Musical Mondays (18).. Remember when you were in 8th or 9th class

Posted: March 12, 2012 in Friends Forever, Funny Life, Good times, Memories, Musical Monday, Nostalgic
Tags: , , , , ,

I was talking to a friend of mine who told me that for some time now I have not been putting the musical Mondays post ..  I thought, I will start all over again the series, Will put songs that are my favourites and those that I listen every now and then ..

The first one that came to my mind was this song , It reminds me because I was in Bsc first year when I had heard this one at a friend’s place in panchkula india , on one of those BIG cassette players , this was the only song on the cassette, I immediately made a copy of it..  Those friends are not there with me now, we have all moved and parted ways to pursue our careers , The guy I took the song from is in australia somewhere ..

It seems to be a sad song but an emotional one too.. Have a listen and tell me does it not remind you of your childhood days , those friends that have parted .. wish I can rewind it back to meet them all once again .. wherever you are all of you God bless you all … Take care of yourself people ..

To all the Friends that we have parted with …

I have made some beautiful friends, I love you and think of all of you everyday .. This is also for all my blogger friends who have become part of family now.. Thanks for being there

Goodbye to you my trusted friend
we’ve known each other since we were nine or ten
together we’ve climbed hills and trees
learned of love and ABCs skinned our hearts and skinned our knees

Goodbye my friend it’s hard to die
When all the birds are singing in the sky now that the spring is in the air
pretty girls are everywhere
Think of me and I’ll be there

We had joy, we had fun, we had seasons in the sun but the hills that we climbed were just seasons out of time

Goodbye Papa, please pray for me
I was the black sheep of the family
You tried to teach me right from wrong
Too much wine and too much song
Wonder how I got along.

Goodbye Papa, it’s hard to die
When all the birds are singing in the sky
Now that the spring is in the air
Little children everywhere
When you see them I’ll be there.
We had joy, we had fun
We had seasons in the sun
But the wine and the song
Like the seasons have all gone.
We had joy, we had fun
We had seasons in the sun
But the wine and the song
Like the seasons have all gone.

Goodbye Michelle, my little one
You gave me love and helped me find the sun
And every time when I was down
You would always come around And get my feet back on the ground.

Goodbye Michelle, it’s hard to die
When all the birds are singing in the sky Now that the spring is in the air
With the flowers everywhere
I wish that we could both be there.
We had joy, we had fun We had seasons in the sun But the stars we could reach Were just starfish on the beach.
We had joy, we had fun We had seasons in the sun But the stars we could reach Were just starfish on the beach.
We had joy, we had fun We had seasons in the sun But the wine and the song Like the seasons have all gone
All our lives we had fun We had seasons in the sun But the hills that we climbed Were just seasons out of time

Seasons in the Sun” was a worldwide hit song for Terry Jacks in 1974.

HAVE A GREAT WEEK AHEAD FOLKS … enjoy…

Here is a question.. Who did you remember Listening to the song .. Tell me , did it remind you of someone special , a long lost friend , or of those beautiful days .. Go on Share it with us all.. Its always good to remember the Good days .. Keep smiling people

Comments
  1. Ria says:

    Those were the good old days…girls were crazy for boy bands like Westlife. 🙂 My fav boy band was Backstreet Boys. 😀 Thats a lovely song btw…sung by Westlife.

    Like

  2. Padmaja says:

    Such a lovely post Bikram! It is a beautiful song and as a coincidence, I had been missing my best friend too much these days.. my son and it brought me joy, thanks 🙂

    Like

    • Bikram says:

      Thank you so much. I miss them all the time and I think WHY did they all decide to go to USA or Australia or Canada WHY could they not settle in UK, We would have had such a BLASTtttttttttttttt 🙂

      Where is your son these days, what does he do .. Take care

      Like

  3. Ashwathy says:

    I remembered my school days. These were some of the most remembered and hummed songs during those times 🙂

    Like

    • Bikram says:

      YEah .. the good old school days .. I wonder where are all those people now .. what are they doing and sometimes AS i am thinking of them DO I even exist in their memories .. or am i the only idiot.. makes me wonder sometimes ..

      Like

      • Ashwathy says:

        Well I am in touch with a lot of them, we have reunions on and off. And the remaining I keep knowing through facebook or friends of friends. So I don’t really have to wonder. 🙂

        It’s when you grow out of touch with a person and suddenly a song reminds you of him/her that the memories come flooding back…

        Like

        • Bikram says:

          Lucky you.. I was in hostel during school days , so we all belonged to various places. once 10th class got over we all moved to different prts for college .

          and then I came ot uk and none of them came here , all left to other countries So i am left alone 🙂 I generally get memories coming my way ..

          facebook is ok but i am not regular there tooo , 🙂

          Like

  4. Is this week about ‘good old days’? As I’ve had two old friends get in contact with me in the last few days – it brought back old memories of college and University when I chatted to them. I find here Bikram you are on the same wavelength and writing about similar things – how strange.

