Bangalore

Posted: November 25, 2011 in Animals, Coffee, Friends, India
Tags: , , , , , ,

Hello Everyone .. Yes I am back from India. The trip to Bangalore was exciting and I am feeling the after effects of the visit now .. But thankfully while I was there it was without hiccups, I ate like a pig , visited a few places and met up with some very special people ..

One of them I could not meet as I had something come up which could not be avoided , But was important as it could mean a Ray of hope or something , maybe just maybe .. anyway without going into the rigmarole of events I would like to thank everyone who took out time for me ..

I met a beautiful little girl Called Tanvi.. she was adorable and we walked along the Brigade road which was so chaotic at that time , We also went for a joy ride on the new metro (here I would like to shout out to Ashwini whom put this post on metro and i told her i will do it too soon.. Ashwini you listening ) from Mg road to Indira nagar and what fun that was , IT seemed it was not just us who went for a joy ride it was the whole of Bangalore that had turned up to enjoy the ride.. The bogey was so jam packed and I am positive that 99% of the people in there were not the normal commuters. The excitement on the faces , as the door opened the mad rush of people to rush inside to grab that exclusive Seat pushing, jostling each other to get to it.

The laughter and the shrieks as the metro pulled off with a jerk .. It was a funny moment for me .. although the little lady Tanvi seemed a bit lost and afraid.. holding on to her mother’s hand .. Tanvi is daughter of my blogger friend Sujatha.. Thank you Sujatha for coming all the way to meet up with me …

Also met with Punam of DreamZ forever, she took me to a beautiful restaurant RUH it was lovely, The food I fell in love with , finished the whole of the chicken bowl alone , she probably thinks how much I eat now ..

Next I met Mr. Chowla and It was an honour meeting up with him, we had some serious talks over that cup of coffee at coffee day in front of branton place on MG Road, Soon Bindu turned up, the discussions continued… for some reason I wanted to shout to both that I am hungry, I had not had lunch but the conversations we were having was so interesting that it got lost.

Mr. Chowla has promised to come over to UK in 2012 and visit me here .. Looking forward to that ..  Next day had Lunch at a restaurant called 13th floor , I liked the food in there also .. I seem to like food everywhere 🙂 Chowla sir has published a book of his blogposts , I got a copy of it and Guess what it is autographed by him .. Yayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy…

A restaurant called Tamarind was the venue for Dinner where Bindu and Mr. Velu treated me to lovely food once again ..

On the last day met an old friend who happened to get hold of my phone number ,called me up, It was lovely meeting up even if it was for less than an hour..

Did some shopping in the huge malls out there, But I felt they were a bit expensive as compared to UK.. yeah I know some wont believe but I found it was expensive , I can get the same stuff here in uk cheaper and exactly same brands. I also found that the Auto/Cab guys were bad, they charged me so much all the time , Sad part was they would tell a price but when we reached the destination the price suddently changed , I was told he would take 250 from Whitefield to MG Road when we reached there .. he demanded 350 and said Sir “yahi bola tha, aapko sunai nahin diya”.. I know I am duhh but I am not that stupid ..

Then from a FORUM MALL to come to a mall called Cosmo the auto guy says 250 again but when i reached it again was the case of he had said 400.. not 250 Now how can 250 sound like 400. .so I guess I was nicely ripped by these people maybe its written on my face I am a fool…

The Cab company Easy car something, booked a cab around 2pm to pick me up at 4PM, at first I was impressed as I got a txt immediately with a Reference number of the booking , then another one of the Drivers phone number who will pick me .. But at 3:55PM i got another Txt saying due to the technical problem they cant make it .. That made me ANGRY.. How can they do that .. wish it was in UK or Punjab I would have slapped the Taxi people..

Apart from these little silly hiccups it was altogether a lovely trip..

It was good to meet everyone, maybe next time can plan it in advance and meet more, Talked to a few on phone.

Had a day trip to Mysore where we went around to see a few places like the Mysore Palace and the one of the places that I always had in my list Tipu Sultan’s  fort .. sadly the fort is not there the Britishers destroyed it all, So saw the place where his body was found, his summer palace and where he was put to rest.

