The Resort hotel – Mumbai

Posted: May 7, 2014 in Experiences
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

UPDATE:-
07th may 2014 :- I have now received the Cheque for the amount, I had paid . Wish I had blogged and written on Twitter 2 months ago , I could have saved myself the pain. Why could the people at the hotel not do it at the First time , is still a mystery. Thank you all for the concern..

I have till now been to a lot of countries and different cities in india, even here in UK I have visited a lot of places , checked into hotels to stay for the night or more, In all my life I have never had any problem at any of the places I have stayed.

This year when I was planning to come to india , I had a plan to stay in Mumbai for a couple of days so as i could meet my friends. Someone suggested me the name of The resort hotel (@theresortmumbai). So i went ahead and booked, I called them before hand and they were very polite , so I went online booked the room and paid in full. Their website takes you to a third-party portal for payment.

So a couple of days later I rang the people to confirm , thankfully the room was booked all confirmed.. I did not bother about the email.

As it happened the plans got changed and I no longer needed the place to stay as my friend from pune planned something else , and here is where the NIGHTMARE started.

15th February :- I wrote an email asking the hotel to cancel the room, No reply came.

16th February :- I called the office , I think it was just about 5pm in evening india time The lady on the phone asked me to call “TOMMORROW” , as the accounts department had closed.

17th February:- I called again to be told the guy has not come and I should call tomorrow again, I then emailed them.

18th february:- received the following email as a reply..

“Dear Mr Bikram
Sorry for the trouble you have faced. Sir you need to cancel the booking through the hotel website only. We cannot cancel the booking verbally.
Thanks and regards
Ajeet nayak”

But to my utter dismay the cancel button doesn’t exist on the site. you can book AND PAY on their official website but can’t cancel, After trying my own clicking every button on the site I managed to find the cancel button , but this took a lot of my time and at least 10 to 15 phone calls , I was passed from one person to another , so much so that a guy actually said to me that If I am having so much problem I should call the PA to the general manager. He gave me her number , So I call this lady who at first tried to pass me on to someone else, but then when I told her the whole story, she apologised and said If I could call her in half hour as she was driving.

NOW, usually people who are in the wrong call you back , but hey that does not work , I told the lady I will call her in ONE HOUR, giving her plenty of time to sort out things. So after an hour I called again and GUESS WHAT SHE DID.. in all her intelligence passed the phone to a guy , who I think was playing cricket because I could hear a lot of shouting and Out , OUT etc etc and other cricketing words.. Now this gentleman again tells me the same thing “if I have done a booking online , I got to cancel it also online.. ” or call a Mr. Sagar who deals with the ONLINE side of the hotel.

This Mr. Sagar is a person who is very hard to contact, I called and left at least 2 or 3 messages on his voice mail saying I am having problems, I had no response.. finally late at night I found how to get to this dubious cancel button . You go to their MAIN OFFICIAL Website , then at the bottom we see the Follow us icons for facebook, twitter etc etc in the end is a Blogspot.. You click that ..

Capture1

Go to a another link .. and do you think you can see the Cancel button .. You must be joking .. Not that easy , You click the Online booking icon at the bottom of the screen

Capture2

and then you see a cancel\modify button ..
Capture3

Click that button you go to another web page 🙂

Capture4

So I went there entered my booking id, pressed the Cancel button 🙂 NOTHING happens, I tried a few times when all that did not work , I wrote another email AFTER calling the hotel and talking to the lovely lady. Also an Email to this elusive Mr. Sagar. this is still the 18th of February. I was very very polite so far requesting every time..

20th February :- Another Email to Mr. sagar , along with a couple of voicemail on his phone at different times.

