My running Experience

Posted: January 8, 2011 in Accident, Aging, Exercise, Experiences, Feet, funnies, Funny Life, Humour, Running
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

I usually like to go for a run in the mornings or at least sometime during the day , It gets difficult to find time sometimes so i started to take my gym bag with me to office , So I could go for a jog in my lunch hour, that way i could get away from the office gossip and also do something healthy.

Over the christmas and new year holidays I have eaten so much with everyone celebrating the festivities ,  I have been feeling very guilty for not going to the gym and running regularly,  am sure a lot of people who are regular to gym will understand this guilty feeling.  Anyway Dont worry I am not going to go on about exercising lest you people think this is another of those lecturing posts..

I thought for a change write something about when  I go for a run some nice interesting things take place, you dont realise at the moment but later on they do make you smile .. 

Like for example a few days back i was running along chug chug chug , when a idiot of a driver saw me , he drove past me , I have this big flourescent jacket which is bright orange even a blind man will see it … Anyway as I am running on the pavement this guy suddenly decided to swerve and get on to the pavement to park

And HOLA I could not stop myself THUD I banged into the back of his car …

What an Idiot , they have posters here Everywhere , almost every street , every corner  telling drivers to be mindful of bikers, pedesterians and all yet this plonker had to go ahead and do it , to makes matter worse he rolled down his window and usual “F__ hell Cant you see “.. he tells me , I did not know should I be laughing or crying or shouting at this idiot, I went up to him .. Saw this was a big bloke .. I thought here we go I am going to get thumped today .. but he would not get out of the car, jsut kept shouting from inside his car..

Man “ I am calling the police”-

Me ” go ahead, you the one who is parked ON the pavement not me ” …

He shut up cause i was right,  I shrugged myself and went on with the run.. to see he was following me .. I ignored him for sometime but each time I was to cross over the street he would accelerate his car, I really was thinking at this time that he is going to run me over,  I had to do something so I turned back and simply rushed to him…

He stopped the car,  I asked him what you doing..

 he replied “I am following you to see where you live “.. He he he he I just laughed

“Good on you mate, I still got about 5 -6 miles to run… , Carry on following me “…  I guess it did not sound viable to him driving behind me , and spending all that money on fuel… So he gave up after about half a mile.. What an idiot he should have got out of his car and slapped me I could have done that if it was me, I mean anyone can see what happened and its not as if i made a dent on his car I AM NOT THAT FAT 🙂

Another interisting thing happened one time ,  I was running during my lunch time again on the pavement by the side of a canal, I saw a lady walking with a pram , the whole of the way was blocked by her … she probably heard me running and started to walk to one side which to me looked as if she was giving way.. She moved towards her Left ,

So i changed my direction to pass her from her right hand side .. I was jsut a few steps away from her , when she suddenly stopped and leaned over the pram , bringing her Arse outwards .. BAMMMMMM I banged into her … the silly woman was NOT giving me side, she was marely turning the pram, so she could lean over to have a look at her child .. 

It was a embarassing moment .. with me all huffing and puffing, my hands on a ladies body  trying to stop myself from falling.. 🙂   

Yeah I know the looks on people who saw it ….

 Then once..  you know how people take there dogs for a walk and they  have such long leads.. that too so thin that if it is raining or snowing it gets difficult to see the lead .. well there was me running as I turned a corner there was this old man, on the left , on seeing me he sort of pulled his hand towards his chest.. WELL THAT AINT GOING TO WORK … cause the lead is so long … 

Oh yessssssssss  i ran straight into it , at this moment i had not realised but I could hear a little doggy thump thump dragged behind me ..  the lead entangled in my legs .. yeah I can be cruel toooo

I have seen so many idiots on road, they will see you running along and then suddenly forget you are on the road and turn there car.. and then look at you as if its MY FAULT they ignored me … Ohhh bless them

Comments
  1. Always Happy says:

    Second 🙂

    hehehe…where do you go for running mate? …. you seem to be having an eventful running experience!

    tell me about the drivers…they r really idiotic…they are at fault more often than not yet, they like to accuse the poor pedestrians or joggers or runners.

