Updates + Musical Monday (15)- Maye ni maye mai ik Shikra yaar banaya

Posted: December 11, 2011 in emails, FriendShip, funnies, Humour, Musical Monday, Village
Tags: , , , , , , ,

The post on My friend Babbar .. well He finally replied back and I am chuffed at what he had to say .. So I thought I would put it here as most of you who had emailed me and commented how he will feel , came out true..

Yaar you really made me weep today. And at the same timemade my day. I love you darling. I really miss you and you are always in myheart, but these emails FB, phone calls are really not my cup of tea. But I amimproving (ha ha ha). Sorry I got late in reading the mail, but it is all myloss. I have always treasured you and our friendship. The world (Our small one)knows about it. Thanks a lot for writing such a nice account of me and ourfriendship. No one has ever made me feel so important, big and rich. I am luckyto have Yaar Anmule like you. You were always my “Jaan”

and will remain so forever. Love you yaar te tu bus aaja.We will relive our good old days. Cheeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeers!

Babbar

***************************************************************************

The picture post of the lovely lady dressed in White…

This is what I got with the picture

– For young men, it’s a picture of a lady with a nice arse but only the most observant will notice that she is crossing a street.

– The really observant will notice that she is wearing a thong.

– For older men, she appears to be a respectable woman – with a nice butt on her way to work.

– Wiser men will ponder the presence of mind of the photographer to take the shot in the face of such beauty and be grateful that they shared it with humanity.

– For half of the women, this is an ordinary woman who should not have left home dressed that way.

– The other half will think and wonder where she bought that blouse.

-Older women will imagine the misery that the woman’s BUTT will cause by the time she reaches 50.

– But only children, the extremely intelligent and the celibate will notice that the taxi is being driven by a dog.

(SO you want to go back and check your replies he he he he he )  🙂

***************************************************************************

Leave you with a Song..  doing a Musical Monday after Ages 🙂

A golden Punjabi by none other but the best Shiv Kumar Batalvi.. Hope you all like it ..  I would request all those who don’t understand panjabi to do a search and find the meaning .. I can assure it is worth the hassle doing it.. One of India’s best poets although as usual when he was alive not many knew of him, sung by another of India’s best the King of Ghazals Late Jagjit singh..

I can put the lyrics but I can’t do justice to the words so don’t know how to do any translation .. If anyone out there knows Punjabi well then Please do so for all of us to enjoy it better ..

I have got a translation hope it helps … but please anyone else out there who can do more justice Please do so …

Maye Ni Maye, Main Ek Shikra Yaar Banaya,mother hey mother I befriended a hawk   (shikra =Hawk)

ohde Sir De Kalgi, Te pairi Jhanjhar, te O Chog Chuginda Aaya,  plume on his head, n bells on his feet, he came pecking 4 grain  (kalgi=plume, Chog=grain , chuginda = pecking)

Ek ohde Roop Dee Dhup Teekheri, te Dooja Mehka Da Tirhaya,  one his beauty was as sharp as sun  and 2nd  was thirsty fragrance

Teeja ohda Rang Gulabi, ho Kise Gori Maa Da Jaya,  3rd his color was the color of rose , He was born from a fair mother

Ishqe Da Ek Palang Nawari, ve Assan Channania vich daya, Tann Di Chaaddar Ho Gayi Maili, Os Pair Ja Palgi Paya,  i laid a bed of love , in the moonlight, my body sheet was stained the instant he laid his foot on my bed!

Ni ohde chet di aathan, ate zulfee saavan chaaya ,hothaa de vich kahte da koi dihoon chadne te aaya  his eyes were an evenning in spring, his hair a dark cloud, his lips, a rising autumn dawn

Dukkhan mere Naina De Koye, Te vich Harh Hanjua Da Aaya, Sari Raat gayi vich socha, Us A Ki zulm Kamaaya,   corners of my eyes hurt and a flood of tears engulfed me , all night went thinking what he did this to me 

Bolla de vich paun pure di ni o koilaan da hamsaaya ,chitte dand jyon dhaano bagla tori maar udaaya  his words had eastern breeze blowing like the sound of a nightingale , his smile was the whiteness of a crane in the rice field , taking flight at the clap of a hand

Subha Savere Laini Vattna, ve Assa Mal Mal os Navaya, Dehi de vicho Niklan Chin gaa, te saada Haath Gaya kumlaya,   early in the morning, with vattna (a paste used to cleansing skin), I scrubbed n bathed my body but embers kept bursting out and my hands flagged

Choori Kuttta Ta O Khanda Naahi, ve Assa Dil Da Maas Khwaya, Ek Udaari Aisi Maari, O Mud Vatnee Na Aaya,  prepared choori but he doesnt eat ,I gave him the flesh of my heart , he took such a takeoff, never came back home

maaye ni…ni mai ik shikra yaar banaya

***************************************************************************
PS:- I had requested everyone to give me a honest Criticism of the blog that i have. I dont mind anything maybe it will help me in writing better. Not many have done So I will request again Please do so..
PSS:- Recently I have been thinking what happens to my posts just in case wordpress goes down, I dont want to loose the articles and comments .. is it any way I can back them up somewhere or make a copy 🙂 any help will be very thankful.
Comments
  1. We may not have noticed the dog driving the taxi because in India the steering wheel is on the right, not left! And besides, it takes quite some effort to notice the dog even after knowing about it.

