Incredible India : Tag

Posted: February 11, 2011 in Bharat, India, Tags
Tags: , , , , , ,

Incredible India

I found this interesting  tag thought of taking it up!

We all know, how vast, rich and incredible our country is!  There is a lot to do in this vast country, I have loved being to every place i have been , Have so many lovely memories of every place

The rules are:
1. The list contains all the states of India and their capitals are in brackets.
2. Make bold the states you have visited, and mention your favourite memories of that state.
3. Include only states that you have really experienced, and have felt the culture of the place. The touch-and-go while travelling in a train does not count, because that way I believe I’d have seen a little more, but it does not give me a feel of the place and so they need to be actually visited.


Note: The format is State (Capital). The ones I have visited are in bold.


1. Jammu & Kashmir (Srinagar): Well 1985.. jammu and kashmir tour with school.. the beautiful places on way .. Kokernag where Jhelum starts .. Anantnag ,Srinagar Gulmarg, Pahalgam As they said if there is heaven on earth then its here.. The dal lake … , Stayed there for 20 days visiting all the places .. One of the places of which along with very very good memories , I have one very bad memory.. brought back memory of getting bullied .. The first place where My best friend Anupinder showed me how to stand againt the bullies, How to take it on even if it was 5-6-10 guys against me alone.. I can never forget the night where we were challenged to dare to come to there room and we did , we got beat up so bad , but we went there and Anup stood with me .. Thank you anup whereever you are , I know you are looking at me .. Thanks


2. Punjab (Chandigarh): My birth place. Muktsar, Lived in chandigarh, Studied in the princly city of patiala, started to Tie the turban the patiala style 🙂 All my schooling in in patiala.. our first family house was in patiala.. Muktsar where all my summer vacations were spent every year each year..  Chandigarh where I spent my youth my college Govt college for men… the day when I grew up to be a man .. Was in chandigarh .. Now i am here in uk and all i ever dream of is Punjab mera punjab…

Jara Dholiya Dhol ute daga lain oye
Hath rakh kan ute boli tun pain oye
Ful khidiya sab de man bhaunda
PUNJAB mere rahe wasda …

The rest of the lovely cities

Ludhiana where i did my FLying at sahnewal flying club..,
Amritsar :- The golden temple been there
Jullundhar:- where my bes buddy lives now , been there tooo
and so many other places



3. Haryana (Chandigarh): Since Chandigarh is the common capital, so I have been to Haryana too! Chandigarh is where i grew up to be a man … Then my second job as a computer instructor in panchkula and a city called Pehowa in a school ..

NCC days .. Visitied Hisar for some exam, was staying in a dharamshala me and a few friends from chandigarh, the NCC guys from hisar were looking after us , and one guy JOHAR walked in and for some odd reason,  we became friends and then spent the next week or so with him in hisar, roaming around have fun, and Now he is so close to us all.. Makes me wonder how things happen, He had just come to drop a guy who had got some food for us ..


 
4.  Himachal Pradesh (Shimla)  :- Wow what a state , have our second house in a place called Solan , where we spent some summer vacations to get away from the heat.. the uphill trips once or even twice a week on our scooters and bikes, the buying of the beer and the chicken from bedi chicken corner … the stupid dares of drivign all the way to shimla without a shirt in middle of the winters …
I also worked in scool as a teacher Pinegorve where we got the actor Iqbal khan my student …
The attending of youth festival in horitulture university solan, me for declamation.  and best was Ravjote was with us in evening participated in fancy dress and he went is as HE MAN.. and wont the first place funny ..

A very bad accident on way to shimla leading to a few people dieing , i cant forget …

Kullu-Manali .. Trips , walking the Rohtang pass.. and then The school I taught took the kids for a tour to a place called Rewalsar just above Mandi .. had such a great time with the little boys …

5. Uttaranchal (Dehradun):  A visit to that place just a few  years ago with someone special, the drive from chandigarh to dehradun.. where I met two more beautiful people …
The regulare drives to places like Paonta sahib, and the back road to, visiting the fossil park , and driving through the river beds .. then Sarangal my mate deciding we need to fish in the river .. wasting hours and finding nothing …

Also had my SSB interview for Air force, cleared the PABT test there , apprantely you only get one chance in ur life to do it , Pilot aptitude battery test .. The 5 days there visitng Sahastradhara and other places and also finding How the SSB works where out of 200+ people Two got selected one was the son of Admiral Pashrishia .. Obviously.. and the other was a sikh boy who refused to go to a hanuman mandir because he was anti Hindus and hated hindus .. How he got through dont know ..

