Love, Adventure & Miracle

Posted: January 15, 2012 in Blogging, Contest, Do Something Mad., Experiences, First sight, FriendShip, Life, Sweet, Women
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

I had NCC in college Air Wing. We had a Vayu-Sainik Camp which was to be held in Lucknow. Prior to that, a Pre-Vayu Sainik camp was held in Ludhiana, Punjab, where contingents from all over Punjab and Haryana participated where we were to be selected to represent Punjab.We boarded a train from Ludhiana to Lucknow.  As it so happened, it was the time when the Ayodhya problem was going on. The trains were filled up with people going to Ayodhya. We found that our bogey was already full of such people and no one agreed to give us space to sit, although we had the bogey all booked. So, what happened next,  happened in a jiffy.Someone pushed my friend Babbar and everything went haywire. The whole group of cadets went berserk. We threw each one of those guys out of the bogey to reclaim our berths. And so started the adventure, on the journey towards Lucknow.

Early morning, the train stopped at a place called Bareilly.It was a bit cold and the tea vendors came serving tea in earthen pots. Mahipal is another friend of mine who is very naughty and pulls pranks every now and then. Well, he was sitting on the berth next to the door.He was ordering tea for everybody. We all thought Mahipal is being very hearty buying tea for everyone, little did we know of his plan. Well, the train blew the horn, ready to move, and we could hear the guy arguing with him over some money. As the train started to move, we could hear the tea guy saying “Babu ji, paisa de do.. Nahin to acha nahin hoga”(give me the money or it wont be good for you)… but Mahipal did not budge. As the train caught speed, we could not believe what the tea man did!  He filled a couple of cups with HOT TEA and threw it inside at us!!! And NOW, Mahipal had no SMILE, he was actually in pain where the hot tea had spilt on him. I would have loved to have a Camera at that time to take some pictures of full of Pain Mahipal 🙂

Just got over this episode, when we found that one of the cadets, oh bless! I have forgotten his name let’s call him “A”, he was found hanging for dear life at the door of the next bogey. We could see him banging the door, but no one was opening it. It was scary and we tried pulling the chain but the train would not stop. We were shouting, screaming but a moving train no one could listen. Then someone had the idea of waving red clothes, we had our shirts, tees, turbans all red-coloured,  waving outside. We crossed a few stations and about half an hour later, the train started to slow down. The moment it stopped, each one of us rushed out,shouting for the people in the next bogey to open the doors.. The train guard – the driver all came over.. We found that the next bogey was full of Army personnel and they had a lot of ammunition in the bogey. They didn’t open the door fearing they were being attacked! HOW STUPID THE EXCUSE SEEMS!!  (Thinking now had we got mobile phones we could have rung the emergency people or the police , to alert them about what was going on , It could have ended in a tragedy this little episode.)

Finally we reached Lucknow station to find out that the city was under curfew. We had nowhere to go, there were so many people on the platform. We took a corner, put all our luggage and stuff and sat waiting for some news. An hour or so later, we saw Mahipal come running with a couple of dozens of bananas. “Eat them, eat them.. hurry!!!”, he started to change his clothes while we had the bananas. Then we saw a man come with a big can, to tell us the story that he had been conned into selling bananas in exchange for 5 ltr can of kerosene oil .What had happened was Mahipal had found an empty kerosene canister, filled it with water, obviously the upper layer was full of oil. Hence the barter was made and the poor man, pranked. 😀

So, the adventure continued for the next 20 days in Lucknow which was under curfew, while our camp was in the army area. But more fun started when the girls’ contingent arrived. Each day after 5pm, the whole lot of us would make sure to have a bath and get ready in our best clothes to impress the girls. IT was in that camp that I first saw a beautiful girl. It was love at first sight, at least from my side :). 50% I was in …

After the initial few days of doing the typical boy thing walking around her, making sure I was there when she came out of girls camp site, the whole camp almost knew about this. I am sure she knew it too, although she denied knowing it. I was trying every possible way to get to talk to her but never got an opportunity something or the other always came in between. It was typical Bollywood scenes.

