Life can change in a Second

Posted: August 23, 2010 in Uncategorized

First of All :- Sorry for not being in touch and not having visited any of the blogs for the last 10 days, THANKS A TON for those emails and SMS Messages and the Phone calls..
sorry I did not revert back to most of them because of some problems, I am back and hopefully regular, This blog has been the best thing to have happened being in touch with all the people and so many well wishers THANKS A LOT ONCE AGAIN for all the wishes GOD bless you all…

I had written this note earlier putting it up again ..

A very funny thing happened, I had a hospital appointment for a simple procedure to be done on me.

I Was advised it is a simple procedure Which will be carried under Local Anesthetic..

7:30 Am was the appointment , Twiddling my hands I reached there , Parked my car at a side road .. walked to the 2nd floor .. as my luck would have the escalators were not working … Called in .. The pretty little nurse comes in to get me changed..

Well after changing Dr Mitchell comes to have word with me , telling me what will happen , how it is all going to take place. Everyone is so confident its a simple procedure.. syringe in.. to get the fluid out Simple.. the brochure says its about 15-20 Minutes Long.

Ah Well at about 10:30 I am asked to follow into the Op theater.. where the First Fun part happened, just before the OP room there was small room where i was wheeled . a nurse came put some sticky things on my chest , arms etc.. To do a ECG.. WHAT FOR I WAS WONDERING …

Dr Mitchell comes on intercom “We are Ready in here “, The nurse replies We are not , we are waiting for the Anesthetic guy to come.

5 to 10 minutes went by.. Intercom goes buzzz .” How long will it take ” the nurse replies still waiting.. Dr Mitchell walks in , sees me strapped .. What are you doing Juliet.. Waiting for the Dr. to come and Administer.. NO NO NO this is Local Anaesthetic.. Not General ..

WOW I AM AWAKE AND THINKING .. WTF I was just about to be put to sleep, wow.. Ah well after this first mis-communication , I asked Dr if he knew what we are doing, What procedure we were doing , Are we not ..

“Yes Mr Mann, Stop being funny, I have the needle in hand”… ooops

Well I am laying down.. while the Dr tells the other present what is going on , I am guessing they are student doctors Great Now I am a DUMMY to be worked on :).. it gets better and better, about 4 in the room, One gave me an injection …

I felt a needle go in.. the doctor is asking How I am .. I said fine , the nurse at my head says just before the needle “this is the hard part, think of your next holiday “.. My eye went to the monitor She showed me my heart beat , it was about 100 I think cause she said Its just cause you are nervous.. NO I AM Not…

next moment I have this Fainty feeling, Head goes buzzz.. I am sweating .. the Dr asked How are you doing , I say not good.. the Heart rate went to 80 then 57 further down.. Bloody hell suddenly it was chaos.. 4 or 5 personnel appear , I am quickly given two injections of something in my hand … and a Drip put up… everyone looking at me .. the heartbeat or blood pressure whatever it was went to 46..

The student Dr’s are asked to step back.. the seniors took charge .. to me this happened so fast .. but apparently it was almost 1PM when they finished , so a normal routine thing of 20 minutes took more than two hours… I am wheeled out and Now under Observation.. A Pretty Nurse is sitting right in front of me , watching me breath he he he .. Every 15 to 20 minutes she is coming to me Getting my blood pressure..she is a indian I think.. trying to tell me that all is fine, I am doing ok.. in the middle she speaks in Hindi, I bet she thinks I am uneducated or something.. Anyway I am letting her have her FUN.. bad of me .. she seems really concerned… asking me stuff.. telling me “Kabhi kabhi ho jata hai.. fikar ki baat nahin hai”

YES I KNOW.. when can I go Home…

I was told oops We had a incident in the theater…they did not tell me what was the incident.. I am just wondering what it could be .. Tomorrow I have this appointment with my doc, So i will make sure to ask what was this Incident about … I loved what the lady doctor said to me “Its just one of those things ” ..

WHAT THINGS IS THAT THING ?

Life does change in a Jiffy .. It would have IF .. Anyway .. Does it not ….

Comments
  1. sangeeta says:

    u gave all of us a scare………but thank god all is well with u….take care and wish u a speedy recovery from whatever that thing is…GOD bless and take care

  2. wise donkey says:

    i am just so glad ur ok.i didn't want to seem crazy but i was really worried about u and tried to see if ur earlier posts would help me in contacting u.now to read ur post.

  3. Ria says:

    Oops this post was scary! I dont like the experience of goin to a hospital for anything….i know nobody does. But hope u r doing well now.