    Keep running, stay fit and keep blogging about what you see or waht happens when you go for running.

    Good weekend..me planniing to go for my walk now…lemme c if I can find something to blog!

    Like

    • Bikram says:

      Where do i go , anywhere basically there are some nice places where i work, a canal ad railway line , few farms .. so its nice and open but its the raching that place which is dicy cause have to run through the city centre 🙂

      Yepp thats drivers idiots …
      Thanks for the wishes …
      How was ur weekend , mice went toooo fast … 🙂

      did u find anything exciting , bumping into some hunk guy wink wink wink he he he he

      Like

  2. Jyothi says:

    ha ha….Interesting walks… I am supposed to start my evening walks today! What a coincidence. I have being putting it off for a long time now. I am out of excuses. 😀

    Like

  3. Tanishka says:

    Oh god that incidence of bumping into that lady with the pram was seriously funny….

    Running, I can NEVER do that… When I was punished in school and asked to take rounds I used to come last…

    By the way that reminds me of one of my sports teacher who used to tell us Go Ground Take Round whenever he wanted to punish us… 😀

    Like

    • Bikram says:

      yes it was , hope the woman found it funny, after all a hunk like me went to grab her assetts he he ehhe 🙂 i did not stop long to enquire though… maybe i shud have …

      he he he u r lucky only to take rounds .. We had to to frog jumps and it hurt and our school had a full 400mtres track .. so imagine

      Like

  4. Phoenixritu says:

    Note to self : Never go walking where Bikky is jogging

    ROFL Really funny

    Like

  5. Interesting incidences. 🙂
    I liked the pram incident the most. 😀
    Run Run ….. and win the race of life. 🙂

    Like

    • Bikram says:

      I also liked the pram incident , and even the lady was quite good looking and nice he he heeheh 🙂 i hope she liked though i did not stand long enough to enquire …

      Thanks a lot for the wishes .. but who has ever won the race of life 🙂

      Like

  6. cooltwins says:

    oh my god you do have quite a collection of incidents 😉
    and that driver was really a crack 😡

    i’ve seen so many people who have no sense at all when driving.
    once my dad was driving when a biker was driving his bike in a zig zag fashion. and he was drunk. and to top it all he was speaking to someone on the phone!

    my dad just told “hey watch out! why don’t you put the phone inside?”
    and thats all, all the bad words from the dictionary of bad words started flowing from his mouth and my dad was like “i just told you to put your phone in”

    and he wanted to pick up a fight and my dad was like “he is drunk and does not know what he is saying or doing it is better for us to get away” and just drove past him!
    crazy guy!

    Like

    • cooltwins says:

      oh my god that was quite a long reply! 😉

      Like

      • Bikram says:

        no its not .. you havenot seen how long i write 🙂

        and that bike driver was an idiot u shud have told ur dad t oslowly , drive very near to him and then put the hand on the HORN
        PAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAANNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNN

        he wud have got a shock then … 🙂

        he was an idiot to talk to ur dad like that , I wud have driven and hit him on the side.. he wud have fallen down

        Like

  7. manchitra says:

    Interesting to read. But you are determined about your daily run.Keep running bring us more and more stores.

    Like

    • Bikram says:

      yeah i make it a point to run each day , when i do that depends what i am doing on the day .. and also how long for … but i have this target of doing 36 miles in a week, i have gone to 40 now .. my target is 50 god knows how i will do it .. fingers crossed …

      Like

  8. Saritha says:

    Rofl….. very funny…..

    How can u bang on the car,lady i agree she didn’t give u way but car u can very well see the car being parked……

    Like

    • Bikram says:

      Thanks a lot.. glad you found it funny while i banged in cars and got hurt 🙂 he he heeh e

      How can i, I was running he stopped the car suddenly , i cud not stop in time and bumpppppppppp..

