal for our money- may be that is why there are so many trials, bending, jumping everything before the final purchase. 😉

    Like

Please do give your views good or bad whatever it is .. do let me know your views..