We were the bad boys of the camp, ended up in so many fights with other boys to prove that Punjab boys were the strongest. One day,we had this massive fight with the Agra boys. We had a boy on floor, me on top of him in a duel, and guess who comes by, SHE!  The Camp Commandant gets to hear about our heroics, well it was heroics then, so what happens he calls me and Babbar to have a word with him, and IT HAD TO BE right in front of the Girls Camp gate!  The CC is shouting at us.. he goes onto say “You with the RED Jacket, who do you think you are, You hit me 20 times I will not fall down But If I give you one punch, you will go flying”.. I HAD TO LAUGH AT THE DIALOGUE.. because I was almost 6ft, well-built and this guy was about 5ft 4inches, thin, Oh I so wanted to punch the living daylights out of him. AT THAT precise moment, the girl’s dinner bell goes, out comes SHE, watching me shouted at.

I have never felt so embarrassed in my life! I am sure she wished she had a camera to take a quick picture of me at that time 🙂

Soon, all the girls – even the ones from Chandigarh contingent stopped talking to us.

On the last day of the camp, we had a cultural show. The boys were performing the Bhangra, the girls had their Gidha, after our performance we were all standing together when my friends started to push me towards her, it was out in the open. I finally got the courage to go up to her and proposed to her the typical Punjabi style .. “I want to be fraaannds with you”  To which she replied we are already friends ..OH now what… I blurted “No not that way, the other way” 🙂 …she walked away I did not see her again that evening.

Next day we were to take the trains back to Punjab, I tried my level best to look for her, she was nowhere to be found, It was turmoil, my Sargent was shouting at me to hurry , in the end with a heavy heart thinking this is it I jumped in the last truck ferrying us to the station. My love story finished before it started…

We reached the station to find that there were two trains that we were booked on. Our train was at about 3pm, the girls’ train was at about 5pm. I was waiting, fingers crossed that there was still a chance to see her but luck was running away. Meanwhile, Mahipal was at his tricks, he was going around collecting money to go and buy some kebabs. Sometime later, he returned with them. As we had the first kebab, he made a comment saying they are beef … oooops with so many people into religion, we could see them trying to vomit it all out and GUESS what more kebabs for us.

As I was feasting on the kebab, Babbar told me “she” wants to talk to me, Oh my god, I went up to “HER”, there she was smiling, I didn’t know what to say when she handed me something gift wrapped,  (The reason I could not see her all day was because she was running around for a gift  for me .. awwww  (I know) ) ..  I was gob smacked did not know what to say, Opened the present it said “Dear Bikram .. Lots of Love R”..  That was a MIRACLE.. How did it happen , why did it happen ..

I don’t remember what we talked or what I even said. But I was the happiest person on that platform, I remember sitting on one those army trunks talking for so long. My friends making funny faces at us, while her friends kept doing the same to her.

Then came the time to board the trains,  I did not want to go, so I went to Babbar and told him I Want to go in the next train, he was like how is it possible, We found out that 10 boys of Ambala contingent were going in the same bogey as the girls (lucky devils, i cursed the person who had booked out tickets). We talked to their Sergeant but he would not budge saying do what we may, we will not be allowed to go in the girls’ bogey.

oooops…

I was not going to give up, First time in my life some girl had liked me, was talking to me , so now the race started to find someone to swap my place, but no one would agree. Who would want to do that, go with boys when they could go with such lovely beautiful girls in the same bogey… So we had to do what we had to do.

The 3pm train started to move… We caught hold of  two guys from Ambala , dragged them to our bogey, where they were kept hold of. Both the trains were to pass the station at Bareilly, the idea was at Bareilly, the idea was I will get down there, wait for the second train to come, board it and be with HER.  It would be dark, hopefully the Sergeant won’t see me enter the bogey.

Bareilly station came I got down with a friend, waited for the second train to come, then started looking for the bogey… suddenly I heard a voice “Bikram”… oh bless the sweetest voice.. another MIRACLE She had kept a seat for me next to her’s… we talked and talked the whole night, the next day… we both expressed our love for each other. So that’s how my LOVE started.