  4. wise donkey says:

    God! i know couple of scary ones relating to anaes. its not trivial.well great to know ur ok. but do find out what happened.btw why should the pretty nurse think ur uneducated? i was imagining the kabhi kabhi ho jata hai in accented hindi. its funnier when u think its a brit saying those words.

  5. BK Chowla, says:

    Personally, I am very scared of doctors and the needles.But,I know they are only doing their jobs.Dont worry, everything will be fine.Say hello to that pretty Indian nurse

  6. Chinkurli says:

    They can't refuse to tell you what exactly happened, and you have every right to know, so ask. Hope you'll be fine soon!

  7. Ananya says:

    makes me hate the doctors more :Dahem ahem @ the pretty little indian nurse :P

  8. kavita says:

    First of all Thank God ! I think you really need to know what went wrong -if it was an allergic reaction or a syncope.The information matters in case you need any other medical procedure to be done in future.Enjoy all the good care you get from the pretty nurse…get well soon.My best wishes .

  9. chitra says:

    I visited your blog few days back and got busy with my work. It was a nice reminder you gave today by visiting my blog. To keep in touch I have decided to follow you. take care friend.

  10. Vibhuti B says:

    WHat a horrrible Terrible experience Bikkyji…Shucks I never imagined docs abroad cud bungle up too..What did they mean by aSMALL incident id really like to know!!!!! grrrrrrr…Hope you are hale and hearty and the pinkest of health yaar…

  11. hitesh rawat says:

    first…. Hota rahta hai….good…..kitno ko hota hai….???? :Dthen….do they call you Mr. Mann aur Man……..any ways…ogle at the pretty nurses as much as you can….cause you won't be in the hospital for much…..get well soon…. maamu

  12. magiceye says:

    omg… nicompoops!good thing you came out fine biks!heres wishing you speedy recovery!!cheers!!

  13. Good that it was nothing serious Bikram. But the title is really apt.. The fact that everything can change in a second should make us appreciate everything more.. Hope your appointment tomorrow goes fine. Cheers,Ananth.

  14. pallavi says:

    Gosh! You must sue them!!! They cannot try to cover up mistakes like that!!! Make sure you scare the daylights out of them, Bikram!

  15. Welcome back to the world of blogging. :)Interesting narration as always. AAL IZ WELLL.

  16. A says:

    Back with bang….welcome :)

  17. Pretty nurse huh…I guess…that was the incident…and the nurse is understanding too…kabhi kabhi ho jaata hain…fikar karne ki koi baat nahi….naughty boy

  18. Madhu says:

    that THING uh? Wink* cant guess it…hope u are doing fine.. missed u!!

  19. HaRy!! says:

    NHS??? they are always known for medical stunts! boy yu really scared me! but i'd luv to know what happened later on! a sequel post eh :P

  20. Tanvi Nimkar says:

    Nothing will happen to you, things do sometimes go wrong in anesthesia procedure. And we students are not that careless okay :P Though do take care and be cool. Hope you'll soon be fine :)

  21. p00ja says:

    I have alws been wary of docs and hospitals, now u just proved me right.and if this can happen there, here in India i can guarantee the scene is much worse.

  22. Gaurav says:

    I Hope you are fine now.Take care.

  23. R. Ramesh says:

    buddyyy..apologies for joing here late yar..hey thank god all is well with u…though u scared us all with this..u r a good guy..be healthy cheerful and take care ya..

  24. Good that you are fine!!I am scared to go alone to hospital!!and my dad is a doctor:)

  25. Renu says:

    The best thing is you are fine..it was so scary..was it goof up or what?and see this….I bet she thinks I am uneducated or something..nthis what i meant in my post..english is equal to education..not a language.

  26. Phoenixritu says:

    This is scary, do find out what the commotion was all about. Thank God you are safe and well

  27. Bikramjit says:

    Sangeeta:- Thank you so much.. WD:-Thanks for the wishes and all, I am glad blogging has brought me such good people who send wishes THANK YOU. Ria:-I m fine now thanks. Very ahrd to get rid of me he he he he WD:-Well according to the latest input, they say I was nervous the nurse thought so cause she was trying to tell me stuff first in english and then repeating in hindi and punjabi .. In the end i had to tell her English is Fine :)BK Chowla sir:-I am not scared or anything but i guess going under the knife does make one a bit nervous, ANd YEs I specially went to the ward and said Hello to the lady and she returns her hello back.. also found out She is MARRIED … :OChinkurli:- Yes they cant refuse me .. Thanks for the visit please keep coming back :) Ananya:-Oh ho .. Doctors are ok and yeah ahem ahem ahem she was indeed very pretty and NO i was not under the influence of anesthetic he he he he