22nd February :- I finally get a reply from Mr. Sagar which says the Following

“Dear Bikramjit, Sorry for late reply as due to tech issue I didn’t received your mails in my inbox. As per your request we will cancel your booking and will process full refund for the same.
Due to URL issues webpage is not supporting online cancelation TAB.
Best Regards
Sagar Chandane
Corporate Online Revenue Manager
The Resort,Mumbai H.O.
K.Raheja Corp. Pvt. Ltd.,
Raheja Tower,Plot no. C-30, G-Block,
Bandra Kurla Complex,Bandra East,
Mumbai : 400 051
Tel. No : 022 – 265654239
Mobile No : +91 9819744321
E-mail id : rev.mgr@theresortmumbai.com ” ”

Finally I found out, how great the communication is between the Online Team and the team that is running the Hotel , because none of the people that I had talked to on phone had any idea , that the online cancellation was not working. I must add here that by now the lady at the reception started to recognise my voice , the moment I said Hello, She would say Hello Mr. Mann, Hasn’t Mr. Sagar got back to you . 🙂 .. so to that lady.. THANK YOU , for always being so polite

2nd March :- 10 days go by no refund , Another Email to Mr. Sagar, along with the usual voice mails.

5th March :- I was mad by then and fuming so I wrote an email to Everyone.. “rev.mgr” , Lobby Manager , Reservation , Front Office Manager . The email was Not Polite. It was in Bold, Capital letter throughout and highlighted RED..

DO you think anyone from this hotel lot would have any decency to reply to that , OH NO.. it did not work.

12th March:- I email again , Requesting the people to at least give me a contact with whom I can talk and get this sorted — NO RESPONSE

31st MArch :- By now I had been to india and Back.. still no sign or reply from anyone , Not a single person from the any of the departments who were CC’ed in the emails responded. I emailed again. This Time again the email was in capitals, Bold and highlighted in RED.

LOTTERY time it was .. I got a reply the very next day .. So the people only work when shouted at 🙂

1st April :- I get another reply from Mr. Sagar
Dear Bikram,
We are truly apologies for inconvenience which you have faced while coordinating for your booking refund.
I have given approval for your booking refund it will reflect in your account in 07 to 10 working days.
For fast process if possible please provide us your bank account details so we can deposit cheque .
Best Regards
Sagar Chandane

Now this Approval as far as I remember had been given before my trip to india, as I can clearly remember the lady on phone telling me that , she has had a word with Mr. Sagar and he has approved it.. BUT let us give them the benefit of doubt and agree that Mr. sagar gave the nod on 1st april 🙂

I thought I was in Luck finally they will do something , So I replied on 2nd april Telling them they can Refund the money to the credit card used , Or they send a A/C payee cheque to the address and I will ask someone to deposit in my indian bank, I in my STUPIDITY also thanked Mr. Sagar for a Quick Reply.. OH WHAT A SHAME..

A MONTH PASSED ..

1st MAY 2014 :- I had to write back to Mr. Sagar , reminding him .

2nd MAY 2014 :- I sent a Tweet to them .. @theresortmumbai Can you REFUND my money please .. I have been requesting since 16th February

3rd MAY 2014 :- They Replied – Hi the payment is under process, kindly furnish us with your postal address so that we can courier the cheque by next week., so another 7 days to go ..

I have replied to them “@theresortmumbai The details are with EACH email address , Reservations, front office, Lobby manager , Mr. sagar .. Sent on 1st April

I am still waiting for that refund.. now people tell me What else can I do. I have thought that maybe Each one of you who are in India can Make ONE phone call everyday to these people asking them have they refunded the money I have about half a dozen phone numbers of people whom I have been asked to Talk to and NONE of these “MORONS” have any idea how to refund or what can be done .. It seems this Hotel had a refund request for the first time in their History. Or can tweet them on their twitter handle @theresortmumbai..

I would love to write all the names that I have been talking to but I shall refrain as some of them might be decent human beings but JUST can’t be bothered to do their work, or do what they are being paid for and understand How they are harassing me … I had first thought of publishing all the emails that I had sent but I thought otherwise , this should be enough of a wake up call for them .. BUT THEN DO YOU THINK THEY ARE INTERESTED .. NA

Any help will be greatly appreciated, If anyone of you can go and pick the cheque it would be great, I would prefer giving the cheque to some charity or just throw it in the bin , rather than have these bunch of CROOKS keep it .. A Week more and it will be 3 MONTHS of harassment caused by the so called Prestigious hotel. They are worst then the politicians even they have some shame .

Comments
  1. When I faced this kind of problem with an airline, I took up the matter with the Managing Director, who passed it on to the COO. The COO tried giving me some lame excuses, but I persisted and the grievance was redressed in a couple of weeks.

    I suggest you contact the top boss of K. Raheja group in Mumbai. If you like, I will try to get you the name and contact details.