Bandipur Safari park.. I was not happy as I felt this was rip off by the Govt. since we did not see any animals other than an elephant and deer.. The promised tiger was not seen and it seemed the Driver of the bus also did not have any clue as to where to look for.. he took the bus on a set route .. some VIP was in the bus so his attention was all towards this VIP lady telling her stuff while the rest of the bus passengers did not get any input what so ever.

🙂

Pug marks (dont know if true)

Tusker

Then Came the Bird sanctuary.. where again We went on a boat for a 20 minute ride saw a few birds far away , saw some Crocodiles having a siesta ..

Having a siesta

Saw some historic places to do with the Tiger of indian history the Mighty Tipu sultan.. Who fought the british valiantly but was killed because of some traitors in his palace ..

Tipu sultan rests here along with his Mother and Father

Cannon at the Summer palace of Tipu sultan

Tipu sultan's Body was found at this place

In evening saw the Mysore palace lightening up. While visiting the palace we had a guide who was hilarious and he was definitely in love with the king who he thought was fat and was quiet amused at all the expenditure being done for one person .. The palace was built only at the price of 42 lakh Rs. Maybe I am mistaken and don’t remember properly.

A funny incident happened we had to take the shoes off to go inside the Palace, So deposited the shoes got the token, I put it in my pocket .. came out and asked my friend where is the token, could not find it , I was 100% sure that the token was not with me , we emptied our pockets looked everywhere NO TOKEN.. so had to go to an office Write an application , this is what was hilarious it reminded me of school days when we were taught how to write ..

To

the Director …

blah blah blah .. and had to pay 50Rs to get the permission of the lady director so we could have our shoes back.. On the way back I happened to put my hand in my pocket and VOILA the token was in there 🙂

Mysore Palace

Lighted up

Thats Me 🙂

another Me

PS:- Now you know I have been away for a more than a week , so please dont mind if you dont see me on your blog, I am trying ot catch up to all..

Comments
  1. Sandhya says:

    For more auto experience, you should come to Chennai! Bangalore is nothing.

    So, you enjoyed your holidays and food here. Just remember them, Bikram. Forget the negative things! Our India is going to be like this always! Enjoy life ignoring the draw backs! I know you are already doing it!

    Like

    • BIkram says:

      Haanji Sandhya bhen , there was a plan to come to chennai for a day but it did not materialise , I was talking to Destination infinity about it .. Would have loved to come over and meet up with everyone there ..

      I enjoyed my holidays yessssssssssssssssss .. Na such things dont bother me .. becaue when i got down from the auto I met some smiley faces of my friends so it was forgotten in a instant 🙂

      Like

  2. Sandhya says:

    Arre! Am I first?!

    I had been to Mysore long back. It has got broad roads and avenue trees. Lots of parks too, if I remember correctly! Tipu is my favourite too! Did you see his portrait there at the palace?

    Liked by 1 person

    • BIkram says:

      Haanji going ot mysore was specially to see TIpu sultan’s places for I admire him with the way he fought .. the sad thing is that I found the places haunted not many people go there .. I did not have enough time to see it all ..

      Like

  3. Kunal says:

    Quite a Trip…I have lived in Bangalore and seen most of the places and dined at those restaurants you mentioned..though..I have not been to 13th floor yet 😛

    Mysore Place in the night…when it is lighted is absolutely brilliant and the interiors are so grand..
    I think..you missed Brindavan Gardens? That is a great place to be..especially in the evening…

    And you met so many bloggers and friends…So exciting…. 😀
    And now..you are back from the mildly pleasant weather of Bangalore…to chilly winters of UK! 😛

    Best Wishes..

    Like

    • BIkram says:

      YEs it was funny , I enjoyed it .. 13th floor is on MG road .. the Branton place .. is the building name .. its on the top floor ..

      Brindavan gardens I saw too , the problem was I did not have a camera these are all from Phone cameras and they dont work too well at nights …

      oh yes nice and chilly here now 🙂

      Like

  4. R's Mom says:

    WHAT you were in India and didnt even email me..hmph! I am not even reading this blogpost 😦

    Glad you had a nice time though!

