I have had a very adventurous life and have done a lot of stupid things in life and here they are.

1. Around 1992 or sometime then, One of my friends was getting married in a Punjab and around that time terrorism was still little bit left, Pillion riding was banned, so we went on our own bikes, reached the venue it was a late night wedding, enjoyed a lot had lots to drink, were all tipsy, someone decided let’s go back.. So off we went. On way back there was a roundabout on a GT road, usually you go around left, for some reason it was decided we go around the right side. As we did that OH MY GOD

God knows from where these Punjab Police Commandoes came, we could hear the click click of the rifles getting cocked… Get down… On the floor… It was scary… DAMN… We became sober in a second.

Thank god we were not shot, we had to plead the officer, show him our flying I-Cards to convince we were just playing around. They made us sit there for an hour before letting us go.

2. Final year exams, one of my friends decided to steal a empty answer sheet, so it could be used for cheating in the exam, I and Ravi my best friend went to the examination hall sat on the very first desks, next to the door… as the invigilator placed the answer sheet on first desk, Ravi got up, ran clutching the sheets, I ran after him, the teacher behind us shouting catch catch.. I was running after Ravi to make sure no one comes near because if caught this is a criminal offence and could be rusticated from university.  It is funny now thinking of it as Did the teacher not realise that even I have not returned back to the classroom.

3. On a nice Sunday morning four of us decided to go for a walk in the jungle (picture)  behind sukhna lake in Chandigarh, No one knew the way, obviously we got lost, whatever food, water we had finished, tired in middle of the afternoon we reached a lake, for some odd reason it was decided to swim through it rather than go around it, Sunil a friend was asked if he knew how to swim, he said yes..

There we go, took our clothes off put them in a carrier bag, In we went…we were half way in when there was a big splash, Sunil had run and jumped inside.. He went in, then his head popped up… and again down… OMG he had lied to us… we dashed towards him, Now Sunil is a 6ft 3 inches tall Big guy, Power lifting is his hobby I mean he is HUGE, I got hold of him he grabbed me , almost dragged me in with him. I somehow managed to get free.

Luckily there was this tree , sunil held on to it for dear life. The other two had come, I swam out, We took off our turbans, tied them up , threw it inside and pulled him out of water, a funny thing before that happened we asked Sunil to jump back in water and let go of the tree and we will pull him out, he replies “NO I am fine here “.. he he he he

He would have died that day. Later we met a villager he told us “Sahib Woh to das haathi Dob hai”. Meaning it’s as deep as ten elephants standing on top of each other.

4. Second year in college, we thought we were the bosses of college by then, One day instead of going straight to college I went to my friend Babbar’s house to go together with him, another mate Pummy was already there, as I entered they were pleased “oh good bikram you are here, we have a fight in university”, silly me didn’t even ask what it was, We went to our college to get hold of rest of the people.

I and one friend planned to go to uni to have a recce, to see what was going on, as we entered uni, next to the Gandhi Bhavan we saw a Big MOB, 100+, tall Strong, Sikh men standing. I looked like a kid in front of them, we did not take any notice of the guys at that time,  One of the guys in them was my Chachu’s(uncle)  best friend, I stopped to say hello to him, as we talked I asked him what are they doing as they studied in Punjabi university Patiala, his words were some idiots have threatened and challenged us to meet up here for a fight, OH MY GOD.. then it hit me ..

Then I realised they were the guys with whom Pummy had picked a fight. We were only at most 8 or 10 guys they were it seemed 100+. Never felt so alone in life, I quickly told him it’s us people who they were waiting for, I made up a story that I had asked my chachu to come too, so his friend said why, what’s the need since I was the nephew no need to fight, a compromise was reached. It was decided to get Pummy so he can shake hands on it, This guy got his car asked us to sit to drop us at our college gate, Believe me when I sat in the back seat I could see BATONS, SWORDS, HOCKEY STICKS, various other stuff.

I thanked god I saw this guy otherwise we would have got beaten black and blue that day.

5. A funny moment of madness, GT ROAD, Punjab, NCC Vayu sainik Camp held in Patiala, middle of the night someone decided we should run away from camp go for a walk, many of us got together, eloped into the night.

On to the road ANOTHER BRILLIANT idea struck someone lets walk naked on the main highway… Now imagine a group of boys, Naked, walking on the Grand Truck with cars blaring horns… the truck drivers using their dippers to full effect… We did that for a laugh but now it seems to be a moment of madness.