Wish in those days we had the luxury of Mobile phones or Cameras, to take pictures it would have been so beautiful to have captured those moments in camera, or the mobile phone would have come very handy when trying to figure out what bogey she was sitting in. Today, everything has become so easy, with the Internet and smart phones making love easier than before. But those times were difficult times, and who knows how many such love stories must be floating in the hearts of many a people like me.

This post is a part of Love-Adventure-Miracle contest by BlogAdda contests in association with Zapstore.com

Comments
  1. What a nice story, and you was a bit of a warrior.

    Like

    • Bikram says:

      I think when i came to college i changed, before that in school i was a scary cat and was bullied and what not .. plus i madea lot of good friends who stood by me always in good and bad times

      Like

  2. DEEPAK KARTHIK says:

    haha that was a nice write up from Mr.Hero saab 🙂
    DeepaK

    Like

  3. Loved the love story. Could you get united for life?

    Like

  4. irfan says:

    oye-hoye Paa Ji……LOVE @ 1st SIGHT 🙂

    and i am eagerly waiting for the sequel of this love story now…… 🙂

    Best wishes for the contest…….!!!

    Like

  5. R's Mom says:

    hahaha! thats such a sweet story..errr….so whats the ending?

    Like

  6. My era says:

    Absolutely loved the story…more so cause it is a true story.

    I am dying to know what happened next….

    You are very right, technology has changed life, relations and basically everything about life in general.

    Good luck for the contest 🙂

    Like

    • Bikram says:

      Thank you so much, What happened next well its a long story will put it up for sure soon .. This here stopped at ambala station where i got down to leave for chandigahr and she had to carry on to go to her station .. but next in next installement 🙂

      Thank you for the iwshes

      Like

  7. Right out of a Hindi Movie with all the twists and turns and adequate amount of drama 🙂 🙂
    and you are so smart to have let the story hang in between for people to ask more 😛

    Like

  8. zradar says:

    that is such an adventurous and movie-ish love story….but have you ever asked her what made her suddenly like you? there should be some charishma in your personality,am sure..god bless you bikram…

    Like

  9. You were pretty adventurous… Down south, people are so reserved. Its good to see the differences via these episodes. Keep writing…

    Destination Infinity

    Like

  10. simran kaur says:

    Wow!
    Sweet love story with adventures and fun! 🙂

    Pucho na yaar kya hua,
    Dil ka karaar kya hua..
    Tumpe to hum mar mite hain abhi se..
    jaane humara aage kya hoga 😀

    Punjabiyaan di shaan vakhri.. 😀

    Like

  11. A beautiful … sweet story …
    Wish the journey continued ……
    Would actually like to know what happened then, is it possible ? 🙂

    Like

  12. Writing Jobs says:

    This was a very nice post. I enjoyed reading your blog today very much.

    Love to write?

    Check out these Writing Jobs

    Like

  13. Yuvika says:

    that is some adventure – perfect recipe with love thrown in 🙂

    Like

  14. jennygoth says:

    that was a really good read thankyou so much for visits im feeling better every day slowly but getting my old self back have a lovely week xxjen

    Like

  15. bikram so funny you r!
    fraaand ..episode seems to have really kicked you out..I dont blame you buddy …;)
    n I mus say ..
    “pange tsi kaafi liteh hai”
    …..

    Like

    • Bikram says:

      pange lain di umar si oho 🙂

      haanji Fraand hi kiha.. je punjab hunda taan morotcycle bilkul kol ja be break maarni si te.. Moustache nu WATA de ke kehna si 🙂 si luckhnow taan eho kehna piya he he he he

      Like

  16. I so loved your post and experience of feelings… My heart was skipping when you were to change trains and it missed a beat where she called your name.

    Today modern technology has made life so much easier but in those days it wasn’t so easy.

    Ek gana yad aya… Hogaya hai tujko pyar sajana…

    Like

    • Bikram says:

      I hope the judges also find it that way he he hehe 🙂

      Modern technology has been a blessing indeed ..

      and what a song .. jo yaad aya wah wah 🙂 indeed it was like that

      Like

  17. Indrani says:

    Great presentation.
    All the best!

    Like

  18. Urmi says:

    Very beautiful story. Very well written. Liked it very much.