    Like

    • Bikram says:

      🙂 what a cooincidence… Excellent good to hear you met up with old friends… WOW

      I wish i could meed with them tooo.. although I am in touch with majority of my college friends … and we meet very often…

      Like

  5. DI says:

    This song is very important to me too, mainly cos it was pretty much my initiation to english music! I accept, the boy bands are nowhere close to mainstream music which people love, but honestly, the lyrics of the song were the first few I ever memorised, or understood, and loved!
    Thanks for reminding, been a long time 🙂

    Like

    • Bikram says:

      :). I put the boy band song as its a bit modern and i have put the original one too..

      Same here I had this song memorised .. You are always welcome DI 🙂

      Like

  6. Puja says:

    I love this song too!!! Reminds me of my school days and the craze for these cute boy bands!!

    Like

  7. Life Begins says:

    Beautiful song….
    but now i am misisng all my friends and everyone a lot more 😦

    Like

  8. kavita says:

    Beautiful song ! You took me back to my college days. I fondly remember this as a group of Mizo girls of our hostel used to sing it often , one of them played great guitar.

    Like

  9. Nice song, especially the chorus. These days, I feel so happy that many of my ‘friends’ have parted ways with me.

    Destination Infinity

    Like

  10. Rachna says:

    Lovely song! Can’t think of any long lost friend. That is one benefit of FB :).

    Like

  11. Harish says:

    Great song…

    Like

  12. Yuvika says:

    aah the good ol’ days – love the song!

    Like

  13. Bindu John says:

    Thanks for refreshing those memories and songs, Bikram. Sweet song!

    Like

  14. Anu says:

    Hey thats a nice song.I sang that song when my viva external for computer science subject in 12th std(boards!) asked me to sing after asking a few viva questions 😀

    Like

  15. manchitra says:

    Hello Bikram,,,You are such a sweet person you still remember you friends and old days.I think men are good in maintaining their old friendship than women. My husband and son are still in touch with their old friends and I have only 2-3 in my list.

    Like

    • Bikram says:

      Chitra mam, yes I do its those days that have made me what I am now ..
      YEs i guess men havea advantage becasue usually we dont change places while women i guess get married and move on .. that is one point.

      I hope that list has my name too in it he he he he

      Like

  16. Cynosure says:

    friends are the best part of life… :O
    nice songs… 🙂

    Like

  17. Oh my lord!! I love Westlife, BSB, NKOTB… etc.. Grew up with a teenage crush 😉

    Like

  18. Anita Menon says:

    I used to listen to this song over and over again. Awesome!

    Like

  19. i haven’t heard this song till date Veer ji…but after eading this post, i’ve downloaded it…its too late now in india so will listen it tomo for sure…

    and very nice blog, loved the honesty with which it was written….now am aware of musical mondays too 😛

    you too have a great week ahead !

    rahul

    Like

    • Bikram says:

      Bai ji, Suno this is a good song but then it all depends on taste 🙂 do let me know when you have listened to it at home.

      Paaji nice blog is because you lovely people visit me … Thank you..
      hope your week is going on fine

      Like

  20. Punam J R says:

    Hi Bikram, this is one of my favourite songs. A bit wistful, but the words are touching and they kind of ring true. To answer ur question, I only remember that I did not have friends back then. So, it was like, just me and my world. I used to come back home in the afternoon from college and listen to these songs on TV. This was one of them.
    Your friends are a lucky lot, for they have a nice friend in you.

    Like

  21. Comfy says:

    I used to listen to the original song growing up all the time. Used to love it. 🙂 Brings back so many memories..some sad, some happy. But most reminds me of the people I have lost.

    Like

    • Bikram says:

      Thank you comfy. yes memories that maybe you shud share with us all 🙂 what say.
      people move on , I have lost touch with so many peoiple tooo dont know where they are what they are doing …

      Like

  22. NRIGirl says:

    Haven’t had a chance to listen yet; will let you know.