  28. Bikramjit says:

    $$:-yeah it is but theek hai Kavita:-Haanji Thank god.. Hopefully god willing no more procedures.. please pray :)Thanks for the wishes and I am back to work so no more pretty nurses :(Chitra:-Thank you so much for following me .. and thanks for the visit… Vibhzyyy:- aap aye .. aapne comment kiya WAH JI WAH.. chakk te fatttteeee Excellent ji thank you thank you thank you… Yeah i know and yes I am hale and hearty .. Pinkest ka pata nahin hai .. jaldi pata lagega he heh ehe THANK YOU FOR VISITING :)Hitesh:-Mr Mann hi bulate hai .. :) oh yeah i ogled a lot that was not a issue she was right there sitting in front of me , could not miss her he he he he I am out now … back to work :(

  29. Bikramjit says:

    magiceye:-Deepak ji haanji thank you I am fine and ok .. and recovery will take a bit of time but I am out and ok :)Ananth:-Yeah nothing serious. yeah the title says it all anything can happen.. and i like your take on it we should appreciate everything more adn more and morePallavi:-he he he yeah i know they cant cover up, I guess i am a scary cat afraid of the knife :) he hehehe Chandrika Shubham:-Thanks for the welcome glad to see i was missed :) and AHO JI AAAAL IJ BELL… A:-Thanks amrit.. Shahid:-he he he yeah pretty and beautiful too.. afsos yeah hua ki now i found she is married :( na no more naughty he hehe

  30. Bikramjit says:

    Madhu:-wink wink back.. yes yes yes wohi wohi :) he he he GLADDDDDDD to know i was missed yayyyyyyyy he he he HaRy:-yep NHS? sequel posts he hehe I doubt it i guess all it turns out is I was nervous or a scary cat he he heeheh sorry to disappoint you …Tanvi Nimkar:-Oh I made you angry, I was not having a dig at the students, and no it was not the students who gave it to me , sorry sorry if i gave that idea.. I am coool .. cool as ice :) he hehe P00ja:-No idea about india but I am hearing India is becoming a hub for medical tourism now , lots of people coming to india to get procedures done pricately cause NHS here had a big waiting list… I am planning too , to get my eyes done get rid of the cotnacts and glasses lets see … Gaurav:-Yesh thanks mate i am fine and well Ramesh:-yes my friend and you dont have to apologise for anything PLEASE. Yesh i am fine and wll .. thanks for saying i am a good guy… Will do THANK YOU.Raj:-Well then you dont have to go to hospital GHAR PE hi.. kaam ho jayega he heheeh :) Renu:-Yes thats the best thing, na it was not a goof up well thats the result. Yes ji what you say is right.. Ritu:-Thanks for the wishes.. Haanji AAAL IJ BELL , hunky dory

  31. Ananya says:

    ahem ahem ahem *repeat*awww, she is married? :P

  32. hope all's well now ? take care get well soon..scary !!

  33. Deeps says:

    That was scary, Bik! Thank God you're fine now! But make sure you find out what really happened and give them a piece of your mind!

  34. suruchi says:

    Omg Bikram…That was sooooooooo close!And u are sooooooo cool about it!And how dare they use you for experimenting!Can’t we get some people sued here n get rich…or n your case may be…richer!:-)Hope u are feeling fine n kick ass again:-)P.S. I liked the part where u are told to stop being funny!You are funny waise…beryy phunny:-)

  35. Ananya:-yeah awwwww my luck hana.. but no harm trying is there :) he he he he Friday another appointment ha ha ha ha …liveonimpulse :-Yes thanks you, everything is cool, God is great :) Thanks for the wishes .. Deeps:-I know it was indeed scary I saw the light and all those things they say :) and then also ooops I did not pay the parking fine i had to 28th august is last day :) Thanks for the wishes and concern… Oh I will suruchi:-Hey.. first of all, you have not written on ur blgo for long.. DID YOU FIND ONE ? he he he I had to ask :)You have to be cool this is not in our hand, and its one thing that WILL happen.. and shhhhhhhhh do say it it like that, in my case RICHER.. the TAX MAN will hear shhhhhhhhhh I just hope and PRAY aapki WISH poori ho jaldi jaldi or main RICHHHHHHHH ho jaunnnn….. I am fine and ready to go out there and yes Kick some of that … :) I am funny THANK YOU .. try kar kar ke , kar kar ke THAk gaya hoon at lasttttttttttttttttttt someone realisedddddddddddddd TUSIN GREAT HON.. thank you thank you.. :)

  36. Harman says:

    ..your post was GR8 like you..even during an adversity you have a roving eye!had fun reading!

  37. suruchi says:

    Awwww…:-)*smiling speechlessly for a change*:-)

Please do give your views good or bad whatever it is .. do let me know your views..