    Like

  5. summerscript says:

    Wow..lovely pics 🙂
    so many places and so many people 🙂 woww ..
    Seriously Bangalore is costlier than UK ?? OMG

    Like

  6. Next time make it to Chennai also. ok? 🙂 In Bangalore, auto-wallah’s are fair with the local people and unfair with visitors – Its a case of preferential treatment. But in Chennai, they are unfair with everybody 🙂

    I have never seen Mysore palace in the night. It looks stunning with all those lights. But even during the day it was nice… I had always thought that the palace belonged to Tippu Sultan and was proud of it. But then later on came to know that it belong to some loyal British supported King! I guess it was Hyder Ali and the Marathas who were a major threat to the Britishers. By the time of Tippu, they were already consolidating their victories! Good to know that you had a lot of fun.

    Like

    • BIkram says:

      100% next time will be chennai for sure..
      yeah you are right about the mysore palace , that is what is amazing I found so many people in the mysore palace and hardly anyone in Tipu sultan’s places the person who gave his life to fight tyranny , no one wants to know about ..

      we seem to run after the shiny things always .. which is sad .. the Govt spends so much money for the upkeep of mysore palace and not much is done where it should be done .. which is really sad .. the summer palace on tipu sultan is almost falling , the wall paintings etc are all getting spoilt no one is interested ..

      Like

    • Tanishka says:

      Hey DI even auto wallahs in Mumbai are fairly unfair to all…. 😀 😀

      Like

  7. Sunny says:

    Great post, Bikram. I am so jealous of you now. Sounds like you had a fantastic trip. But welcome back. 🙂

    Like

  8. Bikram… Well you left Bangalore already.. Oh no we could have met..:( Thanks for the tag of my Metro post. Glad you liked the ride and nice to know you got to meet with lot of fellow blogger friends. Next time you are here please please do let me know. And if I make it to UK anytime I will not hesitate stopping over for dinner at your place:) Well Bangalore auto/taxi’s are chaotic at times – the same way as you described them. Its a major problems for non-localites to shout back at them. However I hope you had a wonderful time here and would cherish the lovely moments out here.

    Like

    • BIkram says:

      YEs I know , I did put it on my post earlier that i will be there , i guess you did not see the post. Sujatha did mention too but then it was quiet late in the evening ..

      you coming to uk, and why just dinner you are always welcome to come over ANYTIME .. the doors are alway open for all my friends ..

      he he he I tagged cause i had mentioned there that I will soon be doing it 🙂
      thank you so much ..

      Like

  9. Shilpa Garg says:

    Wow! You met so many blogger friends!! Seems you had a good time meeting friends, eating good food and sightseeing too!! Different rates for Indians and Foreigners… way too much and very sad too! Nice captures!!

    Like

  10. You came to India and left, already? Whoops!

    Looks like you had fun times.

    Like

  11. haritha says:

    wow!didnt know that u were in india…. so u met ur sis???:)
    great pics btw…..

    Like

  12. Rachna says:

    Wow, seems like a good trip for you. Missed meeting you and Mr. Chowla, as I had to travel to Mumbai myself. Good to hear about Bangalore from another’s perspective, and the malls are expensive here :). Auto drivers are quite bad but the BMTC buses especially Volvos are the best bet in the city. Anyway, next time!

    Like

  13. kavita says:

    Wonderful ! Lucky you ! You must visit NE next time you are in India .

    Like

  14. Man you are lucky to have experienced Bangalore. I hope one day to visit India and travel through the main cities. Love to have read our experiences.

    Like

  15. “wish it was in UK or Punjab I would have slapped the Taxi people..”

    Bikram, this doesn’t sound very good. I can vouch you wouldn’t dare do so in UK. The way auto guys behave in India should not come as a surprise anyways. Apart from that, the taxi service in Bangalore is very good, you got to do your homework and see which ones are professional. Try Meru cabs, they charge a bit extra but their service is phenomenal.

    By the way, some of the cab drivers, english cab drivers, thug too!

    And as far as fashion in Bangalore is concerned, some of the malls have really good stuff and I don’t think it is over priced.

    Looks like you got many a treats in Bangalore….we Indians know how to treat the guest well.

    I must say, I did not like the tone of this post in certain places.

    Like

    • Bikram says:

      You dont know me at all then 🙂 , I will re iterate again wish it was UK or punjab in both places they would have got a slap ..