    Like

  23. jennygoth666 says:

    great post bikram be singing it now before i sleep helps the cats chorus lol i cant sing have a lovely week xxjen

    Like

  24. Vaish says:

    I love WESTLIFE! Like these lines..”Goodbye Papa, it’s hard to die
    When all the birds are singing in the sky
    Now that the spring is in the air
    Little children everywhere
    When you see them I’ll be there”

    Like

  25. I love this song and your post reminded me of my college friend. We lost touch with her. 😦

    Thanks for the song 🙂

    Like

  26. Pixie says:

    The first song is simply amazing! 🙂
    I heard the second one for the first time and loved it! 🙂
    Thank you for sharinng them 🙂

    Like

  27. Ruprekha says:

    Lovely ! Thanks for reminding me of the wonderful days listening to those songs on air or on the stereo music system we owned. Maa would be so cross sometimes and ask us to reduce the volume. Wonder how lovely it would be if I had the head phones or an ipod or what not my children are used to these days listening to all the songs they love, yet not disturbing us.

    Like

    • Bikram says:

      🙂 I know , I had that big hi fi with speakers and all , and i was allowed half an hour when i was getting ready for my college in my room , to put the volume high.. and still dad would shout at me 🙂

      no head phones and ipod dont give that much fun as that little round knob turning the volume UP :)…

      Like

  28. garima says:

    You made me nostalgic..wish we could relive the past once.

    Like

  29. Sapna says:

    Awesome. Seasons in the Sun is one of my all time favorites 🙂

    Like

  30. Bhavia says:

    You brought back my memories about my school friend.She used sing this song like her anthem but I kinda lost touch with her 😦
    Thank you!!

    Like

  31. Androgoth says:

    Yes that song is a rather old one but nicely added
    for all of your friends here in WordPress Bikram, and,
    and hey are you accepting my invite or what? 🙂 lol
    You won’t be abkle to get inside me Space unless it
    is accepted, now if you have misplaced the invite it
    is just a matter of asking me for access the next time
    you visit my Space 🙂 Have a fine day today Bikram 🙂

    Androgoth

    Like

  32. sm says:

    seasons in the sun
    beautiful song i also love it

    Like

  33. Sara no "H" says:

    Awe, that is so nice. It’s hard parting ways but it’s nice while they are there.

    Like

  34. Deboshree says:

    The words are so lovely! Thank you for sharing this Bikram… it has brought quite a flurry of thoughts to my mind. Those were the days. 🙂

    Like

  35. Tanishka says:

    Nice song… 🙂 I heard it for the first time today…

    Like

  36. My Era says:

    I love this song…it brought to me many beautiful memories of my college days 😀

    Like

  37. alka narula says:

    one of my fav bikram , though hadnt heard for some time now ..thanks for sharing !

    Like

  38. eva626 says:

    i actually never listened to these! …thanks for the share Bik

    Like

  39. Bindu says:

    One of my old favorites too, so many nostalgic memories…..

    Like

  40. Ashwini C N says:

    I haven’t heard this song. but when I went through the lyrics, I was reminded of my really close friends, whom I’m missing a lot 😐

    Like

  41. anuglyhead says:

    It is one of my fav tracks….classic!!
    Another song that I hav cried is “LUTHER VANDROSS- DANCE WITH MY FATHER”

    Like

  42. Novroz says:

    I loooove this song!!!! Both the original and the westlife version.

    Years aga I didnt think of anything when I listened to the song, I just loved the rhytm…but now, I remember my mom and Kame 😦

    Like

  43. Andy says:

    Hello.
    Thanks for the trip down nostalgia lane with this song. I’ll be humming it all day now!
    Have a great weekend, my friend!

    Like

  44. that’s a beautiful song. there is something cool about those boy bands

    Like

  45. Jacqueline says:

    Hummmmmm…….you sure know how to bring back a lot of oldddddd memories of the people we loved and who loved us toooo

    the song has definately brough back a lot of old memories of my father and favourite uncle, the parties we used to have with all our family friends….those were the good old days

    tks bikram

    Like

  46. Onkar says:

    The first one is very touching indeed

    Like

  47. thank you for sharing this videop Veer ji…am so very much in love with this song!

    Like

  48. radha says:

    Yes, the song always made me sad. 1974 – would mean I was 18 then and even now the song has the same effect. I can still remember the room where I heard this song the first time on my transistor radio probably broadcast from Radio Sri Lanka! ( or was it still Ceylon?)

    Like

  49. Iqra says:

    This is really a beautiful post, showing longing for friends. The old songs always have this special effect on us. Have a great day 🙂

    Like

  50. Reema says:

    why a goodbye song for blogger friends!! we are still here!

    Like

Please do give your views good or bad whatever it is .. do let me know your views..