    Like

  19. Punam J R says:

    You and your heroic tales, Bikram!! What an eventful life you have had. So, is she your wife today??? BOLO BOLO…. we wanna hearr.. all of us!!!
    And its amazing to see the relationship u share with ur friends. Friends hon toh aise.. 🙂

    Like

    • Bikram says:

      as you said TALES .. are no use till turned into reality ..
      I have had a good life god has been kind to me . and about my wife well as you know i dont put anything that personal in my blog , so you will have to wait to know about that for sure.

      and indeed again been blessed with some good friends who wud go to any lengths for me …

      Like

  20. Phatichar says:

    Oh ji Pukka ‘veer zaara’ story hai yaara!! please please post the sequel – actually it’s a mix of veer zaara and love aaj kal (the older Rishi kapoor story) – mazaa aa gaya padh ke. 🙂 Simple style, kept me engrossed till the last letter…kuch romantic movie ka script-wipt likho yaar.

    Like

    • Bikram says:

      ha ha ha Veer zara but they spent all their life almost away from eahc other he he heh 🙂

      Thank you so much.. simple style cause simple si story hai ji .. zayada fook shook nahin hai 🙂

      Like

  21. Seema says:

    “I want to be fraaannds with you” – You proposed her with this line? 😀

    Can’t wait to read the next part. Post soon plz…

    Like

    • Bikram says:

      I wanted to say a lot of things but someone all god bungled up, with people pushing me and all ..

      will psot for sure but you may not like it .. what happened 🙂 he he he

      Like

  22. Ashwathy says:

    This is true-blue Bollywood!! 🙂 I could SO imagine each n every scene!! 😀

    And so what happ??? How when where what?
    Waiting for the continuation……….

    Like

    • Bikram says:

      yayyyyyyyyyyyyyyy haanji imagine kiya na 🙂 gooood

      what happened well patience all in good time 🙂 waiting for some pictures to come from india so i can put them up…

      Like

  23. Anita Menon says:

    Such cute incidents. Thanks for sharing. Mahipal seems like a big big prankster..Enjoyed all his anecdotes

    Like

  24. j says:

    eagerly waiting for the next episode.

    Like

  25. Bhavia says:

    Whoa!!Bikram..
    blush..blush..
    I am trying to imagine how you must have blushed continuously for 2-3 days after being in love 🙂
    I wish there was a camera then 😦

    Like

  26. Ria says:

    thanks for sharing, i love reading all ur experiences and u r quite the brave man! 🙂

    Like

  27. radha says:

    Where is SHE now? And that Mahipal has since then reformed to a better person

    Like

    • Bikram says:

      Where is SHE 🙂 hmmmm welll ok will tell in the post some day ..
      and mahipal well he is still the same , Mera yaar, and is serving the nation in ITBP.. indo tibeten border police …

      Like

  28. Saritha says:

    After this what happened?? love affair continued or not??

    Like

  29. Sapna says:

    Rapchik!!! Awesome adventure and awesome story….

    When are you publishing the sequel??

    Like

  30. rama ananth says:

    A very nice story, I will wait for the continuing part too. I also hope that friend of yours has reformed, what he kept doing was not good at all.
    In everyone’s life something interesting has happened just like the movies.

    Like

    • Bikram says:

      Hmmm yes I will put it up soon.

      well he has reformed now but still gets on toe mischief.. yeah he did do wrong but i guess that was the age and time ot do those stuff…

      Like

  31. I love mushy love story — can’t wait to read the sequel — don’t make us wait too longer 😀

    Good luck in Blogadda 🙂

    Like

  32. What a fun trip…It was packed with every emotion. A perfect plot of a bollywood flick!

    Lovely read and all the best!

    Like

  33. alka says:

    oh this was a verrrryyyyyyy beautiul post….vi got so lost in this post….very well written and very beautiful story

    Like

  34. Rahul says:

    A lovely read! My first visit to your blog and found it extremely interesting!

    Like

  35. Rachna says:

    Balle balle paaji :). Changi story hai. All the best for the contest too.