6. Rajasthan (Jaipur):  ooooh the beautiful Rajasthan .. the trips we had to jaipur, how an i forget the Motorbike trip we had from chandigarh to Ahmedabad, spent so much time there and then having that fateful accident . the bike completely going kaput , us me and my cousin lying on the middle of the road almost dead … thankfully a good truck driver stopping by helping us and we were saved …
The views at mount abu.. and early morning at ajmer … Beautiful the hot channa masalaa  ceeee ceeeee ceeee with the mirchi… Rajasthan is beautifullll…

also had a school trip to Rajasthan in 7th class..

7. Uttar Pradesh (Lucknow): NCC vayu sainik camp , one of the best we were the KINGS .. because the year before we went some of the boys from chandigarh had given such a bashing to everyone , that everyone feared us.. This was the best camp I attended, mets some lifelong friends, Also met a sweet girl , my first love 🙂  but both did not have the courage to express it , now after many many years We found out..
Food in camp was so bad, but had plenty of booze.. 
Had some fun moments , selling water as kerosene to someone for a dozen bananas..

8. Bihar (Patna)

9. Jharkhand (Ranchi)


10. West Bengal (Kolkata): The trips to Kolkata for summer vacations.. the three days of travel in punjab mail, chandigarh to howrah.. beautiful memories .. pity did not have mobile phones or camera to click picture..  Various people there the ponds in each locality and us kids wanting to catch fish..
the loud shrieks of ladies for occasions.. Sandesh .. going site seeing.. visiting the victoria memorial,  a house built as a ship, Howrah bridge .. the boat trip down the hoogly…
11. Orissa  (Bhubaneswar) :- the worst city that could ever come in my life , completely ruined me and my worst nightmare.. one of the worst phases on my life which has completely changed me into what i am now .. maybe a very bad person … though spent a lot of time in hotels there mayfair was very good stayed there about 3 -4 times now , and visiting Puri .. staying in a hotel called toshali.. was goood …

12. Sikkim (Gangtok)   :- NCC I had airwing so went on a trekking trip there, Started from Kalimpong and ended in Gangtok , the beautiful forest and all the places that we saw Amazing, the monastary at rumket on way ..  So many places on way I seem to have forgotten most of the places.

13. Arunachal Pradesh (Itanagar)

14. Assam (Dispur)  :- Again Ncc took me there too.. Had some good times while camping there .. but sadly dont remeber any of the places
15. Tripura (Agartala)
16. Nagaland (Kohima)
17. Mizoram (Aizawl)
18. Manipur (Imphal)
19. Meghalaya (Shillong)

20. Madhya Pradesh (Bhopal): 7 days in bhopal to attend the SSB interview Twice once for army and once for air wing.. the idiots rejected me a both the times …

21. Chattisgarh (Raipur)


22. Gujarat (Gandhinagar) : Ahmedabad was another place where holidays got spent, My eldest maasi shifted from kolkata to ahmedabad and her two sons my best friends and my brothers , We had fun time , as mentioned earlier the trip on motorbike was to meet them up 🙂
A funny thing met a person there Milkha became very good friends, he had never been to punjab but had a Enfield , so taught him how to ride the bike, you know having the heel on the foot rest, with the foot down. legs a bit wide, back straight .. arms straight and then driving at 10 or 15 KMPH speed … dag dag dag dag The beauty of the BIKE…



23. Maharashtra (Mumbai): Mumbai again just for holidays , my dad brought us for a family holiday , Then i came twice for fun roamed around , Gateway of india, Taj , Leopolds , marine drive , water world had some good time there .. the beach eating all that Chat , gol gappe etc ..