      I cud see but i never thought he will have it on the pavement na .. samajhte nahin ho aap…

      Like

  9. Meera says:

    Yeah, I can empathise with you. Though I dont run my fast walking early in the mornings has taken me into many “things” – literally. The last being a hanging electricity wire loosened by strong winds…!!!

    Like

    • Bikram says:

      oooh ouch that wud have hurt into the wire…

      more more tell us more 🙂

      Thank you so much for visiting me , welcome to this blog .. do keep visiting please ..

      Like

  10. NRIGirl says:

    Quite enjoyed the post – but couldn’t help thinking if someone else is writing a blog on the ‘running you’ they couldn’t miss.

    Like

    • Bikram says:

      Thanks a lot for liking the post…
      i could not get you sorry, what did you mean if someone else wrote the blog.. confused now .. you know me I am dumbbbbbbbbbb 🙂

      Like

  11. Shobha says:

    : ) ) )
    True..in our daily lives you come across many incidents which you can never forget…..

    Like

  12. bhagyareema says:

    My my what a post, enjoyed it

    Like

  13. bhagyareema says:

    Couldn’t stop laughing, wonderful!!

    Like

  14. Rachna says:

    Very funny, Bikram! I understand what you said about feeling guilty. I am a regular walker myself and feel antsy if I miss my walk even on a single day. The one with the pram was truly funny and also the guy with the car. Here, in India, if you run on the roads, as you know how the pavements are, you really risk getting knocked down by maniacal drivers, or if on the pavement, getting fractured :(. Keep up the healthy life!

    Like

    • Bikram says:

      🙂 yess one does feel guilty especially after eating all that what I am not suppsoed to eat and all those calories ..

      I started this running thing back in india, but chandigarh was a nice place then not that much traffic early mornings … dont know about now…

      Thanks Rachna i hope to start a target of 50miles a week Lets see if i can …

      Like

      • Rachna says:

        I do 35 to 40 kms. per week of brisk walk coupled with yoga and some strength training. I agree with the eating bit. During my vacation, we hogged like mad, and it is time to get back to fitness with a vengeance :).

        Like

        • Bikram says:

          yeah , i hog otherwise too not jsu festivals that why i need to run otherwise i wil be a elephant sooon… so i beleive that since i cant top eating i might as well train harder to keep it all in balance 🙂

          Like

  15. Pesto Sauce says:

    For the life of me I can never ever run, glad atleast you can

    Like

  16. Sandhya says:

    I am still laughing, Bikram! Every incident was so innocent, esp. the pram one!

    Write more stories of your running in the morning!

    Like

  17. ROFL…Dude i think u are the one causing the chaos…time to hit the treadmill and run on that…That way the world is safe.

    Phew i keep thinking i am on my blog…thanks to the template 😀

    Like

    • Bikram says:

      He he hhe Nooooooooooo cum on not me not me .. I run on the pavement and either early morning or middle of afternoon when not many people are supposed to be on the road 🙂 he he heheh e

      hmmm ok i will check that out running on the treadmill.. But as i said above its fun running in open fresh air….

      YEah we hae the same template he heh eh

      Like

  18. IRFANUDDIN says:

    hehehehe…. thats why i prefer my trade mill……:)))

    Like

  19. Nrupen says:

    All of them were good but I liked the first one. Nice post, carry on, you are really lovely writer to read on.