So lets hear what you guys have been up to , I would love to hear about them all. Ok here are the rules those who take it up make sure you tag it to 5 people.  That way We can have fun reading a few nice stories and re living those times , for even if they were moments of madness I bet now that you think of them they put a smile on your face.

Do leave a Url link in comments section so i can read tooo Please.

Have a great week ahead …

Comments
  1. Puja says:

    OMG!!! these were seriously MAD MAD MAD!!!

    You have such interesting stories to tell! I am sure your grand-kids would love you for that ;)

  2. Ria says:

    OMG!! U have done pretty crazy stuff in life. ;) That was an interesting read for sure.

  3. Life Begins says:

    UNBELIEVABLE.
    You have been a lucky guy to have lived thourgh all this … :D
    All that’s really MAD

  4. Anita Menon says:

    you surely have some interesting anecdotes to share each time. You have been a really naughty in your college days. But it was such fun to read it.

  5. Enigma says:

    LOL! :D
    Had a good time reading all your moments of MADNESS! ;)

  6. Suzy says:

    You lucky lucky crazy men.My ,you have great stories to tell your kids someday.Loved this post a lot.

  7. Say Cheese says:

    Now, why would you want to walk on the road naked? lol

  8. You have a rocking life. Encounter with Punjab Police at lat night and diving in Sukhna lake must be the heights of excitement. :)

    BTW, How did you guys fare in that semester? And, I think you guys invented the Slut walk in Punjab…

    • Bikram says:

      Semester what i that :) studies was not my strong point ever .. so i will say we passed :) hje he he he

      and yes the walk I never thought it that way oh yes We started it and that too in middle of the night ha ha ha ha

  9. Ankita says:

    Surely some risky and venturous excerpts you have mentioned there! Indeed, it fits in very well with the TAG – MADness! :D

    But, after all these adventurous acts are what we cherish throughout our lives later on as well. :)

  10. Sapna says:

    OMG! Madness…

    You have indeed been very lucky. Sounds like a Bollywood hero’s tale who manages to kill 100 ppl single-handedly while surviving the bullets showered by all of them put together :P

    • Bikram says:

      ha ha I wish if it was that exicting as killing 100 people single handedly.. college days were the best ofcourse after that LIFE happened and all the fun in those days were left for those only :)

      Thanks Sapna. I have been very lucky yes , god has been very kind to me

  11. My era says:

    Now whenever you’ll call yourself MAD i will take it literally ;) ;)

  12. R-A-J says:

    Interesting life u’ve been having Bikram.. soopa stories yaar!! :)

    As for me, my stories hv only begun :) Lets see if I can capture ‘em one day :)

    Lovely read Bikram :)

    • Bikram says:

      thank you so much .. I am sure you will all it needs is a bunch of good friends one can trust .. and each one know their back is covered thats all .. have fun my friends lots of it for once life happens it becomes a bit difficult and priorities change too :)

  13. Yuvika says:

    ha ha ha – really mad moments indeed!

  14. Novroz says:

    very interesting stories Bik, I didn’t know you are THAT crazy. those are great memories to share

  15. DEVIL says:

    God…!! Cant believe that u have done soo many crazy stuffs… its complete MADNESS..!

    • Bikram says:

      Well next time I visit india Come over to my city :) you can have some fun too he he he he .. WE did some crazy things and still get to do it when we are all together

  16. Truly mad, mad and mad moments Bikram.. I read this a year back from your pen and still I remember mentioning about your third and fifth moments as the best (no no mad) in my comments..

    Someone is Special

  17. bhargavi says:

    You’ve had some interesting (hair raising !) and crazy experiences.. esp the first one , i wonder how i would have reacted!

  18. sm says:

    interesting
    daring

  19. irfaan says:

    Bikram…..thats how we all know you…..a real MACHO….. ADVENTUROUS…..LIVELY…. etc…etc…etc……. :)

    An interesting TAG, will take this but mine may not be this much interesting bcoz i was never as MACHO and ADVENTUROUS as you were, rather i was a little COWARD and always used to be in my own shell…. :)

    • Bikram says:

      Irfaan please do take it up and SIr dont say that about coward etc we are all cowards in one way or other.. I am too had a horrific time during school , I was lucky i came out of shell when i did..

      And dont worry when i come ot india we will go to punjab and you can experience all this tooooo :)

  20. Ruchira says:

    By God Paaji .. you really are mad :P

    • Bikram says:

      :) I know. but then you only live once so might as well try out whatever you have in heart .. else when down the lane when the bones are not working we will regret … thats what i beleive in :)

  21. Androgoth says:

    It is a Mad, Mad, Mad, Mad world Bikram
    but in order to enhance it one must strive
    higher and join the band wagon…

    Have a Mad. Mad rest of
    Tuesday my good friend :)

    Androgoth

  22. Hilarious, crazy mad :) :)
    and tell me one thing, why are boys so eager to fight a friend’s friend’s friend’s fight???? Is this a trait of punjabi boys or boys in general????