Met a friend on interent who lives there and now is such a good friend stayed with him, met his family .. some good memories


24. Goa (Panjim):

25. Andhra Pradesh (Hyderabad ): Hyderabad Spent almost a month there , remember the Tank bund, then there  was mandir all white marlbe i dont remember the name, Stayed in a hostel with some guys who had come to do a marine course..  My money finished they gave me money, to a unknow person .. strange.. The Char minar ..  and the biryani yummy


26. Tamil Nadu (Chennai) :School trip of south.. The beaches there were good, met actor Rajnikant there had food with actress Rati agnihotri .. they were doing some shooting of some movie ..


27. Karnataka (Bengaluru):
28. Kerala (Thiruvananthapuram) : Again school trip of south, at Kochi were invited on to this Ship, Dont remember much other than the bakc water how beautiful they were .. No idea where the places or what state they are in Madurai and Kodai kanal  Awesome places


29. Delhi – Delhi was Local for us, we would pick our bikes and come to the city do the work and return back the same day, yes once my darling cousin wanted to see his GF and we came all the way to see her and be with her for an hour i guess , then all the way back to chandigarh..

Now the landing in delhi airport to find my cousin Sukhi standing there with a bottle of daroo and chicken.. standing in the car park of the airport till 4 am in morning drinking and talking remembering old days..
Standing by the road side, a police man came for towing, my cousin gave him 100Rs and he said ok the moment he said ok my cousin say “AB yahin rukenge dubara tang nahin karna “.. the cop saying ji sahib and moving away

There’s still a lot to explore in our Incredible India and I still have a lot of places to visit…

Thanks for reading if you like the idea please do take up the Tag ..

Comments
    • Pepper says:

      Yay! Okay… i cant help noticing.. you haven’t been to Goa? Blasphemy! And wow! You’ve been to Kashmir.. but that was 1985, before I was born 😀 I always dream of going to that place

      Like

      • Bikram says:

        YEs yes i know I have missed that part a lot I have to go I HAVE to i know.. and hopefukky very soon will be going there too …

        YEah i been to kashmir .. dont worry when you go next time to india maybe you can plan a few days to go there .. 🙂 i was also very young in 5th or 6th class i think

        Like

  1. Shobha says:

    Oh I can see you have been to lots of places in India.
    I have not seen much of India as we have lived abroad most of the time….Mumbai, Chennai, Hyderabad, Delhi, Calcutta, Jaipur, Goa and Kashmir are a few places that I have been to…I love Rajasthan…would love to see Golden Temple one day.

    Like

  2. harman says:

    ..very nice post…Bharat Darshan…exactly..you have been to some good places so its different taste and flavors from each region our incredible India….we always have a reason for visit ..our relatives or vacations or cousins..its fun..memories are precious!
    I have seen india quite a lot as my Dad was posted at different regions…even at deserted places .
    I am not taking the tag…for personal reasons ..already biography is there in my blogs..
    this will be ..way too mch…hope you dont mind!
    tc..have fun..its weekend…

    Like

  3. A says:

    Wow. Awesome post. You have been to so many states of India….

    Like

  4. Rachna says:

    Wow, you have travelled a lot. India is an amazing country, truly. I see that daaru holds a lot of significance for you :). I agree with Pepper — no Goa! You missed something there.

    Like

    • Bikram says:

      Yes india is a amazing country for sure ..
      haanji DARU holds a lot of significance in all punjabi’s for sure and chicken too he hehehe 🙂

      Yes i have to go to goa and I WILL for sure one of these days i will

      Like

  5. Nice to know that u have visited so many states in India.

    It is great to hear that u have visited Hisar also. I was born and brought up in Hisar.