    The song could have done with some more music/ beats. I guess the importance is on the lyrics than tune/ music. Good to know that you made someone’s day by writing a post on him! 🙂

    Destination Infinity

    Like

    • Bikram says:

      🙂 I know what you mean especially when the lady is like on your face …

      Yeah it could have done with more music but then it would have got lost somewhere .. good lyrics and songs dont need music or beats … 🙂

      Like

  2. Oh, BTW my day is also made – First !! 😀

    Like

  3. jennygoth says:

    hi bikram sorry its taken so long just getting over a bad virus hope you have a fantastic xmas hugs jen x

    Like

  4. shiv kumar batalvi..(poetry)N sung by jagjit singh
    Deadly combination….very true to words..
    now abt the picture post…..
    to tell you the truth ..I was keep observant :)noticed that on first sight cuz if its too tight it has to be seamless …as per our fashion Gurus lolzz but had apprehensions writin..
    I ‘m kinda Desi girl n her apprehensions I guess..
    …ok I do get people of different sizes ..as of my work and sometimes we help them to fix the dress they wear… I often end up feeling..no body is in right proportion….But styling we can do to camouflage our assets..but some like to flaunt 😉 shows up in the picture jus right…and frm comments we cud guess how smart people are!
    it was very interesting post. lolzzz
    I cudnt stop laughing at those comments…no wonder your blog is like a Bee hive 🙂

    have a good week ahead!

    Like

    • Bikram says:

      Indeed it is veyr true.. Eh punjabiyat di bahut hi bad luck rahi hai ki most of india does not know .. whereas at one stage punjab was so huge and fat fetched .. it had a lot of influence on everything .. but I guess because of the govt apathy and our own punjab govt’s apathy we have lost some very good literature.. which is so very sad …

      🙂 and yes mam got what you are saying … It was indeed interesting he he he

      You too have a good week ..

      Like

  5. ladynimue says:

    My mother used to teach punjabi when we were in punjab .. and shiv kumar been always her favorite poet.. till now if i ever play any song of his, she will recognize immediately .. this was the first song that i came across, and each song from this album is so damn wonderful! no words .. with jagjit’s voice and the poetry.. this is just pure blessing to the listener ..

    Like

    • Bikram says:

      🙂 yeah he was a great poet pity he died too early and when he was alive not many saw him as great , story of almost all the artists in the world ..
      it indeed is a blessing to listen to the voice and lyrics or two great men

      Like

  6. very difficult to understand punjabi. the translations makes us know the meaning of the lyrics which is really nice

    Like

  7. Rachna says:

    Wow, that is a good reply from your friend. About the lady’s picture, I guess I will come in the category of half of women who is very intelligent and I did make the observations that young men would make but wouldn’t put them on a public blog:). And, the song is nice!

    Like

  8. renu says:

    reaction of your friend is so nice to read and then observation about the next post too..feel so true:)

    Like

  9. Bageera8 says:

    I would be the most observant young men 😛 ….but dog is hard to notice even after knowing it is there.
    About backing up the site : use the export utility in the Tools section of WordPress Dashboard.It will be saved in XML format & you can easily import it into any CMS.

    Like

    • Bikram says:

      I know .. I guess its the in ur face picture of the lovely lady he he he he thats doing the trick 🙂

      and thanks for that idea I will do os , jsut got worried thinking what if .. but hopefully wordpress is also backing up somewhere 🙂

      Like

  10. Interesting post and a wonderful track! Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  11. Urmi says:

    Very nice post. I can understand Punjabi and can speak little bit.

    Like

  12. Anita Menon says:

    Wonderful reply by your friend. Touchwood , your friendship is inspirational.

    About the blouse & trouser photo – I am a grown up I guess. I did not notice the dog. A nice exercise though. Helped me see something that is not so obvious

    Like

  13. Ashwathy says:

    Great to see your friend’s reply 🙂 Told you so (about making him see ur post)!!

    Ha ha ha @ the reactions! I had already seen this so kept quiet 😉

    Like

  14. Madhulika says:

    Very sweet reply by your friend 🙂

    Like

  15. Dee says:

    I was not one of those tht noticed the dog…lol…!Beautiful song!

    Like

  16. Dee says:

    Oh and i think i missed ur post on ur friend! Must read it, and his response was so touching!

    Like

  17. Ria says:

    Love the song…Jagjit Singh was a gr8 singer indeed! and thats such a touchy reply from ur friend. I have nothing to say in the form of criticism coz i love every post of yours. I love them coz they r so real and heartfelt.