    • Bikram says:

      I think its a trait in punjab more like . if you have a argument people will say hold on … let me go and get my mates .. :) and then a whole lot of people turn up to argue and fight , half of them dont even know what was the fight for or for who it is .. its like a friends friends friend :)

      and goes to cities too i remmeber once travelling all the way to amritsar to sort out a problem a bus load of us had to go about 70-80 of us .. and till today i have no clue why i went or for who i went :)

  23. Sandhya says:

    You are really a madman, Bikram! I laughed at some of your madness and felt scary at some!

  24. Tomz says:

    Hello biks..interesting stories..my blog is full of such tales, and thats why I call it Vanity Moments. But for the fun, I can share with you this one..http://www.vanitymoments.com/2009/10/tale-of-poppy-boy.html

  25. Harsha says:

    Hhehe, that was true fun Bikram! :):):) Getting ready to fight with 100 men, walking naked, diving in Sukhna lake and what not! Oh my, Awesomeness! :D

  26. hahahahahaha…khoob dhoom machai tumane good

  27. Cynosure says:

    hmmm…reading it was seriously WOW…

    in my case…I don’t think I did any such remarkable thing…but I’ll surely write about my experience after completing my college as some experiences are yet to come in the next 6 months…the last 6 months of my college life… :P

    and I loved that answer script stealing thing… :P

    • Bikram says:

      Well you are still in college so a lot of time to do all this .. have fun in the last few months .. college is the best time

      answer script hey there is a idea for you he he hehe

  28. heerman says:

    that was some crazy stuff I guess!lots of sheer madness,we as gurls never behave that way very innocent and docile …study and come back home ..:)listen to parents ..get good grades attend all classes ;)
    wink wink!

  29. NRIGirl says:

    That sounds like fun of course!!

    Now, the exam paper story I didn’t get it. Why were you running and why dind’t you return to the class? Weren’t you taking the exam?

    Little confused,
    ~ NRIGirl

    • Bikram says:

      right here we go .. The answer sheet is a booklet with 16 sheets, if you remove the first sheet which holds the roll number and all then you have empty 14 sheets :) so we ran out with the answer sheet , now we have one that can be used. Also in punjab when the question paper comes , it comes in three languages punjabi-english-hindi.. so imagine exam starts , you throw the english version of Question paper out of the window.. there is alreayd a sheet outside , someone can write the answers for you ..

      end of exam time you get up to go to the loo, the person hands you a written answer sheet, you go back , Unstaple the booklet put the one filled with answrs staple it again and hand over .. keeping the empty sheets AGAIN for next exam ..

      How is that for the idea

      the reason why we did not come to class , well it was not our subject exam that day :)

  30. Onkar says:

    very interesting

  31. magiceye says:

    you must compile a collection of short stories of your adventures and publish!!

  32. I did one stupid thing when I was in sixth standard. I got a new cycle and without heeding to my parents warnings, I went to the main road. It was a highway (some distance from our house) and lorries were going in full speed. I was in the middle of the road (trying to cross it) and waiting for a lorry to cross. When it came near, I suddenly ran across the road (with the cycle) and the lorry just missed me! It was going so fast that the driver couldn’t think of stopping anywhere near! I was terrified of this incident and it was a while before I ventured into main roads again. But I was quite close to being crushed that day :)

    Destination Infinity

  33. summerscript says:

    OMG!! Am I watching some movie??? :D :D :D

  34. was waiting for u to post it on indi, so that i can vote and then read :D

    some supercool adventures u had, wow!!!!! loved reading them.

  35. LOL this was a crazy read!!!!!!! But what good would the blank answer sheets be unless you have the question paper?

    • Bikram says:

      yes IHM , it was good in the next exam n .. when question paper came .. it is in three languages english-hindi-punjabi you throw one version out for your mate to write the answers.. and then you exchange it for the one you have in the room :) you still got one :)

  36. My most adventurous was a friend and I singing near JNU-Munirka on the main road, in a very thick fog – basically enjoying the invisibility :D

  37. Phatichar says:

    Phew, that was something!! :)

  38. Keerthana says:

    Shit..it’ll be really hard to beat ur list..OMG! madness is right!