    Like

    • B. M. says:

      YEs please if you can, I have tried everything , The amount for the 3 days of stay is not that much but its just the way these guys have been behaving. I have probably spent more on the phone calls and My time now.. Its just the attitude these guys have . I mean dont they have any shame , who appoints the people ..

      if you can get me the details , I can call this top boss tooo…

      Like

  2. privytrifles says:

    It’s a shame to read such an email Bik… this shows the standards of our hospitality and please don’t go light on them. They deserve such treatment for dealing with a guest in such a callous manner….Would love to be of any help to you that I can in this matter.

    Like

    • B. M. says:

      I know. and to make matters worse look at the english used .. I am not that good but I can write better english, i bet 🙂

      and heyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy I just read a review of a book and you are an author WOWOWWOWOWW.. let me email you ..

      Like

  3. Phew! too many complications just to cancel a reservation :-/

    Like

  4. What a shame never knew our hospitality industry is in such terrible shape !

    Like

    • B. M. says:

      Well No comments, I have written a whole article now he he he he

      WHat makes me mad is when they know there is a problem in their online cancellation then SHould they not be making an EXTRA effort to resolve the issur..

      just carelessness

      Like

  5. asha says:

    This is the state of affairs in most industries related to service like even Bank, cell phone customer care etc., Even i don’t let them go scot free even if the amount is 1re just for the same reason as you have stated. Very callous work attitude,

    Like

  6. “Customer care” is one reason why I try and avoid buying anything expensive. If I face some problem with the product or service, I will just abandon it and get a new one – from somewhere else, of course. As you pointed out, our time and efforts have a value and I don’t want to waste that.

    Fortunately, I have not had to face any technical problems in the warranty period for electronic gadgets – I have heard many horror stories about the customer care or lack of it, for these gadgets.

    Destination Infinity

    Like

  7. pixie says:

    yikes!! What a terrible terrible experience!! Gosh! And here, one would think that the slightly “bigger” hotels manage their reservations better!!
    I hope this gets sorted out soon Biks..

    Like

  8. Bindu says:

    “Not just a resort. The Resort!
    Your escape from reality …”- no wonder it seemed a nightmare!

    Like

  9. Dilip says:

    This kind of a pathetic response and poor service must be given the widest publicity! At least the potential customers will be forewarned 😦
    Thanks for this eyeopener!

    Like

    • B. M. says:

      IT just seems they are not bothered .. I mean the PA of the general manager has a attitude like that.. how can you question the floor manager or lobby manager .. She was not interested at allll ..

      Like

  10. Saru Singhal says:

    It happens. That’s why I never book online and pay in India. I call hotel, ask for discounts which they give no matter what high sounding story they claim in first call. Sorry to hear about your experience.

    Like

    • B. M. says:

      Good I need to start doing that for sure .. not trust indian brands ..but the worst is then people says oh he is from uk so has a big nose blah blah .. I wonder why now 🙂

      Like

  11. sm says:

    hi
    sorry to know about this incident
    Do not expect you will get money easily this is India you know it
    send them email saying you will file a consumer case as well as criminal complaint against them and you may get back your money

    Like

    • B. M. says:

      well fingers crossed SM.. I am going to wait for a week , as the tweet say after that I will go to consumer case .. the amount of harassment they have caused

      Like

  12. padmaja says:

    Refunds never happen in India as far as I have experienced, online transactions mostly fail! The other day my son paid for a cake to be delivered to me here and it never turned up! I called and asked and they said they didnt receive payment, where as my son was debited the amount :-((

    Like

    • B. M. says:

      ohhhh.. I had that problem with a flower company sent flowers to my parents for their anniversary , never arrived 🙂 and money gone

      Like

  13. jaishvats says:

    What a harrassment Bikram or rather what poor management!
    Things like these started only after this stupid online systems and credit cards started. Otherwise you would just pay in cash when you checked out . Sigh ! Effects of technology!

    Like

  14. Oh my! that is horrible!. In these times when everything is going virtual it is difficult to deal with such people. I am always dicey about making reservations online for this very reason only, you never know when they will start giving you a hard time. I guess for sometime now going the traditional way is a better opiton.