    Mount Abu, Mysore and Goa are nice places. You can add them to ur list when ever u have time to visit India. 🙂

    Like

    • Bikram says:

      Oh really Hisar holds a special place cause i met a coupole of friends there who are friends for life now, we have not met for yeasrs but we all know when the need is They will be there …

      Not been to mysore and goa have heard a lot WILL GO ONE DAY 🙂

      Like

    • Bikram says:

      I have been to mount Abu.. Ahmedabad and other places eeesssshhh i forgot a few places 🙂

      Like

  6. Chatterbox says:

    Wow! you’ve been to a lot of places 😛
    I thoroughly enjoyed your account of your travel…have fun and keep travelling 😛

    Like

    • Bikram says:

      Thank you CB.. well the next place to explore is Australia.. yeah i want to go on a walkabout lets see when that happens and also to south africa hopefully end of this year one of those places for sure 🙂

      Like

  7. IRFANUDDIN says:

    wow…so many states are in bold here… you have tavelled across a lot….
    i will suggest you to add a name here ie.. Andaman n Nicoba islands…. a union territory…
    out of the places i have been… this is the place i like most…. lush green islands… people there so simple… living with communal harmony…… its all good there i found…. i think visitng here is a different experience all together….
    apart from this i have been to Kolkatta…. Chennai..kochi….jaipur…Lucknow…Bangelore…Ranchi…. Patna… and of course our national capital Delhi…..

    Like

    • Bikram says:

      YEah I missed a oppurtuniy to visit the islands , my uncle was posted as C.O. in Port blair and he kept telling me to come i jsut did not get the timing sorted .. but hopefully i will go one day …

      YEah i have been to Kochi and jaipur and PAtna .. india is such a beautiful place …

      Like

  8. Saritha says:

    You have been to many states.Most of your trips are with ncc camp no…

    My money finished they gave me money, to a unknow person .. strange..——We hyderabadis are like this….

    The temple u visited is birla temple on a small hill.

    Loved the tag and if i do this tag there are hardly much places i visited.

    Like

    • Bikram says:

      🙂 haanji i knew you would say this about hyderabadi’s he hehe yes they are indeed very nice people and you toooo after all I am awaiting to have that biryani ypou have promised me and also show me around he hehehe 🙂

      Thank you so much.

      Like

  9. Ashwathy says:

    Hmm you seem to have travelled quite a lot ! 🙂
    U have to travel to the south more often…u dont seem to remember anything about it 😛

    Like

    • Bikram says:

      yes i have

      the reason being i was still in school when i vistied south .. madurai-kodai kanal- kanya kumari trivandrum thats why .. but this time when i go home back to india i am making a point to get all my albums that will remind me of everything …

      and yeah i do have to visit a few places for sure maybe next year as my friends keep asking me to come …

      Like

  10. Alka says:

    Each place is unique but I guess when one is away from motherland the nostalgia and yearning strikes like never before.

    Like

  11. What? You can fly 😯
    I think you are super cool now 😀

    And you have been to so many places! Sigh…

    Like

    • Bikram says:

      hmm you did not know , i thought everyone on the blog knew that .. yes i can though i need to renew my license again now …
      and yayyyyyyyyyy me SUPER COOL .. you shud have put it in BOLD he hehehehe 🙂 thank you thank you thank you..

      Like

  12. wildflower says:

    ooo nice nice..you seem to have covered quite a bit of the huge country! can i request some pics if you still have some around with u?

    Like

  13. bedazzled says:

    wow! you’ve travelled quite a bit !

    Like

  14. sm says:

    great you traveled lot
    thanks for sharing moments

    Like

  15. asha says:

    Wow, you’ve covered most of the places and had wonderful experience, but why is karnataka blank?
    yet to visit? nice places you have here are bangalore( my hometown) , Mysore, coorg,coastal karnataka.
    Andhra pradesh – the temple you saw in hyderabad was Birla mandir (Balaji mandir)
    Tamilnadu – land of famous temples, here you have places like kanyakumari,madurai,trichy,ooty,kodai,yercaud ,valparai etc and of course the singara chennai(madras) which is my birth town and hey, did you meet rajnikant.he is my favorite actor and his filmi oneliners have now been compiled into a management book called value statements on management. so he is the new management guru.

    Pondicherry is another beautiful place worth visiting with lovely french layout.
    Kerala- not for nothing is it called ‘God’s own country’. kochi ,ernakulam, alapuzha(venice of the east) are lovely places.

    NExt time in India, Discover the south.