      Meru cabs is fine but they wont even book a cab to go inside the city, I tried them first they were willing to take me to the airport had a cab for that , but wont take me to MG road … I asked a few people and they said yes cause of traffic and all …

      I have no idea what malls you went to maybe you shud tell me so when i go next i can try those out ..

      IT was fun in bangalore and yes met a a few friends and it was good .. I am sorry if you did not like the post but other then the Auto problem i have not said anything else .. sorry

      Like

  16. Dee says:

    Wow…seems like u had a fun time! Must have been so nice to meet blog friends!!! lovely! oh and yes ur comments were surely missed..do comment soon!

    Like

  17. Swaram says:

    Awww 2 of the places closest to my heart!:)
    Glad u got to meet so many places! We were waiting for u here in Hyd though 😦

    Like

    • Bikram says:

      Swaram I know .. But then I got a txt from Sari saying she wont be avaialable on monday 21st and i had tochange the plan since I did not want to risk coming on 22nd for my flight was the same night and just in case something got delayed I would have got stranded .. but next time I come I know what to do and how to go about 🙂 so next time its hyd and chennai for sure to meet everyone 🙂

      Like

  18. zradar says:

    So thats why there werent any blogs for long.. Looks like this trip was made memorable with a lot of your blogger friends..And next time try visiting Chennai too..

    Like

    • Bikram says:

      you too are in chennai .. I did not know that I was under the impression that I know only two people in chennai .. blimey today i have found another 3 who live there .. I will definitely come ot chennai for sure next time …

      Like

  19. Pooja Desai says:

    Wow that was a long fun week u had. Best was u managed to meet so many ppl even though u just had a week.
    I would’nt be suprised if u’ve put on some extra weight coz of al the delicious things u got treated to.
    Wel cab ppl r the same evrywhr. Esply those fancy cab service companies. Yours were decent enough to inform you abt it at the last moment, once I had asked for it to catch a flight at an odd hour, which I missed thanks to them, since then i prefer ricks to those cabs.
    Mysore is a beautiful historical place, lots of stories there.

    Like

  20. Saritha says:

    Bad i missed seeing you in hyd,next time surely we will catch up.

    Good to read that you had a wonderful trip and you met so many bloggers…..

    Like

  21. A says:

    Bikram,

    Really great post.

    So you met BK, Punam, Bindu, Sandhya and Ashwini. Anyone one else??? That is awesome.

    Did you guys talk about meeeeeeeeeee?

    Like

  22. Shas says:

    Welcome backkk 🙂
    Sad to hear about your auto and cab experience 😦

    Like

  23. nrigirl says:

    Hey! Whatever happend to your trademark moustache? Forgot to take it with you on the trip?!

    Like

  24. Anita Menon says:

    Lovely description of your visit of one of the loveliest cities in India. The photos are lovely. Thanks for sharing your experience.

    Like

  25. Punam J R says:

    Hi Bikram… glad to know that you liked Ruh and that your trip went so well. 🙂
    Wishing you many more such trips ahead.
    It was nice meeting you.

    TC
    Punam

    Like

    • Bikram says:

      I loved ruh.. i need there recipe for that chicken.. Thanks for taking me there it was a beautiful place ..

      Same here it was great meeting up even though the time was less ..

      Like

  26. heyyy..
    looking so good! cudnt recognize you! desh ka asaar hai mere dost!
    its nice to hear frm you …was missing your blogs!
    you met so many bloggers bick..so nice of you..your humbleness shows up not many people do that!
    about people fooling you ..mere dost Hum NRIs ke shakal par likha hai “paisa”..”khajana”otherwise we are the most intelligent people …who gives a push to indian economy …Dum hai hum logon se”
    lolzzz
    tc.. have a safe trip..and dont try people fool you…its hard earned money here in foreign land.
    :)))

    Like

    • Bikram says:

      he he he Haanji asar taan hona hi hai na 🙂 and also Sohbat ka bhi asar tha so many lovely people around 🙂

      and I know what you mean NRI tag 🙂 I know keeping it safe he he he .. I am back now