    Like

  36. Some remarkable recollections of bygone times, with a lot of bravado and gusto, eh? 🙂

    Good write. Keep at it.

    Like

  37. rachit s. says:

    ah han… youth days… and Lucknow there 🙂 loved your narration… memories grow more meaningful with every passing year… more cherished & more profound 🙂

    Weakest LINK

    Like

  38. […] 7)Bikram – Me and My Random Thoughts […]

    Like

  39. […] 7)Bikram – Me and My Random Thoughts […]

    Like

  40. Androgoth says:

    An excellent adventure my friend,
    and I would imagine that hot tea was
    a welcomed sight 🙂

    It is rather chilly here today also…
    Have a great rest of day Bikram 🙂

    Androgoth

    Like

  41. Novroz says:

    Nice story Bik…adventure and love are really visible there. Good luck with the contest.

    I was planning to join in but time was against me

    Like

  42. Shumaila says:

    Sounds like you had quite an adventure during NCC days!
    Nice story,and Mahipal deserved to get hot tea thrown at him! Poor chai wala, stealing from the poor is just so wrong!
    But, I know how it is when a group of young boys get together. My dad has told me about his NDA days. How when they used to come back from NDA special during holidays, all the chai walas, snack walas would pack up their stalls before the NDA special arrived at any station, since none of the cadets would ever pay for the food/chai and would cause havoc at each station. 🙂
    Was fun reading about your memoirs!

    Like

    • Bikram says:

      oh wow.. really i know we had so much in NCC i have three years of storeis and all to tell ..

      I bet ur dad had all the fun in the NDA days .. 🙂 WE thought ourselves ot be 80% in army already as a ncc cadet .. Even to the fact that during curfew days we would put our ncc uniform and g oabout anywhere we wanted and the local policmen would be saluting us 🙂

      I had air wing so I had borrowed my uncles IAF wings, removed the IAF and put it on my uniform as I had done my PPL and was learning flying ..

      Thank you.

      Like

  43. Sakhi says:

    That was so cool… and “fraaands” put a smile on my face and SHE was even better “we already are freiends” 😆 😆

    Like

  44. Deboshree says:

    Very entertaining post Biks!
    All the very best for the contest… 😀

    Like

  45. Veere no offense .. but how did you made that girl for you …?

    may be she liked people with muscle power..did she say why she liked you in that long conversation you had…?

    all the best for the contest…

    rahul

    Like

    • Bikram says:

      Paaji Ehi taan MIRACLE si , ke how cum it happened 🙂

      No she did not tell me why she liked me during the conversation but we had other things to talk , Like how many brothers she has , asre they big – strong etc etc he he he he 🙂

      thank you rahul for the wishes ..

      Like

  46. aneeta says:

    Such a cute story….what about a sequel?

    Like

  47. Mrs. dimpy Nain says:

    nice to read your story after so long.and ur right all of us must be having some story or the other carefully and lovingly preserved in the deep recesses of our heart…

    Like

  48. Jasjeet Kaur says:

    These youth camps were always alive with these kind of encounters….

    Like

  49. Gagan says:

    Bhape ik achhi film ban sakde hai….hahahaha..

    Like

  50. Jerrie says:

    Super Bik , Bik u got to write something …something very interesting ;i will give you the theme soon !!

    Like

  51. Swaranjeet says:

    firstup in morning …awesome read…yes we played a lot of pranks especially in school…

    Like

  52. vikram says:

    Great….lovely

    Like

  53. Praveen singla says:

    limited technology ¿ Unlimited love !! Wat times yar

    Like

  54. Cherry says:

    Balle ballee bik..kiddan yaara…????? NCC ??? gud days…. Patiala camp…raati 2.3 vajjeyy

    Like

    • Bikram says:

      sab yaad hai paaji and yeah that 2oclock at night offcourse 🙂 open air he he he I have blogged about it tooo in a different post will repost it again

      how are you yaaraa , you are very busy these days

      Like

  55. Harmanjot kaur says:

    if u wud have got technology, u wud not have these wonderful moments to cherish and this lovely story to share……..its awesome!!!!

    Like

Please do give your views good or bad whatever it is .. do let me know your views..