    Creating Comments To Increase Your Visitors

    Like

  20. I think I should do some jogging myself. Good for you, that you decided to run to keep fit, after all, that is required after that foodie post 😛

    Destination Infinity

    Like

    • Bikram says:

      🙂 yeah burn those calories tht we have been accumulating in the festive season 🙂 I seem to have gained so muchhhhhhhhhhhh…

      Thank you so much

      Like

      • Hey Bikram, Thank you so much – After reading your post (and after seeing Karate Kid), i strated jogging – Unbelievable but true!!! I have jogged for two days continuously and have taken a break today, but I am confident of jogging atleast for another two days… Thanks so much for being the inspiration 🙂 🙂 🙂

        Destination Infinity

        Like

        • Bikram says:

          karate kid was nice tooo 🙂 and well done on the jogging ..
          it is a very good exercise .. excellent and yeah do take breaks , taking a break is as important as exercising, you dont want ot overdo it ..
          good goood and also change where u run too if u r running outside change ur route .. everynow and then just makes it more pleasant .. else you might get bored

          No no dont thank me , THANK YOU for starting goood good health is wealth we got to look after it 🙂

          Like

  21. Anuradha says:

    Cool, your running experience are pretty interesting! I toh accidentally dash people while just walking back home… your stories warn me against running 😉

    Like

  22. V Rakesh says:

    Whooops, not one of those really wonderful mornings, isn’t it?

    Like

  23. blommer22 says:

    running with tons of risks. hm..u shd really just run on the treadmill to keep urself safe maybe..tee hee.. 😀

    Like

    • Bikram says:

      No its not .. its boring on a treadmill and since i go early mornings not many beautiful ladies come .. so it gets boring running at one spot 🙂

      this way its nice and fresh outside …

      Like

  24. A says:

    Very funny Bikram. I have kind of suspicion that probably with that lady it was not mare coincident…..did you plan that one?

    Like

    • Bikram says:

      No no Sachinnn Paaji it was a accident and her fault she bent over … I was going on my side and also shouted Excuse me 🙂 really he he he he

      But a good idea maybe next time i shud PLAN 🙂 he heh ehe

      Like

  25. Jacqueline says:

    Enjoyed them…….comical, yet interesting

    Like

    • Bikram says:

      Wow look whose here.. wlcome to my blog and thanks for coming and taking time commenting tooo.. do keep visiting

      Yeah life is intersting cause of such silly events that take place

      Like

  26. hilarious.. loved it ! especially the part about the pram..:)

    Like

  27. Deeps says:

    Total ROFL post, Bik! I know you were far from laughing while you experienced all those ‘run-ins’ but you’ve shared them in quite a hi;arious manner :). Loved it!

    Like

  28. HaRy says:

    Man! i definitely ought to start running with yu…. if not for the sake of all the
    calories that I shed, at least for the laughs and giggles i can get…. betcha yu wud beat me running
    ahead! :)!!

    Like

    • Bikram says:

      hey hey hey welcome again to the blog, you come after a long time .. welcome welcome …

      Yes let run together and bang into ladies 🙂 he hehehe
      NA i cant beat anyone , slow runner hence the events taking place 🙂 THanks HaRy

      Like

  29. Ria says:

    It always fun walking!! Even i was supposed to start doing it long ago…but i dont seem to be having the time.

    Like

  30. Shilpa Garg says:

    LOL! 😀 Very very funny jogging incidents!! 😀
    Keep running and keep sharing! 😀

    Like

  31. rohini says:

    hey wat a coincidence..abhi abhi mein yoga karke ayi hun..i dnt kn how much calories i burnt today…but ur experiences are too good…

    atb for ur cal burn…

    my days of walking were nt that intersting…:)(

    Like

    • Bikram says:

      Really I need to joing some yoga classes , maybe you can teach me some exercises that can help in loosing weight Rohini ji, I am desperate now I run so much and do so much walking but dont seem to get rid of the excessive weight..

      Punjabi food can be blames for that but still .. Teach me 🙂

      well maybe i shud come over and make them interseting, i will keep banging in people and you can have a laugh he he eheh

      Like

  32. Purbaray says:

    I prefer the safe confines of the gym where i risk running into this guy who still wears the shorts he wore to school – yea they are that tiny! He wears them even in this freezing weather with his sleeveless vest.

    There’s another chap who thinks running in his boxers is cool.

    Actually there are quite a few characters but by now I have mastered the dead fish expression. I chuckle only at home.