    Like

  18. Tinytoes says:

    OMG… The answer for the picture post is simply outstanding 😀 Lolzzz…

    Like

  19. NRIGirl says:

    Don’t know how I missed your original post about your friend, just now went back and read. A true friendship both parties cherish! Hats off to you guys.

    Now, about honest feedback:
    1. The grey color font for posts and the grey-er fonts for comments gives the blog a “dull” mood.
    2. Some posts get very loooo…ng. I know I am guilty of it too, but I try to rewrite and rephrase and eliminate duplicated lines and try not to exceed within one page span height-wise.
    3. Not writing often enough!

    I know you are a good friend and will not be offended by my honest feedback.

    Friend always,
    NRIGirl

    Like

    • Bikram says:

      Thank you for all the points nad why will get offended , you should know I am not like that, Moreover I asked myself .

      the color how can i change that for the comments and all .. do i need ot change the background and all ..

      yeah i know tooo long will try to change …

      not wirting often I thought I wrote tooo often he he he he 🙂

      thank you nrigirl 🙂

      Like

  20. Shilpa Garg says:

    That’s wonderful that your friend connected with you… so when are you meeting him next??
    LOL @ the observations of the people of different age groups! Nice! 🙂

    Like

    • Bikram says:

      Thank you S.g. I have to come to india to punjab 100% next year its been tooo long have to meet so many people .. or else he is planning to come to uk with 2 other friends so 2012 PAKKA we meeting all of us 🙂

      Like

  21. Congrats on 301th post! 🙂
    Touching letter from ur friend. Hope u guys remain friends for ever and ever.

    Like

  22. Yuvika says:

    i went back to the picture to check on the dog!
    lovely song!

    Like

  23. Androgoth says:

    Have a great rest of evening Bikram 🙂

    Androgoth

    Like

  24. Sandhya says:

    You have got a great friend and he too has!

    Well.. I noticed that the woman had self confidence by the way she was walking, she has to have it, nothing else!

    The lyrics are beautiful in the song. The tune is average, though.

    Like

    • Bikram says:

      Sandhya bhen I am blessed with such lovely people.. I met you too I am lucky.

      oh yes she is full of confidence for sure well if one has a figure like that i am sure confidence does come 🙂 he he he

      well the tune being average makes the song more worhtwhile else it would be lost in the beats and all ..

      Like

  25. Indrani says:

    Great collection here. Jagjitji is evergreen.

    Like

  26. Jyoti Mishra says:

    Stories of reunion with the friends is one of the best thing to listen n read 🙂
    n really such friends makes our live special…
    really loved reading it…. n reminded me of few of my friends who lives far far way who r connected only through mails !!

    n regarding the back of of ur articles..
    its very easy.. 1- 2 min job..
    check this article
    http://www.christopherspenn.com/2009/05/how-to-back-up-your-wordpress-blog-in-60-seconds/#.TuWEwrK4pt8

    Like

    • Bikram says:

      Hmmm yes os true what you say , but this reunion has to happen very soon hopefully been too long years .. Friends do make life very special ..
      Thanks for loving this one .. and good it reminded you now you can get hold of them too 🙂

      and thank for the link am visiting it right now 🙂

      Like

  27. Urmi says:

    As always excellent post. I always love to read your post and enjoy a lot.

    Like

  28. R's Mom says:

    Awww! your friend’s reply is so cute 🙂

    Errr…I didnt even comment on the picture *That blind I am*

    and liked the lyrics of the song..couldnt open the file though *am at work*

    Like

    • Bikram says:

      Yes he is a lovely human being for sure.

      YEs ji I know you did not comment Ms. busy na dont get time to visit so many hmmpffff 🙂

      Thank you so much oooh at work nice well go home and listen to the song its lovely soothing 🙂

      Like

  29. R. Ramesh says:

    late hre..everyone has said what i wanted to say haha cheers buddy

    Like

  30. Tanishka says:

    I had seen the dog in the second try remember… 😀

    Babbar’s reply was the best…. He is really cute…. 🙂

    Like

  31. Punam J R says:

    I didn’t know you like ghazals as well…
    I have loved Jagjit SIngh’s ghazals for a long time now.. and I usually listen to them when I am in an excessively tranquil mood.. also like Pankaj Udhas.. and the genre itself is quite a peace-giving genre.

    As for this song, it’s beautiful, but I have a feeling that the lyrics have an underlying meaning and I am trying to figure out what it is. 🙂

    As for your friend’s reply, that was meant to happen.. being at the receiving end of such pure love, is something that I can only imagine.. there wud be tears of happiness…

    Like

    • Bikram says:

      Thats strange all over my blog i have said I am a fan of jagjit sing and the only regret is i have not been able ot see hinm in a live concert…
      dont like pankaj udhas…

      it is a beautoiful song yeah you find the hidden meaning and let me know tooo 🙂

      yeah he is a darling for sure and wud do anything for me .. I know that 🙂

      Like

  32. sm says:

    excellent
    and good to read english with it.

    Like

Please do give your views good or bad whatever it is .. do let me know your views..