    (OOps! My comment has become a small post)

    Like

    • Bikram says:

      Ohh I forgot all about that YEs i have been to Kanyakumari, and MAdurai so many temples we visited there… and Kodai kanal we stayed two nights there and it was cold.. it was a hostel type accomodation i rmemeber we had bunk beds to sleep on …

      I been to a lot of places the problem is i have forgotten some of the names now I am sure i have been to kerala tooo we stayed on a house boat for a couple of nights … but it was all when i was in school maybe thats y …

      and Rajnikanth yes i met him and he was with Rati Agnihotri.. shooting for some movie on the sands of trivandrum .. a south indian movie shooting was also going on ..

      and no no this comment is not that big you got to see mine when i write he hehe he 🙂 THANK YOU SO MUCH

      Like

  16. Geeta says:

    Nice post. You have seen a lot in India.

    Like

  17. Surabhi says:

    Hey ! a very interesting post .I was born in Delhi and have been to Calcutta,Bombay,Goa,Shimla,Rajesthan ,Dehradun ,Puna, Shimla,Nainital etc. But out of all,I love Dilli ,especially Lajpat Nagar,Janpat ,Delhi Haatar,sarojni Nag ,Kamla nagar, GK-II, Priya, Saket blah blah blah…and I can write a complete saga on Delhi after all Dilli to Dil mein hai.

    Like

    • Bikram says:

      who can forget janpat 🙂 i use to stay in punjabi baagh for some time and then i also stayed in Vasant Kunj for some time . when i was preparing for my Flying exams to be held at safdarjung airport..

      I have some exciting memories of DELHI.. the day when me and my friend were searched by the delhi police cause we both were sardars and looked suspicious to them .. for some reason.. good job we had our ID cards for flying and all .. otherwise we were both Gonners that day …

      Like

  18. rohini says:

    luknow ki ladki pasand aa gayi thi janab ko…vadiya…
    u have travelled a lot of india…i think because of this u have gone abroad to explore more …well nice tag…surely INCREDIBLE>..

    Like

    • Bikram says:

      nahin ji Rohini Ji.. Luckhnow ki nahin theen woh.. but she was in lucknow that time 🙂 but yes it was VADHIYA .. as they say LIFE .. we got to know so many years later how we felt about each other …

      Yeah the exploring has continued abroad i dont think there is any place in UK i have not driven to … next is Australia or south africa 🙂

      Like

  19. Purbaray says:

    Incredible India Bikramjeet’s style. Interesting montage of fond memories.

    Like

  20. raj says:

    You have traveled a lot!

    The while marble one is Birla Mandir!

    will take up the tag soon , was away for quite some time and now i am back 🙂

    Like

  21. B K CHOWLA says:

    Even I am surprised that except for four States, I have visited rest of them.

    Like

    • Bikram says:

      Chowla Sir Thank you .. excellent glad to hear you been everywhere well now is the time to visit those states toooo 🙂 what say
      mere ko aane do india then you take me also alone with you 🙂

      Like

  22. Rek says:

    wow..you have visited some many and gathered nice memories along the way….so next time you out to visit the rest and do a total tag… 🙂

    Like

    • Bikram says:

      🙂 yes MAM will do so .. there area still a lot of places that i want to visit in india so lets see hopefully by the time i and nearing my days .. I hope to visit and see all of india …

      Like

  23. Kavya says:

    Oh God, you have visited so many places, I have not even visited half of it 😦

    Very nice tag Bikram 🙂

    Like

  24. Banupriya says:

    Bikram Ji – you have visited a hell lot of places.. lucky you.. Thanks for sharing!!! Got to read many funny incidents – beaten up so much, money all spent.. Good old memories na. They should be still fresh in ur mind after writing this. Liked the tag.

    and Madurai and Kodaikanal are in TamilNadu. And the white temple is that Birla Mandir in Hyderabad.