    • Bikram says:

      nothing is hard.. and its not about beating or anything .. its about sharing the fun So cum on let us know tooooooooo what all fun you had he he he

  39. Ashwathy says:

    ROFL!! Bik, you are a total psycho!! :lol:
    I never thought I’d be saying this, but I’m so glad I know you!! I am proud to have one friend whose life is so eventful….I can get him to attend any party and be the centre of attraction coz of the stories!! :D :D LOL
    If I want to get anyone beaten up, I know whom to contact ;-) :D

    Jokes apart, I am glad u joined the police force. That kind of might and a free spirit…is very hard to channelise in the right direction. But in ur case it all worked out :)

  40. Jyoti Mishra says:

    madness at its height :P
    enjoyed n laughed a lot

  41. Rahul says:

    A very hilarious post:)

  42. Writerzblock says:

    OMG I don’t know what to say. I think the maddest thing I have done won’t come anywhere near your most sensible prank :-)

  43. Kamikaze says:

    I will take up this tag……someday…….rofl……….right now i am just laughing away :)

  44. AlkaGurha says:

    There was a jungle behind Sukhna Lake? And the last one…walking in the buff with dippers on…That is some daring Bikram. One of u should have made a video…Ha, ha…Bus yadein reh jati hain…good that you enjoyed and had fun.

    • Bikram says:

      well in those days there were no mobile fones and all and it was just a silly thing ot odo :) dont know why yes there is a jungle and its beautiful , dont tell me you did not visit the kansal forest reserve .. it was said there are leapords and all ..

      yeah as you said memories are left .. LIFE happens but I have been lucky when i go back to india my friends and mates all gettogether and do go about doing some of the things we did in good old days …

      I remember one of my friend is a minister now , so we went after hood winking his guards and all to morni hill we had a fun time but when we came back , My dad and his dad almost slapped us for they put the whole of police on alert thinking something has happened and there we were having a fun time …

  45. Shilpa Garg says:

    OMG!! Shocking!! And Amazing too! The best thing about all this madness is that they make for good times with friends, reminiscing about the good old days and laughing at the madness of the past! :D

  46. Arti says:

    Crazy moments of madness these! But such moments give us so many memories and so wonderful you shared them with all of us here. This was a really fun read. Thanks :)

  47. Omg! U have had colourful life- even for a punjabi!

    • Bikram says:

      Welcome to this blog .. thank you for visiting.

      YEah i have a colour ful life and its back on track after a little de railing :) God has been kind ..

      what do you mean even for punjabi.. there is a lot more to come yet :)

  48. BAPRE!!!!! totally crazy/mad!!!! but looking back now, what wonderful memories :)

  49. Punam J R says:

    And I have read this post before.. and commented too.. cant find my comments though – but yeah… just one word I have for you – CRAZY in capital letters..!! just simple plain crazy. I guess you do know how to live life to the fullest.

  50. Urmi says:

    Very very interesting stories. I enjoyed a lot.

  51. that was complete madness!!!

    you deserve to go for a roadies audition . they need people who are adventurous like you !

    • Bikram says:

      :) Thanks rahul.. But I beleive we will make our own adventure thats how to live life .. I am sure there are millions more out there more adventourous then me ..

  52. Iqra says:

    O lalalal hilarious :D Examination Hall madness is just awesome :P

  53. Smitha says:

    Goodness! You sure have lived a very interesting life! I would have died of fear by thinking of these things :)

    But what amazing memories these must make for you :) And such interesting blog posts for us to read :)

  54. Rek says:

    What an interesting, flirting with danger, exciting life u have led…must be boring in propah Uk?
    Why do guys have all the fun,,,I know nowadays girl have fun but not my generation…seedhi saddhi behenjis… Enjoyed this, glad i made an exception to the break..see you in two weeks. :)
    P.S please stay warm in chilly Europe.

  55. sakha says:

    OMG…you are crazy Bikram…I think your parent’s prayers got you sailing safe thorough those years….

    I am not lucky enough to have any such experiences…so nothing to say….

    enjoyed reading your experiences…

  56. Androgoth says:

    I am just calling by to wish you a fine and wicked ,
    and maybe even another mad Friday Bikram :) ;)

    Have fun now…

    Androgoth

  57. KP says:

    A thoroughly enjoyable collection of amusing incidents.Thanks

  58. You’ve certainly had your share of adventure.

  59. b k chowla says:

    I get a lot of energy after reading your blog.