    Like

    • B. M. says:

      yeah , everything should be streamlined and should have minimum human interference but not so the story in our nation sadly.
      I have also felt that if you pay in advance this happens , next time I will book only and pay when I check out .. much easier

      Like

  15. ambikasingh2 says:

    Why don’t you write to Mumbai Mirror?

    Like

  16. surindernath says:

    An ideal case of Indian Hospitality Sir !!

    “Mehmaan aata apni marji se hai
    Par jaata humari marji se hai,
    Book apni marji se karta hai
    Cancel humari marji se karta hai”

    ( Being a guest in India, is essentially, a one way road !! )

    I don’t know when we will realize that we can lose millions because of bad reputation / feedback !!

    Like

  17. Anita says:

    Sorry to read about this harrowing experience.
    It’s excellent when we pay, but not while claiming refunds…
    Hope you get your amount soon. How about Tweeting/emailing with a link of yhis Blog-Post to the CEO/TopBoss of the Hotel?

    Like

    • B. M. says:

      thank you so much Anita and welcome here ..
      it is more like when w pay in adnavce.. NEVER pay in advance is going to be my motto. get your service and then pay.
      I have tweeted and now a few have re tweeted , and put this article on twitter toooo

      Like

  18. Rachna says:

    Ugh! This is just such a nightmare. There is nothing hospitable anymore about the hospitality industry.

    Like

  19. I can understand how frustrated you are, Bikram. These people seem to be too indifferent to their customers. Hope this mail reaches more people.
    Practive Indian’s suggestion sounds good. Act on it. All the best, Bikram! You should not allow them to escape and use your money, whatever the amount is.

    Like

  20. I am really sorry to hear about this. Use more tweets, give a day by day update. They usually don’t like it. Tag MD of the group if he is on twitter,

    Like

    • B. M. says:

      thank you so much and Thank you for tweeting this also .. yayyyyyyyyy 🙂 I will start to do it , just wanted to give them the last week as they mentioned on their tweet..

      Like

  21. Shilpa Garg says:

    Oh My God! What a harrowing experience! Hope you get your refund soon!!

    Like

  22. renu says:

    All the people who are reading this should boycott this resort hotel …we need tot ake these problems seriously and the people who are not doing their work are not decent:)

    Like

  23. the little princess says:

    that must have a harrowing experience…having made to run around like that! I can’t even imagine keeping my cool if something like that ever happened to me…. i do hope they send that cheque over soon….. by the way did u try lodging a complaint with consumer grievance cell? i think it can be done online.

    Like

    • B. M. says:

      YEs and I am still running .. I kept my cool on phone always , guess age brings patience too 🙂

      no i did not check the consumer thing, as I thought I am in uk will anyone bother even ..

      Like

  24. oh God. It was a very painful experience you had Bikram. I faced a similar issue when we went to Hawaii. We finally let it go as I had already called multiple times and I could not go through the effort of calling them again and again.

    Like

  25. Bhavya says:

    Sheesh! What a horrific experience you have had!

    Like

  26. Amit Agarwal says:

    Oh what a shame to a facility in business which boasts of hospitality!
    Great idea to expose them thru your blog Bikram. I shall call them up soon on your behalf.
    Wish I could do more…

    Like

    • B. M. says:

      I know Amit sir. .. Hopefully others wont have to go through this .. Sir ji reading about this and telling someone what happened will do that job 🙂

      Like

  27. divrj says:

    oh my god.. thats really irritating…

    Like

  28. Anita Menon says:

    This is terrible. Really bad on part of the hotel to be so unresponsive. In the hospitality business customer service is everything.

    Like

  29. Now this is why I hate calling even the customer care executives these days. They tend to confuse and hang up before letting you complete. This was really the worst thing I heard about this. I pledge that I would never book that hotel in my life.

    Like

    • B. M. says:

      They do that because they are not personally responsible and can go home and sleep soundly.. unlike the person who has lost hard earned money..

      maybe if they are made answerable they will soon know how to handle the calls 🙂

      Like

  30. Hell, what a mess! This happens in almost all the sectors.

    Like

  31. Dilip says:

    Thanks for the update Bikram. It is indeed heartening though what you went through is unforgivable!