    Like

    • Bikram says:

      he heeh 🙂 ohhh what .. blimey I will freeze to death if i went in shorts and sleevelss shirts .. I am fully covered maybe an extra layer tooo… brrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

      he he he what sort of people .. I can understand in summers, but even then i have never gone running in my shorts … 🙂

      he hehe I like that dead fish expression , maybe u shud teach me so I can have it when i bang into some people he hehe he 🙂

      Thank you.

      Like

  33. Madhu says:

    Bikram, I think the problem why people in the cars forget other pedestrians is because they do not think pedestrians have the ‘right of way’. Once that realization happens, we automatically make sure to check all the blind spots before we turn the car.

    Like

  34. sm says:

    lol interesting pics with experience
    sure you will reach to 50

    Like

  35. DI says:

    Hahaha! Ok those must have been some super- entertaining scenes to watch :)) But you really have got to be in the groove of running to not note here you’re going 😉

    Like

  36. radha says:

    What fun. If you were at a gym, you would not have such interesting tales.

    Like

    • Bikram says:

      exactlyyy and sicne i go early morning all the beautiful girls are sleeping at thattime… so no looking here and there tooo.. it becomes boring running on a treadmill he he hehe 🙂

      Like

  37. radha says:

    My comment is missing!

    Like

  38. deeps says:

    Lol now we know
    How jogging can be injurious to health..!! 😀
    Anyways, next time bang on someone younger and thinner lol

    Like

    • Bikram says:

      pakkka sure sure , i will make sure to keep my eyes open and whereeve i find a younger and a thinner one BANGGGGGGGGg… 🙂 e he he hehe good idea .. thanks for sharing

      Like

  39. Running is for fitness…and yet, people mentioned here cannot say the same now, can they?

    Now about that doggie…. YOU BE NICE TO DOGGIES, BIKRAM!!!!! 👿
    Pretty please? You be nice, and I won’t yell… well, not that frequently, at least!

    That lady and the pram… ROFL!!!! 😆

    Why did you even ask that fellow in the car about his intentions? Next time, jog along to the nearest mental asylum, then look back at him and give a goofy grin… I bet you that’s the last you’ll see of him! 😀

    Okie Bikram, I hope you know you’ve brought this catastrophe on urself? *check ur last comment on my blog*

    Buhahahahah…cough splutter…hahahahahahha!! 😈

    Like

    • Bikram says:

      he he he No they cant.. first of all Welcome to this blog, Thanks for visitng .. do keep coming …

      Noooooo i did not run into the dogs deliberately , I just cud not see the lead attached to there collar.. thats all. I myself am a dog lover always have had more then one at home …

      YEah i know the lady in pram.. worked good for me did not stand long enough to know here views.. a quick sorry was the call of the day …

      🙂 ok ROFL on that idea of asylum just need to make srue to run where a asylum is on way . i like this idea

      and no dont worry about the catastrophe.. anytime 🙂 Thanks a ton for the lovely comment …

      Like

  40. bedazzled says:

    lol .. u r running chronicles are interesting..we do meet all kinds of characters when we least expect it ,i guess.

    Like

  41. Run Run Run … Bikram is on the run 😉 The driver was sure shot idiotic guy 😛 and poor Pram lady, hope u didn’t shock the baby on board 🙂 As for the dogs i remember when I was in school , used for my early morning tuition in my cycle and in one particular stretch I was chased my an energetic dog. It trailed so close and no one was around to save me. I just turned at it and started barking at it and it ran away from me 😛

    Like

    • Bikram says:

      he he hehe 🙂 yesssssssss i so am o nthe run .. no no the pram lady was not poor, she was good looking he hehehe I made sure i looked at her twice 🙂

      he hehe a nice incident with the dogs and a nice trick maybe i shud start doing so they dont cross my way .. thanks LR…

      Like

  42. aah I love to run outside rather than in the gym..it is so much fun with all the things happening around.. but my knees prefer the gym to gym it is 😐

    Like

    • Bikram says:

      YEs it is much more fun outside..
      hmmm gym is also ok maybe i shud find out when do lovely ladies visit the gym and then change my time to that he hehehe ehehe

      Like

  43. UmaS says:

    LOL Bikram….cant imagine that a harmless running can have such moments…. 🙂 😀

    Now, beware of ppl around you, who dont want u to lose weight probably…. 😉

    Like

    • Bikram says:

      yeah i did nothtink of it that way, they r trying there best to stop me from loosing weight and keep fit..