  60. Bhagyashree says:

    Ooh la la 129 comments. wow. My moments of madness look very tame in front of urs Mann. They were like climbing hostel gates, roaming on the roads at night etc. Very chutka phutka :D

    • Bikram says:

      oooh climbing hostel gates I got that too it was fun but not fun when we got caught , you know these chutka phutka ones are the best they bring such a big smile on our face…

  61. Dee says:

    The young and wild…goodness you were one risk taker…your parents must have been so worriedbut you my friend have lived to the hilt….such memories to look back on!: )

    • Bikram says:

      Well you only live twice and if we beleive in our mythology or whatever then we will die when we are supposed to .. so might as well take the risk and have some fun.. :) my parents had a hard time when i was grwoing up ….

  62. Deboshree says:

    Gosh B, you have had a wide plethora of ama-zing experiences. Must be wonderful recollecting them all. :D

    • Bikram says:

      Deb’s Yes lots of them.. I live with these memories as my friends have promised that when i come to india we will do all these all over again :)

  63. radha says:

    Wow! You were quite a ‘trouble maker’? And I bet you would never try some of these things now. Moments of madness. i have nothing interesting to share. Except maybe trespassing through an NCC compound to get to a hill that we climbed.

    • Bikram says:

      Oh yes i was. But we never troubled anyone we enjoyed and had our own fun .. trying them again well if my friends are with me then I will cause we trust each other with our lives … :) trespassing throuhg ncc compund where when .. :)

  64. zradar says:

    so full of madness..u had the right set of friends to bring out the evil inside..so did i too,once upon a time,and we were all so mad,real mad…and now that you have got me into writing,i wil leave the link soon..thank you so much posting this and reminding me of those good times

  65. Kirtivasan says:

    Fantastic person, you were/are. Good and outspoken and bold.
    I did two somewhat absurd things. Both of them self inspired. Maybe I was a little mad.
    1) I begged for money in streets though I had money in my pocket. Inspired by Zen philosophy, actually.
    2) This one is a good thing. I remember when I was in 10th I insisted to work in car mechanic shop during summer holidays. I was inspired by some children’s magazines. Yes, I did work for about 6 weeks or so 8 hours a day. I learnt tuning of carburettor, distributor etc. in old Ambassador, Fiat cars.
    During my engineering days, I escaped severe ragging. (A thing I regret today). But I was friendly and did what a normal engineer student does. Drinks, movies and all. Nothing too bold !!

    • Bikram says:

      Hmm interesting the point 1 on begging that reminded me of something .. a couple of my friends did that it was funny how people reacted to them … and point two WOW.. so can i bring my old car to you he he heh :)

      Ragging well I too was never ragged although we ragged a lot of people even seniors sometimes …

  66. suruchi says:

    Matlab ki aap bachpan/jawani se itne badmaash ho…and adventure just follows you like an obedient puppy:-)
    It is always fun to read how full of life your life has been-touchwood:-)

  67. manchitra says:

    Real crazy thing you did… Don’t remember getting into such things. Studied in a convent:)

  68. Sea says:

    holy cow!
    reminds of the time when i was taken aside during immigration at the airport and questioned because my passport picture was too old! :P

  69. ashwinicn says:

    Good that you shared it here for us to read. Makes me think, when the adrenaline rush gets the better of you, you act completely crazy ;D. Anyways, its things and memories like this, which make our lives worth remembering by! :-)

    • Bikram says:

      yeah thats true for sure .. its ok till the adrenalin is working but when the red mist takes over thats dangerous .. and in my kind of work can be really bad …
      so true when you say that .. its memories I live on for sure as cant do much here alone ..all my mates are back home ..

  70. Ravi says:

    Baiji I am glad to see your post – keeps us all young at heart – hor kidaam bira

  71. Aabha Midha says:

    Your post reminded me of my college days. NOT that i ever did anything as crazy as you have mentioned, BUT even so…. those days were so carefree.

    Somehow i am not at all surprised by your antics in college. through your prolific commenting you come across as a very warm ,genuine fun loving true punjabi. Lovely memories to teel your kids :)

    • Bikram says:

      The good old days they were .. I am what I am :) those days indeed were so lovely and carefreee , I so want to go back to them again ..
      Thank you for such lovely words ..

  72. Nirvana says:

    Oh my Goodness!! You really have done some crazy stuff huh?? Hehehe … good one, Bikram! Ad really liked “I am fine here.”

  73. Purba says:

    Read like a movie script – no wonder you miss your home town and friends so much :)

  74. Reema says:

    omg!! u have done some really crazy stuff!!

Please do give your views good or bad whatever it is .. do let me know your views..