      Like

  27. Androgoth says:

    welcome back to blog-land Bikram,
    and thank you for adding such a wealth
    of interesting photographs too, I can
    see that you had a most excellent time
    out there and why not, everyone needs
    a good break my friend 🙂

    Be very well Bikram…

    Androgoth

    Like

  28. Pixie says:

    oh! it was so nice to see my 2 beautiful cities and reading about your visit!
    The Palace is beautiful na?! When you live there and grow up there and go once a month ot the Palace and watch the lights go on while eating roasted groundnuts – you tend to take it for granted!! 😛

    the auto drivers have robbed you blind..!! sigh.. Blore is horrible that way – auto drivers will rip you off if you are not a localite or you don’t know the city…

    The restaurants you have mentioned bring back fond memories… and all those pics of places around Mysore bring back fond memories of friends and family! 🙂 🙂

    Like

  29. renu says:

    Auto people are like that everywhere..dont know why govt.doesnt do anything or why not some other organisation start an auto service?

    I went to Mysore 8 yrs back and loved the place..saw usual tourist spot only though.

    I also feel that there are so many things we get cheaper in US or UK than in India:)..even after conversion.

    Like

  30. Ritu Lalit says:

    Arrey kya hua? You were supposed to come to Faridabad and we were supposed to drive to Pali for an anniversary trip of your accident? Make sure you come down north next time for all that

    Like

  31. i4deeps says:

    looks like everyone you met on your trip gave you something to blog about 🙂

    Like

  32. Kame says:

    No wonder you have been missing in action 😉
    Love that ‘lighted up’ photo

    Like

  33. rekha says:

    I really wish I could have met you…seems like I missed out on a lot of fun not to mention the metro ride…I haven’t dared to ride it yet …maybe in May trip I will…next time, will plan in advance…. pucca promise will try to meet in chennai or bangalore. hope the trip was memorable for good reasons…try the local cab services next time, damn good and upfront compared to autos….I think mumbai is the only place they still use the meter in autos….

    Like

  34. scorpria says:

    Good to know you had a good time here…that’s quite a few trips and a lot of food…hehe…

    …and you forgot to write about how i promised to meet you and didn’t 😀

    Like

    • Bikram says:

      I know so much food .. No No .. not to worry about not meeting it just means that next time you will have to pay for the lunch food , along with the Coffee he he he he

      by the way you were to CALL toooo 🙂

      Like

  35. onkar says:

    lovely pictures of the palace

    Like

  36. Your post made me nostalgic about B’lore. You are correct I find all branded stuff pretty expensive in India as compared to other countries…hahha auto rides in any part of India except Mumbai are traumatic now-a-days…Mysore palace pictures are superb!

    Like

  37. Ashwathy says:

    Truly sorry that the auto guys fleeced you 😐 And what was that stupid board all about – you have to pay 1100 just coz you are a foreigner? 🙄 Sheesh!

    But otherwise looks like you were able to meet up with a lot of people. And had a fun trip too 🙂
    I love the pics of Mysore Palace lighted up 🙂 Went to Mysore as a kid…now need to go someday soon!

    Like

    • Bikram says:

      why are you sorry 🙂 you reimburse me he he he he 🙂

      yes thats everywhere foreigners pay more same in mysore palace too ..

      I enjoyed the trip and ate so much .. yeah you shiud visit myusore and heyyyyyyyyyy make sure you invite me toooooooo 🙂

      Like

  38. AlkaGurha says:

    I have lived in Blore for 5 years so this post was special for me…The croc is at the Ranganthitu bird sactuary na? Mysore I find is more beautiful than Blore. Good u met several people….Why only Blore? U have relatives there or was it work?

    Like

    • Bikram says:

      YEs it is the bird sanctuary , mysore was indeed lovely i liked visiting Tipu sultan’s places .. I had gone there for work for 5 days but took 2 days off to meet and roam around .. family is all in punjab could not go there which is SAD 😦

      Like

  39. First off, WOW! That was such a fab trip!
    Secondly, you have made me even more home-sick!
    Thirdly, When will you come to Australia?