      YEah seeee seeee harmless running and itne pange ho rahe hain 🙂

      Like

  44. Hahaa! Lol! 😀
    If I were you or if you were as lazy as me, I would take all these as signs not to run! 😀 😉

    Like

  45. Blogger Girl says:

    WOHH be careful Bikram!! You are hitting a lot of things on the run… people (although, I should say ladies), cars, Dogs?!,

    Slow down a bit… and don’t run so much… you don’t want to loose your perfect ‘one pack’ now, do you??

    How come there aren’t any Wordless Wednesdays for past couple of weeks?

    Like

    • Bikram says:

      Wow.. yes i am careful its the others who need to look out for me it seems 🙂
      hmmm this is all to do to keep the one pack, if i dont run it will be a baloon or a tyre 🙂 around my waist ….

      Just have been busy a lot at work, a lot happening and also dont have any good pics to put up, hopefully next week i will…. got some funny ones to share

      Like

  46. Alka says:

    The hopeless romantic that I am, was hoping that you would run into someone exciting Bikram…but Alas…babies, aunties and dogs…. Better luck next time….lol

    Like

    • Bikram says:

      me too me tooo i am romantic maybe next time the lady i bump wont be married with a child… and wont be a aunty .. keep ur fingers crossed and pray for me 🙂

      thanks for the luck I will need it 🙂

      Like

  47. sandy says:

    Nice read 🙂

    good one man 🙂

    Like

  48. asha says:

    LOL!. Your running experience is turning out like a hurdle race. Good post laced with humour

    Like

  49. Neena says:

    You seem to be quite an accident-prone runner! Good read…

    Like

    • Bikram says:

      yes .. i guess not that lucky.. but what wud life be without these accidents , it will get boring 🙂 as long as i am standing on my feet after these little accidents I dont mind 🙂

      Like

  50. Rek says:

    Late with comments but still….u can start a series of posts on your running escapades nicely spiced up….hilarious one, thank you.

    Like

  51. scorpria says:

    Hilarious read!

    Oh my…but you dragged a doggie all the way!? Pls dont jog if you come ot Bnagalore…I dont want to lose Pumbaa 😀 😛

    No new running stories? 😀

    Like

    • Bikram says:

      Hey welcome here , 🙂

      na na na Why would i run in bangalore , there i will come on a holiday lots of relaxing 🙂 and just eating doing nothing 🙂 so pumba is very much safe 🙂 he hehee

      sooon a few more 🙂

      Like

  52. Anu says:

    Hilarious reading Bik! sometimes drivers can be really chaotic, but they never realise the mistake is theirs!!

    Like

    • Bikram says:

      YEah and I ahve had a few skirmishes with them .. arrogant sod’s… All they got to do is Look and see 🙂 and its not as if I am so DARK they cant see me 🙂 I do wear flori’s to be noticed he hehe …

      Like

  53. Aniruddh says:

    ha ha..! LOL
    And I thought incidents like these happen only in India..!! 😀 😀

    Like

  54. lol.. loved this post of yours..do inspire me to share such funny moments i had while running but it’ll take some time for me to do the digging as i rarely came across an idiot while being on road !

    thanks for sharing this post Veer ji !

    Like

  55. Swetha Amit says:

    You tend to have some unique experiences while running outdoors! Thats what probably makes it all the more enjoyable.:-)

    Like

Please do give your views good or bad whatever it is .. do let me know your views..