    Like

  32. Good to know that this post and twitter msg. got positive results! All the best, Bikram!

    Like

  33. What a horrible experience, Bikram! This is a reputed resort, too. Shame on them!
    Glad to know about the favourable- though very, very, late- outcome. 🙂

    Like

    • B. M. says:

      yeah , well I think reputable places dont bother as they think they are too big , and someone will not take them on ..

      and regarding the favourable outcome .. well wait and see what happenes 🙂

      Like

  34. RED HANDED says:

    This happened with me with a resort in Varkala. SIGH! Made atleast 50 calls to get the money back!! Glad you got the money back.

    Like

    • B. M. says:

      yeah I am glad toooo .. after three Almost months .. I got something .. but whats worst is they dont even acknowledge they were wrong ..

      Like

  35. Ashwini says:

    Oh Goodness.. I’ve gone through a similar situation when I ordered something online. the product I ordered was out of stock but was was still shown as available on the site and that is how I went ahead and ordered it making full payment. Later about 2 days after the order I receive an email stating that the product is out of stock so either I can buy something else or the money will be reversed. However when I chose the latter , the story continued….

    Like

    • B. M. says:

      ooops .. not good not good .. you should write about it .. and name them.. name and shame works.. I did not hear anything till i Tweeted, and suddenly they replied to me and now wanted to know if the cheque has come .. etc etc .. but what is hilarious is still no apology or any concern.. they are not bothered i guess.

      Like

  36. kinmin says:

    Good to know that things are finally resolved now Bikram!

    Like

  37. heerman says:

    its hard to get money back from indians I m into business ask me..I deal with indian suppliers..
    people literally cry for pennies .. and refund? no way ..
    its jus these white people are more hard as law comes inn ..its fear of law..
    so make fake websites ..so many fake identities .. so much fraud online ..its scary//
    the key: google n check ..check reviews .. that might work.. but not all the time.

    Like

  38. AdiC says:

    Oh God! This is a disaster! I feel sorry you had to go through so much at the hand of some lazy, disinterested Indians… Hopefully, you will ultimately get your refund back. Do keep us updated. 🙂

    Like

    • Bikramjit says:

      Heyyyy.. Welcome here and good to see you here.

      Thank you so much, well the update is that i have got the cheque from them but now got a problem with my bank .. so another post coming up .. please do read another RANT 🙂

      Like

  39. Khushboo says:

    The best way to shake up companies and force them to take notice of you is to put up a post on Facebook or Twitter. Public shaming is the only way to ensure quick action. I’ve tried it successful on numerous occasions. I really feel sorry for your ordeal but I am glad you got the cheque 🙂

    Like

    • Bikramjit says:

      yeah , I have realised that for sure .. they did nothing for more than 9 weeks and when i went on to twitter immediately i got a response …

      well the ordeal has gone furthur.. hope you read the latest post 🙂

      Like

  40. dnambiar11 says:

    Oh my!!

    Like

  41. myblog1962 says:

    That’s terrible … since I hopped in after reading yr lateast post I believe u gt the chk 🙂

    Like

  42. pathetic .. feel sorry for you .. such mistakes only makes sense if we learn from them and do not repeat them again to make some1 suffer the heat …

    Like

  43. i am saying from resort’s perspective … it was their mistake 🙂

    Like

  44. Pilgrim says:

    Understanding the glory of the British Raj in India RT @IndiaHistorypic 1943 :: Bengal Famine http://t.co/XJhzdim6Pc— Sankrant Sanu (@sankrant) June 01, 2014

    Like

  45. Haha, “wrote on twitter and blogged”…dude I guess you forgot how India works…Next time do it immediately 😛
    PS: How’s life paaji..?? this corporate culture is trying to kill my social life 😛

    Like

  46. stranger says:

    Good post. I had a similar experience with a paid channel. Due to a glitch in the online payment scheme my friend paid for me until 2018. He was intending to pay only for 3 years – until 2015. He contacted them to return the money but they refused. After couple of emails he told me what happened.
    I wrote to them the next day itself but the staff replied they cannot reimburse the money. I wrote couple of emails too to whomever they directed and finally I got wild. I sent a strong letter threatening to file case with consumer protection and with in two days they returned the money to the bank account of my friend.
    I am glad your ordeal too ended happily… let us hope they give you the corrected cheque soon…

    Like

Please do give your views good or bad whatever it is .. do let me know your views..