    Like

    • Bikram says:

      hmmm australia , I was jsut there a year ago or two.. maybe next year sometime 🙂 now i see you run in panic ha ha ha ha bikram aya bikram aya he he h

      It was a good trip i enjoyed

      Like

  40. saru singhal says:

    You had quality time there. I wish I can catch up with blogger friends sometime…

    Like

  41. sm says:

    like the narration
    photo showing prices lol
    seems you enjoyed trip

    Like

  42. Writerzblock says:

    What a nice holiday , I am J!!!!!

    Like

  43. This is just nor fair. You never told me you were here!! I live in Blore, and my hometwon is Mysore. You have been to both the places and you never told me? Bad bad. Really bad. Im angry..BBRRRR!!!!

    Like

    • Bikram says:

      I did.. i put it on FB and wrote on my blog 🙂 I know bad me .. I was on way to mysore when i thought i would email but never got it done.. sorry

      but will be back soon again and this time will meet 100% 🙂

      Like

  44. b k chowla says:

    Bikram, it was such a pleasure meeting you.
    When I come to the UK,i would like to see you in uniform

    Like

  45. Sana says:

    wow!sounds like a great trip!!

    Like

  46. Harsha says:

    Auto-wallahs are always a problem in India! They ripped you off even more badly. Glad you had a good time at Bangalore. And meeting friends is always a delight. 🙂 🙂

    Like

  47. Very pleasing, interesting and exhaustive travelogue. I enjoyed going through.

    Like

  48. Priya says:

    Glad you had a nice trip Bikram.. meeting so many blog friends 🙂

    Like

  49. Seema says:

    Oh you covered so many places and met many people in such a shore time eh? I haven’t been to any of the restaurants that you mentioned being in Bangalore for more than a year now!

    Like

    • Bikram says:

      🙂 wait for me dont go alone .. I want ot eat there again .. let me come again and then I can tag along toooooo I want foooooooooooddd

      and the butter chicken in RUH was simply amazing ….

      Like

  50. suruchi says:

    my god you have lost so much weight Biky-and the new look is like awesome-but where is the famous “mochas”?:-)
    looks like you had a whole lot of fun…makes me wonder aap kaam se gaye the ki kisse khaas ko milne? well i can only speculate and be jealous kyonki merese to mile nahi-so must be some other lucky girl;-)

    Like

    • Bikram says:

      ab yeh to secret hai na .. Ab milne to aapse aana tha na , but aap busy the to socha kissi aur ko miloon he he he 🙂
      it was partly work and partly pleasure 🙂

      will meet with you too some day god willing .. 🙂

      Like

  51. ladynimue says:

    bangalore days ki yaad dila di 🙂
    i so miss the place still…
    next time I hope you come to delhi and meet me 🙂

    Like

  52. Nice pics! 🙂
    But seriously, how is it costlier than UK?! This is awesome news! 😀

    Like

    • Bikram says:

      Well I was on the Brigade road , went into some shops clothes and all, I dont even know the brands but they were like a shirt of 3000rs a jean for 4000 etc and you can get a levis for that much here .. and shirts from Next etc are cheaper 🙂

      I also went into a sony showroom and the Tele’s and ps3 games etc were costlier then in UK, I can get the same model and all cheaper here from SOny itself.

      food was excellent though i still remember it yummmyyy 🙂

      Like

  53. Deboshree says:

    Sounds like you had a fabulous time Bikram… I want more travelogues!
    You got to meet so many blogging buddies… now that must have been super fun,

    Like

  54. Glad you enjoyed the trip Bikram.. So you met Sujatha, and Poonam.. Cool.. and auto walla’s are very costly, I feel pity for you.. I am very happy to know you enjoyed the trip but the sad part was I did not meet you in BNG 🙂

    Someone is Special

    Like

  55. Bhavia says:

    So when are you visiting Chennai or Kerala?
    I think I should catch hold of you next time you step in India and then loot you 😛

    Like

  56. joe says:

    Many of my friends from abroad are very sore about this difference in ticket rates.
    What they say is true “when you come here do we charge extra?”

    Like

  57. Reema says:

    We visited mysore two times but never on Sunday..so couldnt watch the wonderful sight of palace all lit up!

    Like

  58. […] I spent a couple of days last week roaming on the streets, trying to freshen up the memory of the not so distant past, it is still as if it was yesterday, […]

    Like

Please do give your views good or bad whatever it is .. do let me know your views..