    Like

  25. Swaram says:

    God, am soooo J of u 👿

    That mandir is called Birla Mandir 🙂 I luvvvvv roaming arnd Tank Bund 😉

    Like

    • Bikram says:

      Oh ho no please dont be J of me .. I still hacve a lot of places to go ..

      thank you thank you… yeah we also use to go for evening walks there and there was a cinema there nearby i dont remember now .. we saw a movie there …

      Like

  26. Sana says:

    Thats a nice post, enjyed all the places through your words!

    Like

  27. Sapna says:

    Wow! This was nice. You have visited so many places. Sad to see Karnataka blank though 😦

    There are nice places out here. Bangalore(of course), Mysore, Jog Falls, Hampi, Gokarn, Gol Gumbaz(Bijapur), Coorg…

    And did I see Goa blank :0

    The temple in Hyderabad is Birla Mandir. Hope the next time you will make plans to visit some of these places when you are here in India

    Like

    • Bikram says:

      YEah i know maybe next time when i come to India i will visited Karnataka , I have a few friends there and they have promised to show me around so lets see when i do get to come ..

      yes you saw GOA blank yepp i know my bad so bad …

      Like

  28. Pooja says:

    Wow…cud easily say you have been around India.And most of them seem to be while thanks to your school or NCC, but mainly thnks to your dad! I think travelling and reading are the best education that a man could get.
    Its sad that not many parents think like that now-a-days.
    I would also like to know what was so wrong at Bhuwneshwar!

    Like

    • Bikram says:

      i have seen a lot of places but still there are lots more to be seeen …
      yeah thanks to dad after all he was the one funding all these visits 🙂

      hmm well someday i will tell what was so wrong at BBSr..

      Like

  29. How do you just come to chennai and meet rajnikanth man? People dont get to meet him for entire lifetime… BTW, it looks like you joined NCC only to roam around and have fun!! 😛

    Destination Infinity

    PS: WIll take up the tag, as it has my competitors Tagline (Incredible India!)… 😉

    Like

    • Bikram says:

      he hehe I was jsut lucky i guess meeting THE MAN 🙂 yeah it does seem to that the whole reason of NCC was to have fun and roam around …

      looking forward to your article and seeing where all you been and what all you did 🙂

      Like

  30. scorpria says:

    quite a traveller you are!
    So many places!? I think i’ll score a 6 or 7 😦

    Like

  31. Shilpa Garg says:

    18 States/UTs!!! Awesome!! I have done this tag too and my score is 16!! 🙂

    Like

  32. I hop there will be Surat(Gujarat) in your next tag. do visit Gujarat in your next trip to India.

    dag dag dag….Royal Enfield is mine fav. too. 😉

    Like

  33. Jzt4me says:

    GOsh, u have visited so many places in such short span of schooling…lol!!! I too had the previledge of visitng some of the other states frm Punjab to Kanyakumari..Thanks to my uncle who is in the Army…So every time he was transferred to a new place, we used to visit them atleast once… We used to pray for him to get good postings…lol…

    Like

    • Bikram says:

      schooling and college time tooo.. excellent me too my uncle was in army so we also got to go to some places .. I enjoyed the most when he was in posted in Hyderabad saw some fighter aircrafts from very near by ..

      Thanks a lot…

      Like

  34. Tanishka says:

    You have been to so many places bikram… I’m J now…

    Like

  35. i feel bad to say this but i’ve only been in four states in india. 😦
    TN, andhra, karnataka, kerla. in short just the south india. 😡

    i’m feeling jealous now! 😉

    Like

  36. […] Bikram has an interesting tag in his website called Incredible India!, and I have picked it up… You can also do it if you are interested… […]

    Like

  37. V Rakesh says:

    Impressive list!

    Like

  38. […] was itching to get finished from a long time, so here is the Incredible India tag picked up from Bikram’s blog(I think swaram also did it once but I cant find the link to it) The rules are: 1. The list contains […]

    Like

  39. Hey Bikram you shared a great information. Why don’t you share some images for above places. It will be more nice if you add some. Keep traveling man.

    Like

  40. […] was itching to get finished from a long time, so here is the Incredible India tag picked up from Bikram’s blog(I think swaram also did it once but I cant find the link to it) The rules […]

    Like

Please do give your views good or bad whatever it is .. do let me know your views..

